ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Cloudfone Thrill 430x Review

Updated on February 22, 2013

DAT BATT

I first stumbled upon the Cloudfone Thrill 430x when someone opened a thread in TipidCP and stated that it had a 4160 mAh battery. I found it hard to believe, but they immediately posted pictures of the device much to everyone's delight and mine. It really was a 4160 mAh battery, and a rather fat one at that. Nevertheless, the prospects of such a large battery was droolworthy. Nevermind the recent releases of Cherry Mobile's Flare and Titan to much fanfare. What's a smartphone without a big battery? And the Flare certainly had a small battery while the Titan's battery is big and easily lasted more than a day of heavy use, the large 2350 mAh battery was small next to the Thrill 430x's 4160 mAh battery. It was numbers game.

If anyone is aware what a big-ass battery can let you do, take a look at the battery tests of Motorola's DROID RAZR MAXX which has a 3300 mAh battery. The results are impressive, easily lasting nearly twice as long as the nearest competitor in some tests -- and it's a really, really big gap. You can view the battery test results of the DROID RAZR MAXX here: http://blog.gsmarena.com/motorola-DROID-razr-maxx-battery-trial-is-over-meet-our-new-champion-test/ Courtesy of GSMArena

Design and Build Quality

The 430x's design is reminiscent of Google's Galaxy Nexus though the screen on the 430x isn't curved. The front contains the front-facing camera, light sensor and earpiece above the screen and below it the menu/options, home and back touch buttons. The touch buttons unfortunately don't have any backlighting. The back contains the 8 megapixel camera, dual LED flash and speakerphone. The camera lens is recessed to prevent it from being scratched while the backcover itself has subtle, smooth beveled dots that give a feeling of additional grip on your fingers. The construction is all matte plastic with no shiny or glossy finish on any part. This makes the phone look a bit cheap and understated when viewed from behind, but the overall feel in hand is very sturdy and solid.

The bottom portion of the phone contains the microphone and microUSB port for charging. The top-right has the 3.5 mm jack and another microphone for noise cancellation duty (to reduce environmental noise when making calls) and possibly video recording (though audio from video recordings are just mono).

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Reminiscent of the Galaxy NexusDotted plastic back helps with gripThe Pièce de résistance -- the battery3.5 mm jack on the top-right
Reminiscent of the Galaxy Nexus
Reminiscent of the Galaxy Nexus
Dotted plastic back helps with grip
Dotted plastic back helps with grip
The Pièce de résistance -- the battery
The Pièce de résistance -- the battery
3.5 mm jack on the top-right
3.5 mm jack on the top-right

The 430x has four (4) hardware buttons. The volume up and down on the upper-left side of the phone, the power button on the upper-right side of the phone and the dedicated camera button on the lower-right side of the phone. The 430x's camera button is tactile but surprisingly soft. This is particularly important with the dedicated camera button as it also has a half-shutter function which, when you press the camera button halfway, it allows you to focus and time your shots and pressing all the way will take the shot. It is a good implementation of a dedicated camera button and it will be most appreciated by people taking photos with just one hand. Despite that, the placement of the volume button on the upper-left side will make it awkward for right-handers who will be forced to use their middle or index finger for changing the volume.

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Very good dedicated camera buttonThe volume up and volume down buttons
Very good dedicated camera button
Very good dedicated camera button
The volume up and volume down buttons
The volume up and volume down buttons

The overall build of the Cloudfone Thrill 430x is very good. The phone is very compact and weight is distributed evenly. This comes from the battery covering a huge portion of the back area as well as accounting for over half of the phone's weight. The phone feels very, very light without the giant battery. While the battery provides the phone's hearty and compact feel, it also provides it with thickness. The Thrill 430x is 14.2 mm thick. Comparably thick phones include the Nokia 5800 (15.5 mm) and Sony Ericsson Xperia Active WT18i (14.3 mm). I have provided a thickness comparison below of the 430x with the Cherry Mobile Titan (10.5 mm) and a 1 Peso coin (24 mm diameter). The phone also comes attached with a screen protector out of the box.

Here is the checklist of what comes inside the box:

  • 1x Cloudfone Thrill 430x
  • 1x Earphones
  • 1x USB cable
  • 1x Wall charger
  • 1x User's manual
  • 1x Prepaid Globe SIM
  • 1x 4160 mAh battery

Click thumbnail to view full-size
CM Titan (10.5 mm) vs Thrill 430x (14.2 mm)1 Peso coin (24 mm) vs Thrill 430x (14.2 mm)
CM Titan (10.5 mm) vs Thrill 430x (14.2 mm)
CM Titan (10.5 mm) vs Thrill 430x (14.2 mm)
1 Peso coin (24 mm) vs Thrill 430x (14.2 mm)
1 Peso coin (24 mm) vs Thrill 430x (14.2 mm)

Screen

The Thrill's facade is graced by a 4.3" 960x540 Sharp ASV screen which results into 256 PPI. Text is crisp and sharp. The Sharp ASV screen is a derivative of VA (vertical alignment) panel technology. While technically not IPS and despite being labelled as an IPS screen (it says "IPS" on the box), it is very much like an IPS screen, only better. Viewing angles are great and just like any IPS panel, looks great even at extreme angles (178 degrees). Brightness is plentiful. Color reproduction is very good. Contrast is exceptional for an LCD, to the point that it's difficult to distinguish the black on the screen and the black bezel -- and this also makes this screen excellent for viewing movies. Color saturation though may be a bit lacking. The default tone of the screen is warm and is subject to preference. Another impressive thing about the screen is the gap, or rather the lack of, between the panel and the glass. The screen feels like it's floating and the effect in person is impressive. Lastly, there is also a very, very subtle hint of color shifting which is the result of slower response times which is a weakness of VA panels.

Click thumbnail to view full-size
The Sharp ASV screen is eye-catchingThe Sharp ASV screen is eye-catchingThe Sharp ASV screen is eye-catchingThe Sharp ASV screen is eye-catching
The Sharp ASV screen is eye-catching
The Sharp ASV screen is eye-catching
The Sharp ASV screen is eye-catching
The Sharp ASV screen is eye-catching
The Sharp ASV screen is eye-catching
The Sharp ASV screen is eye-catching
The Sharp ASV screen is eye-catching
The Sharp ASV screen is eye-catching

Make no mistake though, the Sharp ASV screen is a top-bracket screen and is one of the latest advancements in VA panel technology. The color shifting I mentioned is only noticeable when you display mostly darker colors (extreme right of the color spectrum) like "the girls of Red Alert 3" wallpaper I feature in my pictures. You will also need good eyes to notice it. All this says much about the excellent screen on the Thrill 430x. Top notch stuff.

Here are some shots of the Thrill 430x's screen demonstrating viewing up front and at angles:

Below is a comparison of the Thrill 430x (4.0") next to the Cherry Mobile Titan (5.0") which I also recently reviewed. I personally would've liked if the Thrill had the same "deep color mode" option like the Titan to increase color saturation.

