jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (10 posts)

Do you know about legal concerns and websites?

1. Browneesorchids profile image69
    Browneesorchidsposted 5 years ago

I am very new to all that comes with publishing a website with a copyright, and trademark/service mark registration. Does anyone have any suggestions or knowledge pertaining to this issue? I am building a site that targets females of various ages and have chosen to use iPage for my website host.

Thank you in advance:)

2. Nouveau Skeptic profile image70
    Nouveau Skepticposted 5 years ago

I am not sure what you are asking.  You can register copyright of material but it is not free and not necessary unless you are 1) in the US and 2) may wish to sue for monetary damages (not just get them to stop).

Trademarks are a much more complex issues and hard to discuss without specific examples.

Browneesorchidsposted 5 years agoin reply to this

I am looking to establish my website with a copyright(for website) and trademark (for design/name). I'm not sure what all is needed to be a strong website that wants to become a legal business in the future. I am aware of obtaining a copyright but not sure of anyone's personal experience.

3. Nouveau Skeptic profile image70
    Nouveau Skepticposted 5 years ago

You work is copyrighted upon creation, and posting a copyright symbol is not necessary to assert/defend the copyright.  You can register the copyright at about $45 per item, but as I mentioned it is seldom necessary.

To register a trademark you need to fill out the application and make sure to include the exact material being registered.  But honestly, I would question the need to do this too.  What can be defended under trademark is quite narrow and for many small businesses the chances of serious infringements requiring a lawsuit are pretty low.

Thank you for your feedback.

4. profile image0
    Website Examinerposted 5 years ago