jump to last post 1-16 of 16 discussions (16 posts)

How comfortable are you to call yourself a writer?

1. Cindy2011 profile image58
    Cindy2011posted 7 years ago

How comfortable are you to call yourself a writer?

I've noticed when socializing that people expect me to have published a book if I'm calling myself a writer. It leaves me feeling awkward, then annoyed at myself not being more confident in myself.

2. agvulpes profile image86
    agvulpesposted 7 years ago

I agree with you! Even though I have been on Hubpages over 2 years and have published over 50 hubs I still cannot bring myself to tell people that I am a 'writer'!
    I believe and state that I am an 'observer' and a 'publisher' and to do these things I must 'write'.   However this is only part of the job.  Does this make me a 'writer'?

3. Sweetsusieg profile image83
    Sweetsusiegposted 7 years ago

I have been a writer of sorts for years but it wasn't until Dec. 31 of 2010 that I felt I could finally call myself a writer.  I have written 2 books but neither of them were published, one was stolen from my home and the other was eaten by my computer.  Though I had written, I didn't quite feel like a writer.

What was the change?  I finally received compensation for my work.  I think that was the turning point for me.  All of a sudden I felt validated, I earned money doing what I love.

I think it's the need for validation that we all have to feel confident enough to declare ourselves.

4. Seeker7 profile image95
    Seeker7posted 7 years ago

Don't worry about people like that they obviously don't know the proper definition of a writer. Next time, give a nice smile and point them in the direction of the nearest dictionary - even better point them in the direction of Hub Pages.

5. peterxdunn profile image59
    peterxdunnposted 7 years ago

I usually say something like, '...oh yeah - and I do a bit of writing as well...'. Then I tell 'em what to google.

6. suncat profile image58