Titan vs Thril 430x
Titan vs Thril 430x

Processor and General Performance

The Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Play MSM8625 is a dual-core Cortex A5-based SOC with an Adreno 203 GPU. Unlike the other Snapdragon S4 lineups (the Plus, Pro and Prime) which are manufactured at 28 nm, the Play which the MSM8625 belongs to is manufactured at 45 nm. Despite being in the same manufacturing process node as other popular Cortex A9 SOCs like the TI OMAP 4430/4460, the Cortex A5 is a more power efficient chip and has effectively a lower thermal and power envelope. Given that, the Thrill 430x should enjoy lower nominal and peak power consumption as well as lower temperatures compared to other devices that use a dual-core Cortex A9 SOC manufactured at 45 nm. The thermal advantage is particularly more evident when it comes to games as the Thrill 430x doesn't become as hot as phones that use a dual-A9 SOC when gaming. It remains relatively cool, and that's considering nearly the whole back of the phone is covered by the battery and the battery can spread heat quickly for you to be felt. Pairing a power efficient processor with a gigantic battery makes for a very long use time as will be seen in the battery section later.

Even though the Cortex A5 is officially rated at only 1.57 DMIPS per Mhz vs the 2.5 DMIPS per Mhz of the Cortex A9, it's no slouch as can be seen on AnTuTu and Quadrant. The Cortex A5 retains the important extensions of the Cortex A9 such as Jazelle, VFP and NEON which contribute significantly to performance. The Adreno 203 isn't a slouch either, being able to push the 960x540 screen and still score 26.4 FPS in Nenamark 2. The Thrill 430x can handle most 3D games on the Play Store without problems. Some of the games tested are Virtua Tennis, Dead Trigger and Need for Speed: Most Wanted. The same games on the Thrill 430x feel a bit slower compared to the Titan, but we can attribute this to higher resolution screen on the Thrill 430x which has 35% more pixels than the Titan (960x540 vs 800x480), in which case the GPU on the Thrill 430x has to work harder.

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Thrill 430x's Nenamark 2 ScoreThrill 430x's AnTuTu score vs the CM Titan
Thrill 430x's Nenamark 2 Score
Thrill 430x's Nenamark 2 Score
Thrill 430x's AnTuTu score vs the CM Titan
Thrill 430x's AnTuTu score vs the CM Titan

Despite the higher AnTuTu benchmark scores of the Cloudfone Thrill 430x, general performance is a step lower on the dual-core Cortex A5s. As always, synthetic benchmarks don't always reflect real world performance. The videos below demonstrate the Thrill 430x against the Cherry Mobile Titan which has dual-core Cortex A9s. In addition, the Thrill 430x has more RAM free than the Titan yet still it lags slightly behind the Titan for tasks that involve heavy CPU usage, such as rendering webpages and loading applications. The Thrill 430x's MSM8625 is very fast (the "not too" sensitive screen withstanding), but for general feel and use, you will notice that the MTK6577 on the Titan is a step above in performance. Maximum RAM free on the Thrill 430x is around 290 to 330+ MB after a "kill all" action.

The tests below involved caching the respective pages beforehand in the browser to remove the network speed out of the equation. Also, loading of the webpages were not done at the same time because bandwidth will be shared by both devices. I believe the methodology of other reviewers tapping on the URL at the same time is wrong, as tapping just microseconds earlier on one device gives it bandwidth priority and thus, an unfair advantage. It's first come, first served. Both Anandtech and ArsTechnica are content-heavy pages with plenty of HTML5, Javascript and other plugins to severely burden the device, thus I deem both suitable sites for testing real world browsing capability.

Cloudfone Thrill 430x vs CM Titan Browser Test - Anandtech.com

Cloudfone Thrill 430x vs CM Titan Browser Test - ArsTechnica.com

Camera

The Thrill 430x has an 8 megapixel camera with dual LED flash that takes very good still shots for the price. Low light performance of the camera is average with a good bit of noise but otherwise takes clear shots in low light given the right settings. To assist with low light shots, it has a dual LED flash that is quite powerful. Shots taken in adequate to good lighting have very good resolved detail, have natural color reproduction, but is slightly oversharpened. The best thing about the 430x's camera is the inclusion of a dedicated camera button with a half-shutter function. This allows you to focus and time your shots right, not to mention it's easier to grip the phone like a compact digicam this way. One-handed shooting is easier on this phone compared to phones without a hardware camera button. The camera's viewfinder is also very fast with little lag when there is sufficient lighting.

The camera on the Thrill 430x has a myriad of manual options. You can select from spot, average (frame average) or center-weighted metering. ISO options range from 100 to 1600 without sacrificing resolution (you can still take 8 MP shots at 1600 ISO). Enabling touch to focus is also possible. There is also the ZSL (zero shutter lag) option which allows you to take a picture the moment you press the shutter. The only thing I don't like when enabling ZSL is that you won't be able to focus anymore with a half-shutter and your focusing is effectively infinite. Despite the manual controls for the still shot camera, nifty features such as "Face shot", "Smile mode", "Beauty shot" "4/8/16 Burst shot" are not available on the Thrill 430x. I personally loved the "4/8/16 Burst shot" mode on the Titan which allowed me to shoot up to 16 successive full resolution shots in a matter of seconds. The Thrill 430x does have panorama shooting though.

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Still shot optionsStill shot optionsStill shot options
Still shot options
Still shot options
Still shot options
Still shot options
Still shot options
Still shot options

While the overall quality of the still shot camera is excellent, even against much higher priced smartphones, I do, however, have a giant quirk with the camera. It is practically impossible to take an extremely upclose macro shot with the Thrill 430x if your subject is pretty small or very thin (i.e. small flowers, stem of a plant). The camera's focal point is quite wide and attempting to take extreme upclose shots of small objects results in the background being put into focus rather than the foreground. I have fiddled with the camera over and over to attempt an extreme macro shot, but to no avail. The closest distance I could get to take a clear macro shot of a small object was about 7 inches. The EXIF details from the shots couldn't help me either as the only relevant information about the lens that was being recorded was focal length, which is 5 mm, which is slightly narrower versus other smartphone cameras. If you look some of the sample macro shots below, it is evident that it's the background being put into focus.

Thrill 430x Camera Samples (Good lighting)

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Thrill 430x Camera Samples (Low light)

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Thrill 430x Camera Samples (Macro shots)

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Below are video recording samples taken by the Thrill 430x in 720p.
Please watch the videos in 720p quality to see what the recordings actually look like.

Video recording sample 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=grCK8c6MZys

Video recording sample 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgXiw4rGyNs

Video recording sample 3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yiSrosr6vZE

I was mildly surprised when I found the 720p option under video recording. Qualcomm lists the Snapdragon S4 Play SOCs to be capable of recording only up to WVGA (800x480) resolution. The Thrill 430x proves otherwise as it is able to record in 720p. However, the recording quality leaves much to be desired. While detail level is relatively good, there are just too many dropped frames when recording in 720p and the low bitrate (around 4.2 Mbps on average) adds severe macroblocking. In addition, there is also this focusing issue while recording video where the camera is aggressive in focusing in and out and it is particularly evident in the third sample video recording (shot at night in front of Jollibee with cars passing by). The macroblocking rears its ugly head especially when there is a lot of motion going on and the bitrate can't compensate for the additional data for detail required by fast paced scenes. In comparison, the bitrate of the Cherry Mobile Titan's 720p video recording averages around 12 Mbps and there are no dropped frames. On the upside, the low bitrate of the Thrill 430x's 720p recording is about 30 MB per minute of footage while the Titan is almost at a hefty 100 MB per minute. Overall, video recording is serviceable though it is advised you shoot in 480p if you are shooting fast paced scenes to avoid dropped frames.

