ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Vacation Village in the Berkshires: A Review

Updated on December 31, 2017
Karen Hellier profile image

Karen Hellier is a freelance writer and eBay entrepreneur. She lives happily in the mountains of North Georgia with her husband and her dog.


Recently, my husband and I spent three nights and four days in the Berkshires to enjoy classical music at Tanglewood, the summer home of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. As usual, the prices of hotel rooms in the Lenox, Massachusetts area went sky high due to the Tanglewood season. Hotel rates were between $250 and $350 a night. After some in-depth research, Vacation Village, in Hancock, Massachusetts seemed to best fit the bill for what we needed, and at $135 per night, the price was right.

Vacation Village is located directly across from the Jiminy Peak Ski area. While this is convenient for Winter visitors who want to ski, it's also perfect for visitors at any other time of year because the mountain scenery is beautiful.







The lobby of Vacation Village
The lobby of Vacation Village | Source


Upon checking in, we entered a beautiful main lodge area with a large stone fireplace and comfortable couches. We learned that free coffee was served in this area every morning from 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and newspapers were also delivered here so guests could enjoy a free cup of coffee while reading the morning paper. For those who want to read the paper in the comfort of their room or balcony, newspaper boxes with papers for sale were conveniently located on the property. The other half of the check-in area included a large indoor swimming pool, with access to a hot tub on the outside patio, a video arcade, and a small but adequate work out center. The work out center includes a weight lifting machine, stair climbers, treadmills, and one incumbent bike. There is also a business center that guests can access, and wi-fi is available to all condos at a $25 per stay fee. That means whether you are staying one night or 1 week, you still pay $25 for the internet. We were happy to find a large assortment of maps and informational pamphlets about Vacation Village itself, as well as a variety of maps and activity booklets about the Berkshire area.

Mapped Location of the Vacation Village in the Berkshire Mountains

Vacation Village Poll

Would You Stay Here at Vacation Village in the Berkshires?

See results
The buildings that house the condos at Vacation Village.
The buildings that house the condos at Vacation Village. | Source

Arriving at the Condo

When we arrived at our condo, we were quite happy with our accommodations. There are fourteen buildings with condos. Lodgers have their choice of condos A or B. We chose condo B, which was perfect for the two of us. Each set of A and B condos are side by side. As you are walking down the hallways of each building, there is a keycard that lets you into a small hallway, and the doors to Condo A and B can be accessed inside a small entryway. The key card also opens the door to your condo. This made me feel more secure knowing that if an intruder were to try to access our condo, they would have to get through two doors to do so.

The Living Room area of the condo 508B
The Living Room area of the condo 508B | Source
Dining area and kitchen
Dining area and kitchen | Source

Vacation Village is Pet Friendly...If You Have a Small Dog

One of the more interesting things about Vacation Village is that dogs up to 35 pounds, are allowed in three of the buildings, but for a fee of $125 per stay. Up to two dogs are allowed, but the $125 fee per stay is assessed for each dog. That's $250 if you bring your dogs on vacation here. The buildings are the first three of the property, and a dog walking trail is located near these three buildings to keep dog leftovers in one area on the property.

Multiple Attractions for Families in the Berkshires


One of the best things about Vacation Village is that there is plenty to do in the area. For those who like to ski, Jiminy Peak ski area is directly across the street. On the grounds are a very nice restaurant and a country store. The country store is a bit expensive so should only be used if necessities or food were forgotten at home, and you just need something to tide you over. For summer visitors, Jiminy Peak has a Mountain Adventure Park and an Aerial Adventure Park, both of which offer fun for the whole family. There are also state parks close by for those who want to hike. The Berkshire Mall and a local Stop and Shop are fifteen and twenty minutes away respectively for anything you might need. Tanglewood, for classical music aficionados, is approximately 40 minutes away. One hour away is the Lee Premium Outlets, which is comprised of 60 outlet stores. Stores include Chicos, Aeropostale, Gap, J.Crew, Tommy Hilfiger, Eddie Bauer, Lacoste, Ann Taylor, and American Eagle Outfitters, to name just a few.



Bathroom at Vacation Village which is located between the kitchen and bedroom.
Bathroom at Vacation Village which is located between the kitchen and bedroom. | Source
Condo choices in each building are labelled A,B, or C. If you are fortunate enough to book option C, you will get a wonderful jacuzzi tub as well as a shower in your condo bathroom. SOOO relaxing!
Condo choices in each building are labelled A,B, or C. If you are fortunate enough to book option C, you will get a wonderful jacuzzi tub as well as a shower in your condo bathroom. SOOO relaxing! | Source
The bedroom with a queen bed in condo 508B
The bedroom with a queen bed in condo 508B | Source

Vacation Village in the Berkshires

Timeshare Opportunities


There are also timeshare opportunities at Vacation Village so I include a professionally done video to the right so you can get more of a feel for the area.

