how do you read the "revenue potential" ?
for instance if it says $$$ what is that inferring ?
$$$ is pretty good. I believe the highest I've seen is $$$$$.
I'm not sure what earnings range each $ stands for, however you can look up your keyword phrases at google.com/keywords to get a better idea of what they pay.
But, make sure to only take into consideration 25% of Google's CPC (cost per click). For example, an advertiser might pay a dollar per click, but you'll probably only get around 25 percent of that, google will get the other .75 cents.
And don't forget that hub pages get 40% of your page impressions.
This makes CPC some way from what you get.
The formula would be something like:
CPC x 0.25 x 0.6
So, in the long run, if your site had a google ad that had a cost per click of $100, you would average $15 per click.
Note: Although hubpages publish their cut, google don't. It is an estimate from industry experts.
So taking into account the fact a click on your site has a 40% chance of being credited to hubpages account your average return per click is roughly 15% of what the advertizer pays.
Yes, but HP doesn't take 40% of each click. Just the impressions. Every click you get will still be about 25% of Google's CPC, you just will only have the CHANCE for getting clicks 60% of the time. Likewise, HP will only have a chance of earning for 40% of the impressions.
That formula could be incredibly varied. I think it might work better for determining your potential earnings over time for a hub, but not per each individual click.
this is helpful info thank u. Im new too and Im trying to figure out to make money on hubpages.. Im jotting down little notes to make sure I do the small things right.
Glad to see you are giving such good advice on Hubpages and earning girly_girl. It sounds like a lot of people here can learn a thing or two from reading your posts and hubs.
Oh! Thanks a lot! Now I understand the principle of earning per click.
Girly_girl09 I agree totally.
That is why I said "in the long run". The formula stands true for large numbers (hundreds if not thousands of clicks) and is representing your share of the total revenue generated by your work.
As you rightly pointed out hubpages takes 100% of the revenue when their adsense code is displayed. Due to the "luck of the draw" your actual revenue share will only approach the 60:40 splint after a large number of impressions.
We should remember that our hubpages statistics records all page views, not just the ones with our affiliate code. Our 'Effective Page Views' would of course be 40% less.
by Jenn7 years ago
I was reading somthing about hubpages telling you your revenue potential for a hub. Where do you find that tool? Is that what the score is? I am pretty new here and still learning. Thanks
by kmackey328 years ago
Whats it mean when it says the Revenue Potential is $$$$$? Is that good?
by Mikeydoes6 years ago
Well this is frustrating, In light of finding out that my adsense and analytics aren't working properly. I'm wondering if it ties into the fact that my Hub stat's revenue potentials are all blank as well?I...
by Glen8 years ago
In the Hub Metrics for each hub, is Revenue Potential based on the keyword, or how many Amazon/Ebay capsules and products you have (or perhaps how many you should have)?
by guidebaba8 years ago
How to make good, wise and clever use of "Revenue Potential" Data.I have observed that the more links I add to a Hub, the revenue potential drops. Lesser and Very Relevant Links works best and takes the Hub on...
by Tricia Mason6 years ago
Hi Looking at 'stats', can anyone tell me what decides the 'Revenue Potential' for a hub, please?Thanks
Copyright © 2017 HubPages Inc. and respective owners.
Other product and company names shown may be trademarks of their respective owners.
HubPages® is a registered Service Mark of HubPages, Inc.
HubPages and Hubbers (authors) may earn revenue on this page based on affiliate relationships and advertisements with partners including Amazon, Google, and others.