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Video recording optionsVideo recording options
Video recording options
Video recording options
Video recording options
Video recording options

Here's the lowdown on the camera:
- Very good outdoor shots
- Average low light and good indoor performance
- Various focusing issues and it's practically impossible to perform extremely upclose macro shots
- Successful macro shots have very good resolved detail
- Video recording at 720p is terrible, but still usable for most occasions except fast paced scenes
- Overall, the camera is a very good still shot camera with plenty of manual options

The front facing camera is typical, nothing noteworthy. It's perfectly usable for Skype and whatnot.

Battery

We have finally reached the pièce de résistance -- the giant 4160 mAh battery. To give you an idea, it took nearly 5 hours to fully charge the phone from 26% with a 1A charger. It is uncommon for phone manufacturers to pack a large battery on smartphones today simply because it will have a negative effect on the device's aesthetics. Allure of smartphones, particularly high-end ones, is that they combine powerful performance and top-notch features in a sleek, desirable form factor. Most smartphones today typically last at most one day with moderate to heavy usage. Those that don't last a day from moderate to heavy usage are usually considered unforgivable, but may have other redeeming qualities that allows some consumers to reconsider them. Not everyone has the same use pattern and usage. Some use their phone mostly as a media player and given that, an AMOLED screen is advisable even if paired with a smaller battery because an AMOLED has per-pixel lighting where darker images/pixels rendered equals lower power consumption. Some people, like me, don't really have any other way around except to get a phone with a large battery. My use pattern involves HSPA connection on for a few hours with heavy browser usage and screen brightness set to auto (which is usually bright). Others like to play games on their phone and simply, the only solution is a big ass battery because we all know how fast 3D games can drain battery. I do make an exception for PS1 emulators, it doesn't suck up anywhere near as much juice as native Android 3D games.

Cloudfone lists the Thrill 430x has having a "3 day battery life". I'm happy to report that for light usage, it well exceeds that and in practice, 3 days is achievable on moderate usage. 20 hours has been the longest I haven't plugged my phone as I have a tendency to backup my pictures and whatnot the moment I'm on my computer.

For 20 hours, I lost merely 27% battery. I had 73% (4.0v) after a long, long day. I made sure I had 100% charge (4.22v) before this test. I didn't have much time to perform heavy tasks such as web browsing and whatnot, but the fact that it only lost such a minuscule amount is ridiculous. Here's the approximate breakdown of the usage in the 20 hour test:

  • 4 hours of screen time/screen turned on as I showed stuff on my phone such as pictures to people (wasn't even aware it was on for four (4) hours!)
  • Around 20 mins of calls
  • Around 40 mins of wifi
  • Around 15 mins of HSPA/3.5G web browsing
  • Heavy camera use with several dozen shots taken

Any other smartphone that I've had would have certainly lost around half the battery capacity. The shocker is the screen time of four (4) hours and brightness was set to auto. The brightness sensor on the Thrill 430x isn't aggressive, so the screen was bright for the most part. With my other smartphones with the exception of the Titan, I am constantly worried about how much screen time I'm using because the screen has been traditionally a major battery drain. Even with my iPhone 4, where iPhones have proven to be power efficient, there is a constant awareness of brightness levels and remaining battery. The Thrill 430x allows you to forget about those things -- you just use, use and use.

Click thumbnail to view full-size
73% left after 20 hours of usage4 hours of screen time73% left after 20 hours of usage
73% left after 20 hours of usage
73% left after 20 hours of usage
4 hours of screen time
4 hours of screen time
73% left after 20 hours of usage
73% left after 20 hours of usage

Other Stuff

The sound output of the Thrill 430x is clean. There is a very subtle hissing (white noise) when there's nothing playing, audible with my IEMs (tested with my Sony MH-1C and TDK Clef-P "Vocal Tuning") but it's not an issue and I doubt you would notice it if I hadn't mentioned it. The power output of the Thrill 430x is impressive, being able to reasonably drive my Superlux HD 668B (and the HD 668 is a bit demanding for portable players at 56 ohms impedance). The power output is comparable to my 6th gen iPod Classic and 3rd gen iPod Nano. It's quite powerful.

The Thrill 430x also has built-in GPS with A-GPS support. The performance of the GPS chip inside the Thrill 430x is very good, being able to lock-in in under 15 seconds without the use of A-GPS. It was able to lock-in while moving in a car in under 25 seconds, again without A-GPS.

Though the touchscreen sensitivity of the Thrill 430x may be lacking for some (meaning more of your skin should be touching the screen to register a touch), the screen is responsive and supports 5-point multitouch which is essential or advantegeous for certain games (i.e. Fruit Ninja, Guitar Hero). Please note that touchscreen responsiveness and sensitivity are not the same thing.

The Thrill 430x supports up to 5 fingers at once
The Thrill 430x supports up to 5 fingers at once

As usual, for users wishing to use Google's own Navigation software, their turn-by-turn navigation with voice is not available in the Philippines. However, you can still use Google Navigation to get directions and plot points for you whether you are driving or just walking/commuting. Also, you can use other navigation software on Android with turn-by-turn navigation with voice.

GPS chip testing on the Thrill 430x

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Conclusion

The Cloudfone Thrill 430x is certainly the road warrior's phone. The giant battery removes the need for any power banks even on long trips. The still shot camera is also another strength of the phone, being able to take excellent pictures in most conditions. Last but not least, the Sharp ASV screen is beautiful and will give IPS screens a whooping in terms of sharpness, contrast and color reproduction.

However, I do want to make a case for the Cloudfone Thrill 430x. The phone has in excess three things: battery, thickness and weight. Before you consider this phone, carefully think about your use patterns and usage. If you want to buy this phone thinking of that road trip three months from now, you might as well just buy a phone that better suits your immediate needs and buy a power bank or two for that trip. The battery on the Thrill 430x takes a while to use up. On light usage, you'll be just draining at most 20 to 25% of the battery per day. If you can afford to charge each night, the additional battery life becomes useless and you'll be left with a thick and heavy phone at all times. Mind you, the phone is 182 grams and 14.2 mm thick. In comparison, the Samsung Galaxy S3 is only 133g and 8.6 mm thick, and it's a much larger phone. BUT! If you are the said road warrior that cannot afford to charge your phone each night, the Thrill 430x is your best bet because the additional weight and thickness will be offset by the fact that it takes forever to die -- and that's a very good thing.