Pros:

* Vacation Village is a great place for people who want to enjoy the Berkshires in a resort atmosphere.

* The condos are clean and neat and nicely furnished.

* The amenities are wonderful and the recreation areas are kept clean.

* The views of Jiminy Peak from the resort are beautiful in any season.

* There are plenty of activities for guests to do in the area.

* The price is right!

Cons:

* The condo buildings are close together and it almost feels as though the main point of these condos is to make money.

* The cost of bringing pets is quite high compared to other hotels.

* The beds are not very comfortable.


Enjoy more photos of Vacation Village below...

The Indoor Pool at Vacation Village
The Indoor Pool at Vacation Village | Source
The hot tub on the patio just outside of the indoor pool.
The hot tub on the patio just outside of the indoor pool. | Source
The Outdoor Pool of Vacation Village with Jiminey Peak in the background. It's a beautiful view that visitors can enjoy while keeping cool.
The Outdoor Pool of Vacation Village with Jiminey Peak in the background. It's a beautiful view that visitors can enjoy while keeping cool. | Source

© 2013 Karen Hellier

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Karen Hellier profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Hellier 

      5 years ago from Georgia

      donnah75,

      No, we haven, but I have heard about it. Yes, write a hub about it. Sounds interesting.

    • donnah75 profile image

      Donna Hilbrandt 

      5 years ago from Upstate New York

      Karen,

      Yes, but I am over the border in NY. I live outside of Albany, NY. Have you every been to Shakespeare and Company? It is in Lenox about five minutes from Tanglewood. If not, check it out. One of these days I should write a hub about them.

    • Karen Hellier profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Hellier 

      5 years ago from Georgia

      Mike Robbers,

      Thanks for dropping by. If you are ever in that area, the scenery is beautiful in the Berkshires.

    • Mike Robbers profile image

      Mike Robbers 

      5 years ago from London

      Nice review, Karen. I will have to agree about the cons with what has already been said in the comments. However the location seems beautiful and worth visiting.

    • Karen Hellier profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Hellier 

      5 years ago from Georgia

      Vickiw,

      Well, I have been fortunate to travel with my husband a lot over the past year for business, and the nightly rate of this hotel is better than a lot we have seen. But yes, there were some cons here. It's definitely the least expensive hotel in the area for Tanglewood visitors. I don't think they jack their prices up like most other hotels in the area do. Thanks for reading.

    • profile image

      Vickiw 

      5 years ago

      This sounds like a nice place, except there seems to be a big focus on making as much money as possible out of the visitors. The cons you mentioned are actually pretty big deals, especially the beds, when you are paying big bucks for the experience. It would be interesting, but it sounds as though deep pockets are required for this one! Good review, Karen, thanks.

    • Karen Hellier profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Hellier 

      5 years ago from Georgia

      donnah75,

      Really, 40 minutes? Are you anywhere near Pittsfield? I spend some time there each year because my girlfriend and her husband live there...and of course we always try to go to Tanglewood each summer.

    • donnah75 profile image

      Donna Hilbrandt 

      5 years ago from Upstate New York

      Great review. I live about 40 min from Lenox. There is a ton to do in the area and it is beautiful. This looks like a nice place.

    • Karen Hellier profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Hellier 

      5 years ago from Georgia

      HawaiianOdysseus,

      Well, if someone is going to spend the weekend going to concerts at Tanglewood, that's a real bargain. All the hotels which normally go for $80 - $200 per night in that area jack their prices way up. It's absolutely ridiculous but I guess they know they can get it so they do it. There's a Ramada Inn that we used to go to, and it's not even very nice...just bare bones, and that's $250 a night. The concerts are usually on the weekends and I looked up the cost for mid-week and there were many in the $70 - $100 range. Guess that's big business for ya! Thanks for reading.

    • hawaiianodysseus profile image

      Hawaiian Odysseus 

      5 years ago from Southeast Washington state

      Great review and beautiful pictures! $135 a night is way too spendy for our budget, however. Thanks for sharing, Karen!

    • Karen Hellier profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Hellier 

      5 years ago from Georgia

      Mhatter99,

      You are welcome. Thanks for reading it!

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 

      5 years ago from San Francisco

      Thank you for this review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)