jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (9 posts)

How do I craft a ring? (jewellery)

1. Stickypony profile image76
    Stickyponyposted 5 years ago

How do I craft a ring? (jewellery)

Christmas is coming and I'm thinking of creating jewellery for my girlfriend. I'm going to make shrink plastics earrings, but I also want to create a ring for my love. What should I think about when crafting a ring? I'm feeling a bit lost here.
    I added a photo so you can understand the type of ring I want to craft. I won't make it a cupcake ring but there will be some sort of animal on top of the ring. I will be using polymer clay to craft the figure. I'm no beginner when it comes to arts and craft, I do sculptures and draw each day, it's just that I'm clueless when it comes to jewellery.

2. purl3agony profile image98
    purl3agonyposted 5 years ago

Great idea!  You should be able to buy an adjustable ring band in the jewelry section of most craft stores (like the one in your photo) or online.  Then you can mold or sculpt your animal out of polymer clay, bake it, and glue it on the face of your ring with superglue or maybe epoxy.

If you wanted to use a little nicer ring, you could buy a ring of your choice (say in the jewelry dept of a department store).  Then either remove whatever decoration is on the ring or craft your animal to fit on to the ring, bake it, and again glue it in place.

Good luck!  I'm sure your girlfriend will love it!

1. profile image0
      calculus-geometryposted 5 years agoin reply to this

They also make some metallic clays similar to the polymer clays, but you have to bake the metallic type in a small kiln I think.

2. Stickypony profile image76
      Stickyponyposted 5 years agoin reply to this

That's just great, found so cheap rings now, crazy cheap. But how dose these adjustable ring bands work? I'm guessing by the name I can adjust the seize? smile thanks for your help!

3. purl3agony profile image98