Alternatively, if you are also a very heavy user and are sick and tired of smartphones that die before nightfall, this is also a good choice. But again, if you leave your house with the Thrill 430x having at least 3/4th battery left, I can guarantee you that you'll be sleeping before the phone dies, no matter how hard you push it. It has THAT much battery. You might as well get a phone that can last you at least the whole day regardless of how much you push it, yet be better suited for your needs. Phones that can last at least a day of heavy use have batteries between 2000 and 3000 mAh.

Regardless, at 7,777 Php, this phone is a steal whatever your needs may be and the fact that no other phone comes close to having the same battery capacity as the Thrill 430x adds to its desirability.

Pros:
+ Peerless battery capacity
+ 4.3" 960x540 Sharp ASV screen is top notch stuff, can go toe-to-toe with phones in the 20K Php range
+ Very good still shot camera with strong dual LED flash
+ Dual-core Cortex A5 processor
+ Dual SIM
+ 768 MB of RAM
+ Good build quality
+ 7,777 Php only

Cons:
- 14.2 mm thickness and 182 grams is most likely a non-factor for guys, a big no-no for girls
- Camera has some focusing issues, also can't perform extreme macro shots on small subjects
- Video recording isn't up to scratch, particularly against MediaTek MTK6577 phones occupying the same price range


Official Cloudfone Thrill 430x Specs

Features: Dual SIM (dual standby), FM radio, GPS, dedicated camera button, 3 days battery life
Dimensions: 124.4 x 65.4 x 14.2 mm
Weight: 182 grams
CPU: 1.2 GHz Dual-core MSM8625 Qualcomm Snapdragon processor
OS: Android 4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich
RAM: 768 MB
Screen: 4.3" IPS qHD Capacitive Screen
Resolution: 960x540 pixels
Pixel per inch: 256 ppi
Internal Memory: 4 GB up to 32 GB via microSD
Camera: 8 MP Autofocus with dual LED Flash and 0.3 MP front facing camera
Sensors: Gravity, Proximity and Light sensor
Connectivity: Wi-Fi b/g, USB 2.0, Bluetooth 3.0 and 3G/HSPA
Battery: 4160 mAh
SRP: Php 7,777.00

© 2012 Kyle Lopez-Vito

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      JJ 3 years ago

      Have you tried using this in abroad like UK or Germany? I am going to work there and my priority is a handy phone with high battery efficiency. I thinking of getting this or the Huawei Ascend Mate but that's 6.1"...too big for me...your thoughts on this please...thanks in advance

    • profile image

      dhen 3 years ago

      hi .. my 430x keeps on hangging then restart .. i tried to hard reset it pero sa una lng sya ok .. pag tumagal tagal na bumabalik ulit sa dati .. mas napapadalas ito pag nag download ako ng apps at games .. can't even play games cuz it crashes all the time .. ano po kaya ang problema dito ?

    • profile image

      ayi 3 years ago

      i fell in love the first time I saw the thrill 450.

    • profile image

      kuya bojo 3 years ago

      My 430x keeps on hanging and lagging.

      Paano po ba i-hard reset 'to?

    • profile image

      nette 3 years ago

      paano i set ang wifi hotspot? kc pg naset ko at naiconnect ko webpage not available lmalabas

    • profile image

      Bogeyman 3 years ago

      If only Innos would make a more ruggedized version of the D9, Cloudfone can market it as the improved version of the Thrill 430x.

      My father-in-law has a Lenovo P780, and I can tell you that it is slow compared to my wife's Arc Mobile Memo. Weird, since both handsets use the same MT6589 chipset by MediaTek.

      I suppose the next wave of your reviews would be the upcoming octa-core phones, since we already have two such handsets primed for launch this month -- Starmobile's Diamond X1 and THL's T100, both using MediaTek's MT6592 chipset.

    • profile image

      marvin 3 years ago

      Hi,

      Thnks for d awesome response, though i never did that tweaking,nor flashng,and custom rom, i tried to give it sa service center,they wont tak it even if im willing to pay for it,pls help me

    • profile image

      Puzzled 3 years ago

      The Viber in Cloudfone Thrill 430 X has a problem. You cannot hear the person you are talking and vice versa. It just keeps on ringing. What is the problem here.

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 3 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Jim

      4 GB ROM. 1.9 GB + 0.89 GB is around 2.8 GB. That's about right. As you know, the listed storage capacity for gadgets isn't always exact. My 16 GB iPhone has about 13 GB of usable space. My laptop's 500 GB hard drive has 451 GB of usable space. Same thing applies here. Storage partitioning and the OS take some of that space. The Android OS alone will easily take up 1 GB of storage. You should be worried if the available space is less than 50% of the listed specs.

      If you want to know more, you can read this article to know why storage partitioning reduces usable storage: http://petapixel.com/2012/10/10/why-hard-drives-an...

    • profile image

      Jim De Castro 3 years ago

      Good day,

      I just bought a Cloudfone Thrill 430x for my daughter. It's proving to be a very good buy. It's now on android jellybean 4.1 and priced at P4999. Awesome! I can say that she is THRILLed with her new android phone.

      I just have one inquiry. Phone specs on paper say that internal phone memory is ROM: 4gb and RAM: 768 mb. However when I go to the phone's settings - storage, totals show total internal storage as 0.89 gb and total phone storage as 1.9 gb. Specs on paper and actual specs on the phone just don't add up. Can you please clarify actual internal memory phone specs.

      Hoping to get a reply from you soonest. Keep on coming out with awesome reviews. Many thanks and more power!

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 3 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @marvin

      I have no idea how you managed to delete or erase your phone's IMEI. If you did extensive tweaking such as flashing a custom ROM that contains a modified baseband, I think only the service centers can help you. Just pay them to fix it since flashing a custom ROM would've voided the warranty regardless.

      Anyway, I still have the Cloudfone Thrill 430x from November 2012 that I used for this review and it's still in very good condition. Battery is holding up well and the scratch-resistant screen has managed to keep even hairline scratches away.

    • profile image

      marvin esparza 3 years ago

      sir. just wanted to ask. got my phone thrill 430x. nabura ime nya eh. i tried to go sa most common cp technicians sa malls. wla pa daw sila pang ayus. just wanted to ask if you have a way of fixing my phone where and how? i tried checking din po sa main branches but they wont accept my phone, hndi daw autorized retailer ung pinagbilhan ko. sad thing is can't really use the warranty. any options guys? pls respond. or email me at sophieme02@gmail.com, thanks

    • profile image

      gregcebu 3 years ago

      I bought this phone around 6 months ago and re.cently had it stolen.

      I was pretty happy for a few months but the battery life pretty soon reduced to around a day and by 6 months i was lucky to geta half a days usage. I think the build quality is good and I liked the chunky feel and screen. Music qualit y was fine but call quality was pretty absymal. also by the end I was having a lot of trouble typing anything as the touch screen was not respondng well. Though its come down in price the relatively underpowered processor and the fact that the battery life will soon start to go south means its not the bargain it once was,

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 3 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ paolo

      I have no intention of reviewing the Cloudfone Thrill 530qx. First off, it's ridiculously overpriced given its specs. A big battery alone doesn't justify that price tag. For a little more, you can get a Lenovo P780 which has superior specs and almost the same battery capacity, not to mention it's a Lenovo.

