jump to last post 1-2 of 2 discussions (6 posts)

Changing The Title Of A Hub

  1. Kent Merritt profile image80
    Kent Merrittposted 4 months ago

    I'm just wondering if I change the title of one of my hubs, will it also change the URL?
    Or is it better to just delete the entire thing and republish it with the new title?


    1. chef-de-jour profile image93
      chef-de-jourposted 4 months ago in reply to this

      Changing the title won't affect the URL, I know that for a fact. I've been told by other hubbers over the years that it's OK to change the title as long as you don't stray too far from the original. But the best thing to do in my opinion is to start from scratch - copy your whole text and start again. Publish anew. Good luck!

      1. Ramkitten2000 profile image95
        Ramkitten2000posted 4 months ago in reply to this

        I disagree. The URL of a hub really isn't that important. URLs used to be more important as far as SEO goes, but these days the title and the content of the page is MUCH more important. Really, I wouldn't worry about the URL. Change the title as you see fit.

        Another thing to be cognizant of if or when you unpublish/delete a hub is checking to be sure your content has not been stolen (a/k/a plagiarized, scraped). If it has, you'd need to deal with that first, before removing your original article, if you have the intention of reposting it. Otherwise, the stolen copy or copies will pre-date yours and become "the original." Just a word of caution there.

      2. Marisa Wright profile image92
        Marisa Wrightposted 4 months ago in reply to this

        If the Hub has been in existence for more than a few weeks, I disagree strongly with that advice!

        The URL of your Hub isn't that important.  Once upon a time, it was very important to have your keywords in the URL but nowadays it doesn't matter - and in fact, Google may even penalise pages that have "keyword-stuffed" URL's. 

        So change your title as often as you like and don't worry about the URL.  When you delete a Hub that's already been shared on Facebook or received comments means that you waste that goodwill, which is valuable.

    2. Sherry Hewins profile image96
      Sherry Hewinsposted 4 months ago in reply to this

      If you have built up any traffic or links to your hub, you will lose all of that if you delete it. Not usually a big deal if the hub is new.

  2. Kent Merritt profile image80
    Kent Merrittposted 4 months ago

    Very good point, Ramkitten. Thanks! I'm not exactly sure how you go about checking for stolen content, though.