jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (17 posts)

Amazon Rips me off as AFFILIATE AGAIN

1. MikeNV profile image73
    MikeNVposted 5 years ago

I wanted to test my affiliate links. So I had a friend log on to one of my sites.  Click through on a link.  And then buy something cheap from Amazon.

I have been an affiliate marketer for more than 10 years now, it's how I make my living.

I checked to make sure the cookie had been set.

No credit for the sale.

Typical big company ripping off an affiliate Again.  Not the first time.

So if you think that Amazon is a great way to make money think again.  It's bad enough they only have a 24 hour cookie, but to not credit sales on a fresh browser refresh and a verified cookie that's inexcusable.

1. Lipnancy profile image95
      Lipnancyposted 5 years agoin reply to this

Jimmythejock is right. It was my understanding that you will receive commissions on every other  sale in Amazon. Try it again and I am sure the result will be better.

2. kgala0405 profile image86
      kgala0405posted 5 years agoin reply to this

I wouldn't recommend that you do this.  This type of practice is against the terms of service for the Amazon Affiliate program.  If Amazon were to figure out what you were doing they could ban your account. You agreed to these TOS when you signed up for your account.  Here is a link for reference:  https://affiliate-program.amazon.com/gp … agreement/

If you read section 7 you will see that they don't pay out for this type of practice.

I wouldn't be surprised if Amazon is using IP tracking software rather than cookie placement.

Maybe you misunderstood me,I meant to say tell his friend to try again. I know as affiliate you cannot buy from your own links.

1. kgala0405 profile image86