      If you don't mind having a smaller, but still relatively large battery, the Huawei Ascend D Quad XL has a 2600 mAh battery and a quad-core Cortex A9 processor and is now only 7,990 Php. Also, the upcoming Cherry Mobile Titan 2.0 has a 3000 mAh battery and all the bells and whistles you could want from a mid-range phone, all for 8,999 Php.

      Lastly, do realize that this review is already a year old. Nowadays, the Cloudfone Thrill 430x's Qualcomm MSM8225 processor is simply lacking in performance. I wouldn't recommend it now unless you prioritize battery life above all else.

    • profile image

      paolo 3 years ago

      sir can you make a review between the 430x and the new 530qx?? both look enticing however mukang mas ok ang performance sa 430qx kahit dual core lang ito. thank you!!!

    • profile image

      Mostix 3 years ago

      hi symphonyx7! i totally agree, this is by far the best review i read on the web about thrill 430x. may i ask if you have plans in doing one for CF THRILL 450Q? it's specs is quite identical to CM Omega HD 2.0 and that makes me wonder which should i buy. thanks much in advance and more power!

    • profile image

      Tracy 3 years ago

      Sir, matanong ko lang po kung na-testing niyo na rin ipang-record ng instrument (gitara, drums, etc) yung Thrill 430x? Malinaw po ba yung audio input ng phone? (wala masyadong ambient noise, kahit mahina sa volume ayos lang)

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 3 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Jessica

      (just skip to the last paragraph if you just want my recommendation)

      The 430x is faster than the Galaxy S Duos. The 430x has a dual core Cortex A5 while the S Duos has a single core Cortex A5. The 430x also has a faster graphics processor, Adreno 205 on the 430x vs Adreno 200 on the S Duos.

      As it stands, the S Duos is no match for the 430x in terms of overall specs. The S Duos is sleeker, sure. But I can vouch for the 430x being a tank. I gave the 430x I reviewed to my sister and it has fallen countless times (with battle scars to prove it). It's been over half a year since I acquired this 430x btw. I'm surprised that there's not a single crack on the screen. I mean, the 430x has Asahi scratch-resistant glass, but I didn't expect it to be this shatter-proof. Or the 430x's thick body just absorbs a lot of the shock from the falls.

      Either way, if you don't really need the 430x's battery life, I really suggest you purchase one of the newer phones instead. At the price range of the S Duos and 430x (around 7K~), I suggest you get a Cherry Mobile Omega HD 1.0 instead if you fancy the S Duos's design. It's sleeker and much better specc'ed than the S Duos and, the Omega HD 1.0 has one hell of a camera. Do note that the Omega HD 2.0 has a crappier camera compared to the Omega HD 1.0, but it has a much faster processor. Seeing as you consider the S Duos and 430x, I take it processing power isn't a requirement, hence I recommended the Omega HD 1.0. If you find the Omega HD 1.0 large, I recommend the Lenovo A800 instead.

    • profile image

      Jessica 3 years ago

      Hi sir! Very nice, informative and such an in-depth review. I'm planning to get a new phone kasi next month. And this awesome phone and a Samsung Galaxy S Duos are my top two choices. Mind to give me some insight kung ano mas okay between the two?

      So obviously mas angat si CF sa battery life, pero mas okay sa looks and aesthetics yung Galaxy S Duos.

      Pero you think which one is better at playing games like Fruit Ninja, Zenonia and the like? Does those gamea lag or run very smoothly on the CF Thrill 430X?

      Which of the two do you think can play 480p - 780p videos better? I really want to watch my anime shows on a phone with a decent sized screen smoothly as possible.

      They're almost the same price na naman nowadays eh. Both are dual-sim, and are in Android 4.0. :D

      Hoping you can reply to my query! I really am having quite a dilemma in choosing between this phone and a Galaxy S Duos. Been using a lowly Samsung Galaxy Young for two years na eh; so I really have no idea on these 'newer' models. :D

    • profile image

      Ahmad 4 years ago

      Such an impressive review. Question, is there anything like phone covers/ protector for this phone? I just noticed its shape is kinda different.

    • profile image

      jen 4 years ago

      pano po iactivate yung admin ng phone?at para saan po yun ty po first android ko kasi to at kung naapgrade po ito para mg jellybean

    • profile image

      bluegreyone 4 years ago

      been using the phone for over a month already...so far it's great. i travel a lot so the weight and bulkiness is not an issue to me considering the power that the phone has. i watch two movies and plays different games every time i travel without any worries that my battery will run out of juice.

    • profile image

      jedd audije 4 years ago

      hindi po gumagana yung wifi ng cloudfone 430x ko. ano po kaya dapat kong gawin?nakikita nya po yung mga open na wifi pero hindi makaconnect even though i input the password.

    • profile image

      JorHee 4 years ago

      @Ejay- So what if I become the admin? what's the difference? ano ba mapapala kung rooted and phone. Please let me know the adv and disadv. thanks.

    • profile image

      Ejay 4 years ago

      Rooting means becoming the admin of yo own phone

    • profile image

      Da Ryll 4 years ago

      How do you use the printscreen feature?

      And what does rooting mean?(sorry, this is my first android phone:p)

    • profile image

      arthur 4 years ago

      I have this unit, and it really rocks your needs when it comes to usual needs, the battery is designed for gaming and it's really true that it can last for 2 -3 days. I rooted this phone already. TRY it and you will satisfied, i guarantee

    • profile image

      Onin 4 years ago

      @Joe use pimp my rom tapos sa tools pinaka baba then hidden menu tapos sa phone info.. tapos slot 1 makikita mo na ung settings ng wcdma at gsm.. syempre dapat rooted ka..

    • profile image

      Joe 4 years ago

      Sir, dati nagagawa ko yung code na *#*#4636#*#* to choose if gsm or wcdma ang gamit ko....nawala yung una at bumili ako ng same model pero hindi na gumagana yung code, may alternative po ba?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @symphonyx7

      ginawa ko kasi dati pag restart once promted na 5% na lng kasi after restarting babalik cya into 12% battery life or more. well this time is different.

      di po pa rin talaga mka pag-charge, once I connect it to the charger it automatically turns on the unit but won't really start (hanggang sa yellow background lang talaga with cloudfone name then blacks out and back again to yellow background - it keeps going on hanggang sa di ko kunin ang battery).

      -maraming salamat po sa reply and hopefully maayos din ang unit ko, this unit is really good inabuso ko lng talaga yung pag gamit hehe

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ anonymous

      Take the battery out then put it back again. Then charge the phone. Leave the phone turned off while charging. Go back after 5 hours, then try turning it on again. You shouldn't have restarted the phone at such a critical battery level. You should've let it sleep or turned it off.

