ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Tips and advice on why you should buy the Nokia N8

Updated on September 6, 2012
A Nokia N8
A Nokia N8

Review of Nokia N8 – a cheap smart phone

Some time ago, mobile giant Nokia proudly released the Nokia N8, a high-end smart mobile cellphone. The Nokia N8 mobile phone is impressive in many ways. From the N8’s hardware specifications to its software operating system. If you are looking for some tips and advice on buying the Nokia N8 then you are in luck as this post is all about the advantages and benefits of buying the Nokia N8.

Main Advantage of Nokia N8

Why buy the Nokia N8? The biggest advantage Nokia N8 has over any other mobile phone is its 12 mega pixel camera. Yes, you read it right, mobile phone maker Nokia released a 12 mega pixel camera phone. Some might say what’s too good about this when digital cameras have much higher resolution?

For those who have not realized, Nokia N8 is not a digital camera but a mobile smart phone. Comparing the camera features of Nokia N8 with other brands such as iPhones, Sony Ericsson, LG, or any other models, Nokia N8 apparently has the advantage.

Again, some people might say, why buy the N8 when I already have a digital camera. A good answer would be mobility. Buying a Nokia N8 eliminates the need to bring a digital camera. The phone is a good camera itself – suitable for everyday use.

Camera Flash of Nokia N8

Speaking of camera features, another advantage of Nokia N8 is its flash. The camera flash and lens of the Nokia N8 resembles that of a digital camera. It is the closest thing to a camera flash among other phone brands. With this, taking night photos would not be an issue. Actually, the hardware specs of Nokia N8 are superb compared to Sony Ericsson, LG, Samsung – among others, of its class.

Software of Nokia N8 – disadvantage?

As for the software, well…yeah, it is somewhat of an old technology since the Symbian OS is the default mobile operating system of most (older) Nokia phone models. Though the Nokia N8 can run the latest version of Symbian OS, other mobile operating system such as the Android has been recently released and bundled with Nokia’s competitor brands. To some this might be a downer but mind them, Symbian is one of the most stable operating system around. Being in the industry for the longest time certainly taught Symbian how to cope up with the times.

People may argue that the Symbian OS have some bugs and glitches but aren’t all other mobile operating system experience the same problem. It would impossible to find a mobile operating system that did not have any bugs or minor imperfections. This is the reason why software update is recommended by mobile phone manufacturers.

Price Range of Nokia N8

Lastly, the best tip on why to buy or purchase a Nokia N8 is its price. A year ago I wouldn’t buy or even bother looking at this phone with its hefty or high price tag. But now, the price has lowered significantly that it is actually a good value for your money – almost a 10k price drop.

UPDATED as of August 2, 2012

When I wrote this post, I am still in the process of waiting and buying for the Nokia N8. However, as of posting time, I already bought the said unit and have no regrets since purchasing it.

I first bought the Nokia C6 to replace my 5 year old P990i. Unfortunately, for some unknown reason, the screen of the C6 has broken down. Due to this incident, I bought the Nokia N8 because its retail price is unbelievably lower when it first came out. I also own a Samsung Galaxy Y (S5360) because it is such a great bargain at only 2,000 pesos (Philippine Currency)

unkonI actually own a C6 to replace that I bought last December, but if the price of the Nokia N8 continues to drop, will definitely buy it at the holidays.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • writerjj profile image
      Author

      writerjj 5 years ago

      Hi Pulkit,

      Thanks for commenting. Have also seen your comment on the other hub referring that you bought the Galaxy Y. Anyway, this is just an additional info on what I posted there. There are certain areas wherein the signals might be strong for GSM but weak on WCDMA. As a suggestion, set the phone to auto mode (GSM / WCDMA) which can be found on the network settings option of the phone.

      Hope this helps :)

    • profile image

      PULKIT 5 years ago

      HEY....I bought my phone 6 months ago....but now it has started showing its true clours....firstly it use to Drop the packet data oftenly....nd then i ended up with a no network symbol...in full coverage area...

    • writerjj profile image
      Author

      writerjj 6 years ago

      Thank you, friends for looking / viewing :)

    • profile image

      PhoneConfusecious 6 years ago

      Snap! Such a steep price drop. Thanks for sharing.

    • kootheancheah profile image

      kootheancheah 6 years ago from Penang, Malaysia

      Writerjj,

      Thanks for the review of Nokia N8.

      A smartphone is more than just a good camera. Nokia came too late in the smartphone scene and is now left far behind by Android and Apple.

      Koot H. Cheah

    • Erin Boggs1 profile image

      Erin Boggs1 6 years ago from Western Maryland

      I haven't even heard anything about Nokia in a long time glad to see they are coming out with a great phone!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)