ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Martha Stewart's Encyclopedia of Crafts Book Review

Updated on July 21, 2013

Martha Stewart book pages and my personal crafts

cover of Martha Stewart's Encyclopedia of Crafts
cover of Martha Stewart's Encyclopedia of Crafts | Source
A page of the book showing mosaics
A page of the book showing mosaics | Source
Mosaic cement stepping stones I make for my garden. Using tiles, seashells from beach visits and sea glass from craft stores. Lay the design on the ground or draw it out and then I push them into wet cement.
Mosaic cement stepping stones I make for my garden. Using tiles, seashells from beach visits and sea glass from craft stores. Lay the design on the ground or draw it out and then I push them into wet cement. | Source
a page from the book of the Shell crafting
a page from the book of the Shell crafting | Source
a page from the book of of paper crafts
a page from the book of of paper crafts | Source
an example of the papercrafting, rubberstamping I do using Stampin Up products.
an example of the papercrafting, rubberstamping I do using Stampin Up products. | Source
a page from the book covering wreath making
a page from the book covering wreath making | Source
a page from the books showing baby gifts
a page from the books showing baby gifts | Source
rubberstamping on a project in my kitchen
rubberstamping on a project in my kitchen | Source

This Crafting Book is a Necessity!

I want to offer a personal review of Martha Stewart's a huge book on all types of crafts. This is perfect for the holidays, particularly when one enjoys making gifts while saving money. I love this fully illustrated book with tremendous details and lists of supplies needed. It is an awesome book, and I feel it is an excellent book for any crafter. It has more templates to copy than most craft books offer. There are 416 pages overflowing of images, crafts. The tools and materials in the back of the book are a visual aid to all the indispensable glues, cutting tools, and everything else needed to craft any project in her book.

I am also referencing this hub and book in my Go Green to Help the Environment Gifting for the Holidays, (an exclusive title) and in 10 Best Gifts for Crafters. Again, it is comprehensive for the theme and for the holidays.

Martha Stewart is truly the guru of crafting and self sustaining business ideas. This book gives one the opportunity find the crafts you find personally appealing.

Mosaics. I have always had a passion for mosaics. I love the idea of reusing broken objects that would normally end up in the trash. I added a picture of the mosaic cement stepping stones I create with tiles, seashells from travels and sea glass (craft store). I have some broken precious moment figurines I intended to use too.

Seashell art is another cool crafting technique. I put them in my mosaic designs too. Cover tabletops, yard art, mirrors, trays and backboards for kitchens and bathrooms. This is a highly personal craft with uniqueness found in every artist. Most artist studios that produce mosaic work are also available for commissioning specific requested works.

Paper crafting is my personal top favorite. I work on mine every week.

Memory boxes or shadow boxes are a visual poem that represents a person, place or thing with little trinkets, images, word and special touches that bring each individual box to life. I love the idea of building boxes filled with treasures. This is a great "how to" guide and covers specimens like butterflies, shells, and traveling. My favorite to create are for babies, couples and children. It is a special gift for grandma and grandpa, little memory treasures, filled with keepsakes.

Beading, I never knew how special beading was until I found this book. The flowers and lettering are useful for adorning so many things. Hairpieces, shoes, packages, Christmas trees and jewelry. I highly recommend the book for this section.

The nature crafts are green crafting and gifting, all in one. Flower pressing, flower printing on fabrics to fall decor using acorns and leaves. I have tried the Sun Print paper with botanicals from my yard and garden. The intense blue background is my favorite color. Adding a little writing with the white sunbathed image, is a personalized way to illustrate each image if you like. The gift tag idea, your receiver will never throw it away. They are too pretty to trash.

The candle making section is a bit more extensive and covers many holiday ideas. Items I have crafted with are the bees wax sheets to create candles. I even add paper craft around the base in holiday colors, to add to holiday decorations.

Clays have endless crafting possibilities, there are a few to get you started in here,


Wreaths and Baby Crafts

Wreaths, the section is in the back of this book. I have her crafting books that are just on wreaths. Both are great to get you started, in magnificent detail.

Baby crafts, one of my favorite.I remember making those wooden hangers with rub on decals. They were so pretty.

The last picture with me in action doing the Stamping Up (c). I love making cards for people. I even gift tags and note cards. I put real pretty labels on the food items I gift at Christmas. In Martha Stewart's book, the paper crafts are divided up throughout the book.

Paper Crafts and Quilling

The last picture with me in action doing the stamping up. I love making cards for people. I even gift tags and notecards. I put real pretty labels on the food items I gift at Christmas. In Martha Stewart's book, the paper crafts are divided up throughout the book.

There are simple invitation and holiday Cardmaking ideas. The custom envelopes are really decorative. One of my most common things to do with paper is the cutting and punching. Punching saves a lot of time, while adding a lot of character. I have an owl punch that allows me to punch all the pieces in one shot, stamp it with ink or water color it and assemble it till it looks like a friendly owl. Cutting paper in great detail is a bit more of an art form and the how to is in this book. I think that is a big benefit.

Paper flowers have become a big trend this year and into 2012. I love them. You can make them out of coffee filters, card stock paper, crepe paper, and tissue paper. Each style creates a unique look and all the methods are covered in the encyclopedia.

There is a very detailed section on Quilling paper.with a shapes glossary.

How to make a baby bunch on Martha Stewart

Martha Stewart Crafting Clay Tutorial

Martha Stewart Seashells Crafting Part 1

Martha Stewart Seashells Crafting Part 2

A Crafter's Must Have Encyclopedia

5 stars for Martha Stewart's Encyclopedia of Crafts

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Georgie Lowery profile image

      Georgianna Lowery 4 years ago from Slaton, Texas USA

      This is interesting. I've been a little more crafty than usual lately, and I think I just may have to have this book. Thank you for the review!

