jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (4 posts)

Do you have advice on how to give a dog eyedrops?

1. Truckstop Sally profile image61
    Truckstop Sallyposted 6 years ago

Do you have advice on how to give a dog eyedrops?

My woman's best friend has been diagnosed with a corneal tumor . . . and I am not good with ay kind of medication.

2. Jlbowden profile image91
    Jlbowdenposted 6 years ago

I have a pet Bijon who on ocassion suffers from eye allergies. I usually pull her eye up and back towards one corner.  Than I use Visine A allergy eyedrops and go ahead and squeeze two drops into one eye, than repeat the same for the other eye.  I than take a cotton ball and blot the eye gently or it can air dry. So you can try placing eye medication in your best friends dogs eye, utilizing the method I just mentioned using Visine as an example. Most likely the corneal eye drops will also be in liquid form as well and should have to be refrigerated while not being used.  Hope this helps you out somewhat with your question.  Good luck.

3. AC Pawelczyk profile image60
    AC Pawelczykposted 6 years ago

This is sneaky, but totally necessary in some cases.  I have a cattle-mix who is very high energy and refuses to sit still...

I wait until he's sleeping and place the drops in the corner of his eye and then wake him up.  When he opens his eye, the drops go in (I do my own and my children's from the corner, too).  Later, when he dozes off again I do the same thing.

Hope this helps, and good luck with your woman's best friend smile

4. BrantleyFoster profile image59
    BrantleyFosterposted 6 years ago