ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Crayola Pencil Crayons Review And Demonstration

Updated on July 16, 2011

Crayola Colored Pencil Crayons

Crayola coloured pencils.
Crayola coloured pencils.

Crayola Coloured Pencils

Crayola color pencils have been the most recognizable pencil brand since I was a kid and often at Christmas time without fail I'd recieve a pack of crayola pencils that I'd almost obliterate them by being busy colouring stuff.

As I got older and more experienced with adding colour to drawings I soon found out how to blend colours great with crayola pencils and not scribble with the pencils, instead I found that it looks much better when you try and colour in neat and tidy like.

As with any good quality art brand you soon branch out into other products like felt tip pens and art markers to diversify your art, but even to this day I have stuck with crayola pencil crayons for their ability to adapt to most paper surfaces and the blend-able factor that I have come to admire and be an expert in.

Crayola coloured pencils come in packs of varying numbers and I often buy the larger packs as they have more colour range with inbetween colours of the primary colours Red, Yellow and Blue.

As a little demonstration of crayolas blendable pencil qualities, here is a few black line drawings that I coloured with some Crayola pencils, so you can see the quality results that these pencils can achieve, of course the full range of colouring effects you can achieve are beyond this hubpage, so look for a further hubpage exporing some creative colour effects of the Crayola Color pencils.

Also see - Crayola Twistable Color Pencils

Also I have a quick video demonstration of blending some fire colours for flame with Crayola Coloured pencils, which just gives a small tip or two below, so check it out.

Crayola Colored Pencil Examples

Crayola coloured pencil drawing examples, which gives you a quick example of what you can do with the crayola pencil range.
Crayola coloured pencil drawing examples, which gives you a quick example of what you can do with the crayola pencil range.

Blending Fire Colours With Crayola Coloured Pencils Videos

Crayola Pencil Crayons To Buy On Amazon

Further Crayola Art Product Demonstrations

 As something more to add to the Crayola art range I've started to do a few art demonstrations using some of the Crayola art products as they are cheap and classic art materials to use for any art projects.

Crayola Crayons Halloween Pumpkin - This one I demonstrate the crayons from Crayola on a pumpkin drawing with some effective results.

Crayola Supertips Flaming Skull Color Demonstration - I use the Crayola Supertip markers to add color to a flaming skull drawing that I created.

If you find these demonstrations useful, then please let me know and I'll create more of them.

Crayola Coloured Pencils

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • PersonalPencils profile image

      PersonalPencils 

      7 years ago

      I agree Crayola colored pencil is the best.. I used its every time so I guarantee its good.. and its cheap.. great hub..

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      7 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      I definitely will report on this, maybe an update to this review, as I too like the cheaper Crayola products, the crayons, coloured pencils and the supertip markers are the best.

      Cheers Kristina!

    • profile image

      Kristina 

      7 years ago

      That's great that you haven't noticed fading, I'll be interested in what you find when you look at your filed away drawings. I like to support a company like crayola that offers nice items for cheap rather then ones that charge an arm and a leg for 12 colored pencils. With three little ones, I just can't justify the expensive kind. Love you reviews, thanks!

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      7 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Thanks for the comment!

      I've never noticed that fading with the crayons occurs, although I will have to view my older colored works I've filed away for a definite view.

      Crayons from Crayola are still a great medium for artists.

    • profile image

      Kristina 

      7 years ago

      Thanks for the great review!! Since you have been using these pencils so long, I am curious whether you have noticed any fading in your earlier works of art? I sometimes wonder if this obsession society has with lighfastness is silly.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Thanks Marie!

      I always buy 5 or 6 packs a month as they are used frequently for colouring.

    • Marie Dwivkidz profile image

      Marie Dwivkidz 

      9 years ago from UK

      I always treat my kids to a pack of Crayola in the Christmas stocking. They are a great compromise - accessible price and rewarding quality and results - far better than many packs of kiddy art materials which look great and then disappoint. Oh, and then I get to use them too! Good hub wayet!

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Thanks Sweetie!

      I'm finding I'm doing more and more videos now with my flip camera than ever and it's great to do some drawing ones as it is far clearer than when I used to just use my webcam.

      I'm going to update that video, with the full coloured version of all the flame and fire around the skull...nearly finished it actually.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Wow! what a comment!! Cheers Robert!

      I do plan to go through some crayola colouring techniques with laying colours over another and cross hatching lines of different colours together etc on another hubpage, as this would enforce this hubpage a bit better.

      I recently found a load of packaged illustration board just laying around in a dumpster, so I took it and because of the great quality of it I have started to do a graphic novel with this.

      Crayola pencils are just great for me, but I do have other pencils which are more high end than crayola, but I always come back to Crayola...

    • SweetiePie profile image

      SweetiePie 

      9 years ago from Southern California, USA

      I am enjoying your coloring technique and YouTube videos Waynet. Good job!

    • robertsloan2 profile image

      robertsloan2 

      9 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      Good review of Crayola colored pencils/pencil crayons. They are the highest quality scholastic colored pencils I have ever tried. For artist grade, Berol Prismacolor Verithin are quite reasonably priced and have a similar hardness.

      Crayola are very good for tonal shading, as you demonstrated in your video. It's possible to get excellent precision with them and full heavy coverage, it just takes more layers and more pressure on the burnishing layers than when using artist grade colored pencils.

      The most economical artist grade colored pencil is Koh-I-Noor Progresso Woodless. In the USA you can get a set of 24 online at Blick for $10.99 -- and each one has five times the pigment of a normal artist grade colour pencil because they are woodless. They are sturdy, lacquered and hard to break. They do sharpen to a fine point and have medium softness comparable to Faber-Castell Polychromos or Blick Artists' colored pencils.

      So these are very good for filling in large areas and as themselves for any use. The color range in the 24 color set is good for just about anything with mixing.

      Up in Canada, the Laurentien colour pencils are excellent. I have a set of 60 of those and also a set of 12 double-ended ones that I like a lot. Neither Laurentien nor Crayola state anything about lightfastness though.

      This may not matter a bit to someone doing a graphic novel. If your originals are intended to be scanned or photographed and printed, archival quality is a matter of quality prints with archival inks and paper. Store originals in black archival storage boxes and use good paper so that it doesn't yellow.

      That way if your book is so popular that they want to reprint it in ten or twenty years, you can get the originals re-scanned with the technology of the day and they'll still be good. Either that or just be sure to back up your digital originals because the cheaper way to produce so many beautiful artworks is to use normal illustration board or Bristol, much cheaper than museum board, and Crayolas or Laurentien instead of artist grade colored pencils.

      It depends on your purpose for the art whether lightfastness is an issue or not. If you sell originals, it's important to be honest with the buyer about the materials you used and whether or not they may be fugitive. They may still want to buy it but will be able to better care for it if they know to protect it from light rather than display it framed on the wall.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      That is true, but I always have to use the cheaper pencils as they are more accessible, although I do have a couple of Prisma verithin packs for best and some good Derwent pencils too, although I haven't tried the Rembrandt line, so I may have to check them out.

      I've been using Crayola pencils for years and just seem more set in my ways of using them.

      Thanks for your comments Pamela!

    • Pamela Laird profile image

      Pamela Laird 

      9 years ago

      I must say that crayola does not hold a candle to the rembrandt line or the prisma verithins but for a young and beginning artist I believe they would be the least costly and also work very well. Thanks for the demo and the idea for a post.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)