ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Product Review - the Lenovo IdeaPad Notepad/Laptop Computer - Z Series

Updated on May 17, 2013

The Lenovo Notebook - a nice workhorse

I recently purchased my second new laptop ever - the Lenovo IdeaPad Z575, from Frys Electronics here in Fremont Ca. My first laptop was bought 7 years ago from the same manufacturer - and it was an IBM Thinkpad. That laptop workhorse would have still been running unless it hadn't been dropped (actually thrown) - very hard. This new laptop will hopefully not be subjected to what that poor IBM ThinkPad was. And BTW - even though my IBM ThinkPad was "thrown" - it still turns on and only needs to have windows re-installed - amazing.

Why did I choose the Lenovo IdeaPad Z575? For many reasons that I will explain below. If you are a writer or an avid computer user like me, you may want to consider a Lenovo computer for these same reasons.


A great laptop is like a best friend to me!

First of all, I get attached to my laptops - especially those that are trustworthy and can handle the abuse I dish out. Because I am a writer, a good laptop is VERY IMPORTANT to me. It's the equivalent of having the best typewriter a writer could have a hundred years ago. I chose Lenovo because they aligned with IBM back in 2005 - and the product reviews were great for the Lenovo IdeaPad Z575 Although it doesn't have a hard shell like the ThinkPad did - it is well made and looks like it could probably handle a few bumps and bruises. As long as my 3 year old grandson doesn't dance on it I should be fine.

Here are the specs for the Lenovo IdeaPad Z575:

KEY SPECIFICATIONS

  • NEW AMD A4-3300M dual core processor

  • Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64

  • 15.6” Backlit LED HD (1366x768) resolution display

  • Integrated discrete class AMD Radeon HD6480M graphics

  • 4GB DDR3 memory, 500GB HDD storage

  • High-speed 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi

  • Integrated DVD reader/writer

  • USB2.0, eSATA connectors & 5in1 card-reader

  • Integrated 0.3M webcam for clearer video chats

The authors Lenovo laptop - Z series
The authors Lenovo laptop - Z series | Source

Great product reviews for the Lenovo IdeaPad Z575

Besides the great product reviews, one of the other MAJOR reasons I bought the Lenovo is because of the comfortable AccuType keyboard that it has. The keys are slightly curved so spelling and typing are more accurate and my fingers don't "slide" across the other keys as I'm typing. I may be a little old fashioned, but I like to "feel" my typing and many of the new notepads, laptops and computers do not have this feature on the keyboard.

The storage was also more than adequate for me with it's 4 gigs - and it has enough power to handle not only my writing but also my photography (I am also a professional newborn baby photographer) This laptops connection to the Internet is lightening fast (even with an 8 year old router) and I have no problems downloading large photos, big files and watching YouTube videos. A good multi-media computer is very important to me, and the Lenovo works well for everything I need to do. I can also upgrade to 8 gigs if need be but for right now the 4 gigs works just fine for all my needs.

From the manufacturer: Lenovo IdeaPad Z575

"The stylish yet affordable IdeaPad Z575 is packed with loads of cool features to make your day more fun. Bring your multimedia experience alive on your high-definition widescreen display; optimize audio-visual settings with OneKey® Theater II; and get top quality audio with SRS® Premium Surround SoundTM. The IdeaPad Z575 is built for convenience too. It features a comfortable AccuType keyboard making typing easier, and Lenovo Energy Management provides longer battery life. This laptop is powered by the new AMD A4-3300M processor."

Poll on your Laptop/Netbook Use

I am here because I am:

See results

No more overheating!

The other MAJOR bonus to the Lenovo is that the cooling fan is located on the side of the laptop - so more over-heating! I have actually had heat burns on my legs from other laptops that had the cooling fan on the bottom - what a bad place to have the fan! So now I don't feel that irritating warmth on my legs as I'm working - and the heat goes out the side. Nice!!

All the ports are also on the side including the power cord hook-up which makes it nice when I have my camera or other things attached. I haven't dropped my camera off the back of the laptop anymore (I broke my last digital camera that way). Those power hook-ups on the back of laptops were highly irritating also. I don't know how many times I moved my laptop to wrench the power cord out of its socket - only having to end up replacing the cord and/or the outlet for the power cord on my old laptop. Now on the Lenovo I can see everything on the side - and I am much more aware of what I have hooked up. Awesome.

The Lenovo IdeaPad - priced right

Lastly, the price I paid for my Lenovo is going to blow you away - I bought it on sale at Frys for only $399. Yes that's right. I looked at all the other laptops and notebooks, compared prices and could not believe what a great deal this was. Although some people prefer the 17.3" screen, I am happy with the 15.6" screen. If I need to view print larger, all I need to do is to magnify with an easy click. The screen size is more than adequate for me, and the size is great for transporting and handling.

I can't say enough good things about the Lenovo IdeaPad Z575. I think this is my new buddy - in fact I have so much faith in it that I didn't even purchase the extended contract. I figure by the time this laptop gives way it will be time for another laptop anyway. Lenovo is a great company with a good reputation for quality products - so I'm not concerned about my new IdeaPad going kaput anytime too soon. As long as I don't throw it, drop in in the water and I keep adequate virus protection on it, I figure I'm good for a few years. And by that time, laptops will probably be obsolete anyway!

(Dorsi Diaz is a freelance writer/publisher on the Internet. She writes about everyday life and the occasional review on good products that she has had success with)

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • Dorsi profile imageAUTHOR

    Dorsi Diaz 

    6 years ago from The San Francisco Bay Area

    Thank you Hello, hello. Nice to "see" you, as always!

  • Hello, hello, profile image

    Hello, hello, 

    6 years ago from London, UK

    Thank you for these technical information and personal recommendation. It is always good to find other people's opinion.

  • Dorsi profile imageAUTHOR

    Dorsi Diaz 

    6 years ago from The San Francisco Bay Area

    @RealHousewife) I like HP's too - I hope you are pleased with it. That was a nice gift from your hubby! Thanks for stopping by.

  • RealHousewife profile image

    Kelly Umphenour 

    6 years ago from St. Louis, MO

    Dorsi - I had to give you up and across the board for this because I am very in love with my laptop!!! I also hate it some days. lol I really wish I had read this review before purchasing my laptop...well actually it was a gift from my thoughtful husband! For no reason even:) haha It is an HP and I LOVE it...but I suffer from lap burns occasionally! The fan is not on the side...too bad for me!

    Yours sounds really nice...I love the curved keys too! I don't know if this happens to anyone else..but my fingernails actually hurt sometimes from hitting those flat keys. I guess I am a hard typer?

    Up and awesome...if this one gets the boot - I know what I am getting next!

  • Dorsi profile imageAUTHOR

    Dorsi Diaz 

    6 years ago from The San Francisco Bay Area

    @alcosin) Thanks and glad to be of help. I am more than happy with my Lenovo.

  • alocsin profile image

    alocsin 

    6 years ago from Orange County, CA

    Thanks for this review of a potential laptop purchase for me. And I enjoy my local Fry's a lot -- I'm normally able to try out computers there extensively before deciding on a purchase. Voting this Up and Useful.

  • Dorsi profile imageAUTHOR

    Dorsi Diaz 

    6 years ago from The San Francisco Bay Area

    @Ed) Yes I love Fry's for their selection and their in-house customer service. I haven't been as happy with their service contracts and repair but I think they have improved that service from what I can see. And you can't beat their specials!

  • profile image

    Big Ed 

    6 years ago

    Congrats Dorsi. Isn't Fry's a great place for electronics? I love that store.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)