      If it doesn't work, ask for help in the Cloudfone Thrill 430x Facebook group. Someone kind enough might lend you their battery and let you flash another ROM safely.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      sir pa help naman po, ung cloudfone 430x ko di po maka pag start. lagi na lng dun sa yellow background na may cloudfone name tapos wala na. mg-blac-out din load ulit ang yellow background. this happened after i restarted the unit when it said 5% left in battery. ngayon di na po cya mka pag start.

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Paul

      No problems regarding data connection any network. Also, only one SIM can be used for data connection at a time. If SIM 1 is being used for data connection and you want to use SIM 2, you have turn turn off the data connection on SIM 1 first. Lastly, The Thrill 430x itself is a bit weak in terms of catching 3G signal compared to other phones though. But definitely no problems from my experience. I still have my Cloudfone Thrill 430x btw.

    • profile image

      Paul 4 years ago

      Hello Sir, Have you tried working with mobile data? Are there any issues with mobile data from Sun, Smart or Globe?

    • Maria Cecilia profile image

      Maria Cecilia 4 years ago from Philippines

      Hi so far I am OK with my Cloudfone 430g, but you see if you like good quality photo, this one is really very disappointing...at least the sound is good especially if combined with good headphone or earphone. ay isa pa, if your message is extra long , it automatically turned into MMS message which is really disappointing kasi di natatanggap ng pinadalhan mo, I find it very inconvenient, but since andito na ito, ok na rin, but still can't give up my other cellphone kasi at some point they are still more reliable.

    • profile image

      jp 4 years ago

      great review sir! very informative and highly detailed. keep it up and here's to more future reviews!

    • profile image

      Migs 4 years ago

      one more thing - could you please try running Geekbench 2 and Passmark?

    • profile image

      Migs 4 years ago

      Using MX Player do 720p videos play smoothly on this?

    • profile image

      ['A'] 4 years ago

      That's a very detailed review! Exactly what I'm looking for. I commend your effort in exploring the ins and outs and the admirable scrutiny as well. Sold!

    • Maria Cecilia profile image

      Maria Cecilia 4 years ago from Philippines

      wow I am overwhelmed not so good in determining which is the best, my cousin said it's ok but quite slow, it what aspect I really don't now.. you see I love techy things but now really knowledgeable about it... I'll probably take this cloudphone for now.... I hope it has good resolution.... just keep on posting techy things ha, I need to be updated.. thanks

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Maria Cecilia

      I see. They're offering you the Cloudfone Thrill 430g, not the 430x. They're totally different phones. The Thrill 430g is the best specced phone among their no-cashout offerings at Plan 500. However, it definitely doesn't command the best resale value or ease of sellability. Personally, I'd get their Blackberry 9320, sell it and get a Thrill 430x, MyPhone A888 or Lenovo A800.

    • Maria Cecilia profile image

      Maria Cecilia 4 years ago from Philippines

      ah yes what they are offering has only 5mp camera, so you think the one you reviewed is much better than what they are offering? it's only a 499 plan, what do you think shall I take it?

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Maria Cecilia

      I take it you were applying for a Globe line. The last time I checked, the Cloudfone Thrill 430g is what they're offering, NOT the 430x. The 430g is a single core MTK6575 with a 800x480 TN panel and a small battery. It's simply not as good as the 430x. You better clarify with Globe if what they're offering is indeed the 430x.

      Also, what Samsung unit are you comparing the 430x to? Because there are over a dozen Samsung models. I'd take the 430x any day over any of Samsung's offering up until the 15K Php range, but something like a Galaxy S III is better than the 430x for obvious reasons.

    • Maria Cecilia profile image

      Maria Cecilia 4 years ago from Philippines

      hi fellow hubber, I applied for a line and this is the free phone.... I like it because of the wide screen..I am just wondering if I've made the right decision choosing this phone over samsung... thanks for your review..

    • profile image

      guilliam 4 years ago

      hello @symphonyx7, thanks for the reply. yes i noticed that difference between P770 and 430x on board processor. slight performance difference with the difference in power/battery drain(bec of A5 and A9) i'll go for the 430x. additional thoughts 430x has pros versus P770:

      - has a dedicated hardware button for camera

      - has innos roms and custom/cooked roms available, unlike the P770 which is not mature in the rooted/custom-rom/roms side.

      again thank you for this very thorough review!

      - g

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ jaycuenca

      I'm sorry, but I don't have time to perform stress tests of using the phone as a wifi hotspot. I'd reckon it would last about 6 hours though since both 3G + wifi hotspot is a BIG power drain. I really suggest you use a dedicated portable wifi hotspot instead though.

    • profile image

      jaycuenca 4 years ago

      Hi sir. i really like your review. ask ko lang po.. i want to use 430x sana as wifi tether of my gadgets.. at the same time, ill use it as my back up phone. any stress test for wifi tethering? and going wifi connected 24-7? many thanks sir :)

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ guilliam

      The Lenovo P770 has a more powerful MediaTek MTK6577T processor. It's the 1.2 Ghz version of the 1.0 Ghz MTK6577. If you've already seen my short browser comparison between the MSM8225/8625 (Thrill 430x) and the MTK6577 (CM Titan), the MTK6577 clearly has the lead. Thing is, the Thrill 430x still has a bigger battery and the more efficient processor at nearly half the price of the P770. It's up to you if you're willing to pay for the extra performance.

    • profile image

      guilliam 4 years ago

      thanks for this review. im actually making a comparison between the upcoming(on local PH market) of LENOVO P770 compared to this. this phone tops at most over the P770. here's my comparison i've written in a forum just based on the specs:

      Cloudfone Thrill 430x specs:

      Dual SIM, dual standby

      1.2GHz dual-core Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 MSM8625 chip

      Adreno 203 GPU

      768MB RAM (553MB useable)

      4.3-inch qHD capacitive display (960 x 540 resolution; 240ppi pixel density)

      4GB internal storage with microSD card up to 32GB

      8-megapixel rear camera with autofocus and dual-LED flash; VGA front camera

      4160mAh battery

      Android Ice Cream Sandwich

      PRICE: Php 7,777 landed and locally available in cebu

      Lenovo P770 specs:

      DUAL Sim

      Android 4.1 (Jellybean)

      1.2 GHz dual-core Cortex A9 CPU

      1 GB of RAM, along with 4 GB internal memory

      4.5″ quarter HD (qHD) screen at 540×996 resolution

      5 megapixel main camera with LED flash and a VGA front camera

      3500 mAh battery 29 hours of talk time

      PRICE: estimated PHP14,800 and will be released in PH market God knows when.

      comparison based on specs:

      pro on P770:

      - latest android OS or Jelly Bean

      - 1GB or 256mb more on RAM (doesn't makes much difference for me)

      - 4.5 screen or .2 bigger than 430x

      pro on 430x:

      - BIGGER battery and a difference of 660mAH in comparison to P770

      - available in local market specially in cebu(RC goldline SM) with local support

      - more mature in philippine market

      - way CHEAPER than P770 (its cloud not lenovo) but for the difference of somewhere 7,000 this makes a BIG difference

      - 8 MP camera with dual led flash compared to 5MP single lead flash.

      i think upon making this comparison might get the cloudfone even before march ehehhehe!

