I'm in the wrong line of work.

Jump to Last Post 1-10 of 10 discussions (18 posts)
  1. WryLilt profile image88
    WryLiltposted 13 years ago

I've only seriously started learning about SEO, affiliates and making my own hosted sites in the last year. It's both harder and easier than expected but I get by.

The other day someone posted a link of someone they knew offering 2-3 page websites for $250. Always one to say what I think I pointed out that I could probably raise a basic site in an hour or two, for a cost of $20. I was quickly corrected and admitted that I must not have the same coding knowledge or background - I am a newbie after all.

Yesterday, someone asked me to do a quick check on a site bragged about by a friend. Neither asker nor friend had much internet knowledge so I said I'd do a general check.

A half hour search led to the knowledge that someone had paid (at least) $1100 for a website where there was little more than 500 words of text, ten low quality directory backlinks and a half dozen photos and a contact page.

A closer look revealed that it was a simple wordpress theme, with all text and content provided by the buyer of the site (with no SEO at all).

Up till now I didn't realize that people would so willingly fork out huge amounts of money for a generic basic web presence - one that I could probably do in half an hour if the content was handed to me on a plate like this had obviously been.

I guess I'm just sitting here in amazement at the fact that something I taught myself  with a bit of googling and a few questions could easily sell for thousands an hour to people who have no knowledge of the internet.

1. Marisa Wright profile image85
      Marisa Wrightposted 13 years agoin reply to this