Coloured note piano method

1. mmsteer profile image61
    mmsteerposted 15 years ago

Id like to tell you my experience as a piano teacher of how using coloured noteheads has revolutionised children's learning. Yes, to a point this is a info-mercial because i have published it, but actually my motivation in publishing it was not commercial but a wish to see children's experience of learning music transformed in the way it has been for my own pupils.
    My background is a broadcast composer /writer (hundreds of productions for BBC) & Head of 20thC Studies at the Junior Royal College of Music. The intermediate steps by which I became a rural piano teacher in Wiltshire UK need not feature here, but they included an increasing disenchantment with the discourse of professional music. When I was approached to teach a child in the village where Id moved I realised this was a perfect opportunity to put all the 'child-centred' ideas Id evolved at the RCM but which simply didnt fit in that high-pressure environment.
    I began to advertise that I taught without exams & over the next few years pulled in a range of interesting parents who all didnt want their children to be schlept throu the exam racket. About 6 years ago my music program Logic introduced coloured noteheads, so I experimented by using them with an extremely dyslexic pupil, and the effect was immediate. I then intro'd them to all my pupils, and the effect was immediate there too.
    So I thought this has to be the mega discovery of this century. And you know what? Not one teaching colleag or publisher was remotely interested! I thought I must be viewed as a complete madman if nobody would take my word that it made the difference of night & day to beginner's experience & progress. And then I realised the awful truth – most teaching colleags & publishers simply dont care! As long as they make money sticking in the same tired old grooves theyre happy.