    • profile image

      sexyback 4 years ago

      Nice review Kyle, kelangan ko makahanap ng demo phone nito haha. I might not be able to see your reply here haha. - M F

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ ebs

      I was also able to try out the Kata i1 the same day I purchased my Thrill 430x at Megamall. Good screen and it's the only MTK6577 phone locally available with 1 GB of RAM. Only problem is small 1600 mAh battery. IMO, the tiny battery is problematic for most people. Besides, the 1 GB of RAM has little perceptible difference in user experience compared to 512 MB of RAM. I suggest you stick to an MTK6577 phone with a 2000 mAh or higher battery.

    • profile image

      ebs 4 years ago

      Hi! I love your reviews! So comprehensive and educational too. I wouldn't know what the different processors could actually do if you hadn't mentioned them in the titan review.

      There's this phone I'm interested in, the Kata i1. I heard it hangs and all sorts of things like that and I could really use your "pro" opinion hehe. It looked good playing a video in the glass case but I haven't been able to touch it yet. Any thoughts?

    • profile image

      Allivon 4 years ago

      Common video problem yan, update mo lang ung video codecs ng phone mo.

    • profile image

      SAN 4 years ago

      Hi sir. I just want to ask if cloudfone 430x can play 720p movies smoothly, na try ko kasi ung "abduction copy 720p@ 700mb bluray video - mp4 file" sa starmobile crystal and sony xperia u. nag play naman xa kaso pag nag forward ka na nag la-lag na xa and stuck ka na. all u can hear is the music. i need a cheeper device kasi na can play hd movies smoothly, i consider buying sony ps vita but i still need to convert movies from avi to mp4. mdyo nakakapagod un. you can email me @ghuloomhassan@yahoo.com/09172715670

    • profile image

      avy 4 years ago

      hi! ask ko lang pano tanggalin ung shutter sound?

    • Samith Jhon profile image

      Samith Jhon 4 years ago from Los Angeles, California

      I really like this review great hub keep it up am going to share this hub on my all social profiles :)

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Bien

      I'm sorry to hear that. Did your son enable a lockscreen with password or pattern lock? It's impossible to hard reset the phone without using a computer.

      I don't know the location of Cloudfone's service centers. You should ask the store where you bought it from. I bought mine from MemoExpress Mega Mall. You should give them a call and ask where the nearest Cloudfone service center is. Here's their website: http://www.memoxpress.ph/ Contact details should be there.

    • profile image

      Bien 4 years ago

      na lock po Thrill 430x, kaso need my google account para pa unlock, pero disable naman yung wifi ng fone, pano ko mapapagana wifi ng fone in lock mode, please help, pinag laruan kc ng anak ko yung fone, saka where is the nearest service center here in Pasig City, thanks

    • profile image

      chekeshna 4 years ago

      oooopppss...i did my research and found out that alcatel ot-997d is a dual core phone and not just a single core as you've mentioned..anyway thank you for the advice and il be looking forward on the review of the cherry mobile cruize.

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ chekeshna

      I have no plans of reviewing the Crystal since I will not be buying one anytime soon. The next phone I plan to review is the Cherry Mobile Cruize due to its very interesting price/feature proposition. However, I would recommend the MyPhone A888 over the Crystal because of the slightly larger battery, lower price and slimmer profile.

      With regards to the Alcatel OT-997D. It is a single core Cortex A8-based phone, so its performance is lower than the phones from CM, MyPhone, Starmobile that use an MTK6577 processor. Alcatel also manufactures their phones in China. Quality should be the same at best. You should be taking into account afterservice support, and I believe Alcatel technically should have better afterservice. However, Cherry Mobile and MyPhone have already established themselves here and afterservice should also not be a problem. I suggest you stick to the local brands and carefully pick a model (do research and look for reviews and feedback). Good luck on your hunt.

    • profile image

      chekeshna 4 years ago

      Good day..pls have a time to review the new realesed phone from Starmobile, the Starmobile crystal because im thinking if i should go with Alcatel ot-997d which is an international brand or give Starmobile crystal a chance..thanks in advance and more power!!

    • profile image

      danx 4 years ago

      Very good and detailed review. Thank you so much for this. Just got my phone yesterday, and this review pushed me to it. Two thumbs up to you sir!

    • profile image

      hanjo 4 years ago

      did you also experienced stuttering on playing 720p video recorded from other phones?

    • profile image

      guest 4 years ago

      how long does the battery last if you use the phone as a portable hotspot? i ccurrently use an old LG P500 as ,y htdpot while on the road but the battery lasts only for like 2hrs max.

    • profile image

      Jamie 4 years ago

      Is there an option for the frequency if you want it gsm or wcdma? Thanks

    • profile image

      Mark 4 years ago

      I have the same question as arcee, or rather I just need some clarification. Would gps still work without wifi or 3g(i.e. no data connection at all)?

      Note that data is enabled(I just don't have a data plan :D)

      I just need to know if its supposed to work or not.

      Many thanks!

    • profile image

      kevin 4 years ago

      ganda ng review salamat sir ask ko lang sang store nyo po nabili

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ arcee

      As long as there is DATA coming in, A-GPS will work. 3G or wifi, doesn't matter. As long as there is data coming in from the internet to help the phone find the satellites faster.

      You don't need A-GPS to be enabled for GPS to work, obviously. That's why it's called "assisted GPS". As I've stated in my review, GPS can lock-in without any assistance in under 15 seconds. Also, those conditions include a clear sky and stationary position. It should take a little bit longer while inside a moving vehicle.

    • profile image

      arcee 4 years ago

      sabi ng sales sa rc goldline cebu you need wifi for the gps to work (a-gps?) when i ask. I mean, which is which, may gps or a-gps lang?

    • profile image

      Omerson 4 years ago

      Another good review sir,., keep on blogging things the way like this, really love the way u tell about the phone it made me want to buy them all, with so much details(not to overwhelm) but just what we need to know about the specs..

    • profile image

      HOTPrinceJP 4 years ago

      Thanks for the reviews sir. Make me want the Cloudfone Thrill 430x more!

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @love

      I was highlighting that performance advantage of the Titan. It's noticeably faster than the Thrill 430x even in general use. The Titan is faster because it has a dual Cortex A9-based SOC while the Thrill 430x uses a dual Cortex A5-based SOC. Also, the Thrill 430x's screen has a higher resolution and more pixels means more processing power needed to render an image.

      In short:

      Titan: faster processor + lower res screen = smooth performance

      Thrill 430x: slower processor + higher res screen = average performance

      But please, the Thrill 430x in its right is a very fast phone. It's just that the Titan (and other MTK6577 phones) are faster than the Thrill 430x.

    • profile image

      love 4 years ago

      also i can see from the video that zooming with two fingers is not smooth on 430x? why on titan is very smooth.

    • profile image

      love 4 years ago

      just sold out my flare, my eyes all set now to this device, what can you advice before i buy this device? what do I check first? my former flare has so many stuck pixels, do this device have it also? do i need to get the sealed box. and let me the first one to open it? where did you buy yours? any advice where i can buy this? trusted one. thanks!