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Thank you Georgie Lowery. This is the perfect time of year for crafting. I am using a few of the ideas in the book now, to make Christmas presents and to add to my baby shower business product line. There are so many possibilities in that book, hours of fun.

    • Lipnancy profile image

      Nancy Yager 4 years ago from Hamburg, New York

      Thanks. I did not know that Martha Stewart had a craft book. I have someone in mind that I may but this for.

    • Marketing Merit profile image

      C L Grant 4 years ago from United Kingdom

      Looks like a fab book!

      I enjoy quilting and am always making things. I find the sense of achievement when you complete a project to be a wonderful feeling.

      More often than not, crafting is not as difficult as it first appears and all you need is a little know-how.

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Thanks Marketing Merit. There are some fabric projects in the book too. I am trying to reduce the amount of things I do creatively, to be able to complete the ones I love to do. I get too excited about all the possibilities. It is time to focus a bit more. So good advice from you to me!

      I know what you mean about the difficulty levels. If I am not clear on something, I search for videos. Sometimes a little visual beyond a book, makes it an easier craft project to do.

    • eHealer profile image

      Deborah 4 years ago from Las Vegas

      Great hub Bridalletter, the photos are magnificent. I am sending this to my GF who loves Martha, I mean she follows everything. Thanks for all your hard work!

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Fuller 4 years ago from Southern Illinois

      Martha is one of my favorite people. I love all of her products. Thank you for sharing...

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Thanks ehealer. She may already have the book. I know I was buying everything Martha when I started watching her tv shows. I splurged and bought her holiday magazine today.

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Good to hear always exploring. She is a lot of fun to watch around the holidays. Thank you for commenting.

    • mary615 profile image

      Mary Hyatt 4 years ago from Florida

      I am a great admirer of Martha Stewart! I wrote a Hub "What does Martha Stewart have that I don't have?" Check it out when you have some time.

      This woman amazes me. She is so talented. I'd love to have this book to go along with my other books. I subscribe to Martha Stewart Living, and just love that.

      I voted this Hub UP, etc. and will share.

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Hi mary, I read that hub of yours. I enjoyed it and relate to it. I wish I could produce the high quality she does in her creations. Very inspirational. You would love the book, I am shocked it is not in your collection yet. Always glad to hear from another creative person, thanks.

    • L.L. Woodard profile image

      L.L. Woodard 4 years ago from Oklahoma City

      Thanks for your review of Martha Stewart's Encyclopedia of Crafts. It sounds like it is a wellspring of ideas and inspiration. One thing you can always say about Martha is that she creates quality stuff.

      Glad I discovered this hub; voted up and Shared.

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Thank you L.LWoodard. I would like to make my creations look as good as hers. I love the book and reference it a lot. happy crafting!

    • Gail Meyers profile image

      Gail Meyers 4 years ago from United States

      This is a nice hub full of great craft ideas. The only one I have really tried so far is making a mosaic with my daughter. You have given me plenty of great ideas to try. Voted up and useful.

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Thank you Gail Meyers. Mosaics are one of my favorites to do and decorate outdoors. I am looking forward to working on more stepping stones this summer. Glad to share some crafting inspiration!

    • Vinaya Ghimire profile image

      Vinaya Ghimire 4 years ago from Nepal

      Crafting is not my cup of tea but I know some people who are cray about crafting. I will love to gift this book to them. Thanks for this great review.

      Cheers

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Thanks vinaya ghimire. It is a great gift. Their is a wide range of craft projects covered in this big book, so lots of fun for the right person.

    • mary615 profile image

      Mary Hyatt 4 years ago from Florida

      Just reread your review of Martha Stewart's craft book. May I link this Hub into mine on Martha Stewart? Thanks in advance, Mary

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Thank you mary615 for commenting and yes you may link to my hub. I do appreciate your support.

    • moonlake profile image

      moonlake 4 years ago from America

      I have some of Martha's books and I enjoy all of them. I will have to get this one. Nice hub voted up.

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Moonlake, have you seen the new special edition cupcake magazine out right now? It looks like a worthwhile magazine to pick up too. Her craft book is wonderful. I use and reference it every time I create gifts for people and for some crafts I am not as familiar with completing. The instructions are very detailed of course.

    • MarieAlana1 profile image

      Marie Alana 4 years ago from Ohio

      Wow! It seems like it is such a great book! The Martha Stewart Seashells Part 1 is really funny. Who would have known? Rosie does crafts. Great hub!

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Thank you MarieAlana1. I have not attempted that seashell craft on trash cans yet, but I have on flower pots and in my cement mosaic stepping stones. I know what you mean about Rosie, that was exactly the reason I had to include that one!

    • Au fait profile image

      C E Clark 4 years ago from North Texas

      Martha Stewart always has great ideas for classy crafts and food and everything else! Her magazine is tops too! Expect I have her book that you've reviewed. I have about 60 lineal feet of craft books, and that's a lot. I'd be surprised if Martha doesn't have at least one in the bunch.

      Brenda, I'm so sorry to read about your brother and I want you to know I will keep him in my prayers. I hope he's better since you wrote about him on your profile, and on his way to recovery.

      Going to share this hub with my followers.

    • bridalletter profile image
      Author

      Brenda Kyle 4 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

      Thank you au fait. I know what you mean about the craft books. I have a bunch too. Thank you for they prayers, we will need them to get through the chemo and radiation starting next month.

    Click to Rate This Article