    • profile image

      Bogeyman 4 years ago

      @Love,

      According to reports from various users, the device is upgradeable to JB, but this will supposedly void the warranty (or so says the sales personnel).

      The Thrill 430x being a rebranded Innos D9 from China, we're waiting for updates as to when Innos will officially release a JB upgrade for this model. Hopefully it will eventually be available for the local Thrill 430x without affecting warranty claims.

    • profile image

      Love 4 years ago

      Sorry, I post the comment early! Thanks for the review, it's so complete! my problem now, is how to sell my flare, i really want this thrill! even though its thick , but its worth it!

      any idea if this gargantuan device is upgradeable to JB? thanks!

    • profile image

      love 4 years ago

      i really love the review! I really want to ditch my Flare! anyway Im really not satisfied with it! poor flare. :)

    • profile image

      Neorage 4 years ago

      Ganda ng review nyo ser, THE BEST REVIEW for this phone on the net....

    • profile image

      RAM 4 years ago

      PERFECT! THANK YOU SO MUCH!

    • profile image

      phattchoi 4 years ago

      may service center sila sa cebu? very interesting phone

    • profile image

      richard 4 years ago

      Alternative Working Chargers:

      01. Samsung Galaxy S2 Micro USB 750mA

      02. Joy Factory Power Q Dual USB 2x2.1A

      03. Lenovo S880 Single USB 1A

      04. Apple iPad 10W Single USB 2.1A (Slow)

      05. Apple iPhone 5W Single USB 1.0A (Slow)

      06. ZTE MF-30 Single USB 700mA

      07. Palm Treo Pro Single USB 1A

      08. DIY D-Link 4-Port Wireless USB Hub Converted to 4-Port USB Power Supply 4x750mA

      09. Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc S charger

      10. Samsung Note 2 original charger 2A

      - credits to ph_fire of tipidcp

    • profile image

      richard 4 years ago

      @moy ako po gamit ko po charger ng lenovo a60+ ko po..

      for other chargers eto po sinulat ni wuli68 ng tipidcp

      Magichunter uses Samsung charger rated at 5V ==.7 A

      Goldengod uses Blackberry Playbook Charger at 5V == 1.8 A

      5thave Alactel charger ?

      wuli68 uses Lenovo P700/P700i charger 5V === 1A and Capdase Atom Universal USB charger 5V === 1A

      Steelicon recommended Nokia AC-50U Fast efficient charger 5V 1.3A output

      cardinalmind uses xperia play charger

      -- edited by wuli68 on Dec 03 2012, 12:48 PM

      -credits to wuli68 of tipidcp

    • profile image

      moy 4 years ago

      excellent review....

      @richard ... what charger are you using in exchange to the stock charger? tia

    • profile image

      richard 4 years ago

      @ symphonyx7... your right,

      I use a different charger, more durable than the stock charger,

      I didn't use anymore my stock charger, although not "yet" defective..

      safety first... heheh

      so far i have no problem with cloudfone 430x

      more than 2days bat life before i charge

      on normal use. ..

      30 mins call a day, min of 20 txt, 1hr mp3 a day. 2 hr wifi to sync everything and fb twitter and other browsing/, .. i do not use

      live wallpapers, 30 mins 3d games a day..

      nice battery life.. nagagawa ko lhat ng wala worry sa battery...

    • profile image

      tolits 4 years ago

      Very nice review! Napaka-comprehensive. I hope they continue to release Cloudfones. I have a Titan right now, and the only thing stopping me from buying Thrill 430x is its size. I hope they release a 5-inch phone with the same specs (or more). I'll buy that without hesitation.

    • profile image

      gonfreeks 4 years ago

      wow very nice review..

    • profile image

      reviewee 4 years ago

      Hello sir,

      Thanks for the reviews you made. Would you post some sample photo and video using front cam. and also videocall samples in skype thank you. Many mobile user asking about videocall and the frontcam photo hope you will post some sample photo using frontcam

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ richard

      I'm assuming that the chargers on these rebranded phones from Shenzhen are all pretty bad with a high rate of defect. The charger that came with my CM Titan also broke on the first night. I had it replaced at the store I got it from the following day. I'm still using the stock chargers of my Titan and Thrill 430x though. No problems so far except for the replacement that was made.

      As for the 5 hours charging time. It's expected given the 4160 mAh battery. The stock charger of the Thrill 430x is already 1.0A. Anything higher and it'll be too much IMO. Rapid charging hurts the lifespan of the battery. It's a choice between preserving the battery or shorter charging times. I choose the former since aftermarket parts (like batteries) for phones from not-so-well recognized brands are hard to come by in the future. Not to mention the 4160 mAh battery of the Thrill 430x is one of a kind.

    • profile image

      richard 4 years ago

      may problem daw sa stock charger nya, parang low class, charging the 4160mah battery will take 5+hours,, sa forums ng tipidcp.. may pumutok daw n charger pero d nman daw ncira cellphone, kaya sa forum po, may mga gumamit ng branded na charger for this device...

    • profile image

      Rhiz 4 years ago

      Do you know kung meron silang store sa PQUE or Las Pinas?

    • profile image

      vaans 4 years ago

      Great review!

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @Arnold

      While I was paying for the phone, I asked the guys at Cloudfone if they have spare batteries for sale. They currently don't, but they said it will be available next month.

    • profile image

      Arnold 4 years ago

      They don't sell an extra battery for the 430x, a major cons.

    • profile image

      rusty 4 years ago

      thank you for this detailed review. will still decide what i am getting this dec.

    • profile image

      mhike 4 years ago

      great job for this review sir,thanks a lot for the necessary info's..

      How about the rooting sir? Do you have an update on how to root this 430x? Very much appreciated for your answer sir..

    • profile image

      james007 4 years ago

      Transcend 32 gb class 10 micro sd confirmed working with this phone.

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Jay

      It really depends if you need a great still camera or more viewing estate. I'd recommend the Titan if you just need a day's worth of batt AND you gravitate towards web surfing, games and multimedia. CM has officially announced an update that will allow the Titan to have 5-point multitouch (up from the current 2), so combined with the larger screen and better performance, it's more suitable for games. However, if you regularly take still shots, I'd still recommend the Thrill 430x. Not only will it outlast any compact digicam in terms of longevity, it seriously smokes the Titan's camera when it comes to still shots. Video recording is noticeably better on the Titan though.

    • profile image

      Jay 4 years ago

      So if a days worth of battery is just the requirement (exceeding that isn't a plus), which would you recommend between the titan and thrill 430x?

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ onggeo

      The internal storage of the Thrill 430x is 4 GB, but the usable space is only 1.75 GB.

    • profile image

      onggeo 4 years ago

      Good review sir! I was thinking of switching to a CM Titan with its 2350mAh battery but I think this is what I'll get. Sawa na ako sa twice a day charging ng 1300mAh battery ng HTC Trophy ko. Tanong ko lang, how much internal memory ang pwede gamitin for apps? Salamat sir!