How to find web hosting provider of copyright infringing site

Jump to Last Post 1-5 of 5 discussions (9 posts)
  1. Susan Ng profile image91
    Susan Ngposted 7 years ago

    Hi. Another one of my hubs has been copied verbatim with all the pictures, and I need help in determining the copyright infringing site's web hosting provider. (The site administrator has ignored my polite requests to have my article removed.) This is the reply I got from GoDaddy who I thought to be the site's hosting provider after doing a WHOIS search:

    "Although the domain name MARKETINGBYRAJ.COM is registered through GoDaddy, the website itself (which is separate from the domain name registration) is hosted elsewhere and we have no control over the website or its content. Any issues regarding the content of the website will either need to be addressed directly to the owner of the site or to the web hosting provider (who should be in a position to assist you with your concerns).

    To determine who the web hosting provider is, you can use a publicly-available tool like This tool will give you the resolving IP address which can then be compared to's ( IP allocation database. This will give you the relevant information for the true hosting provider."

    I don't know how to do what's suggested in the second paragraph. sad Help? I would really appreciate it. Thanks.

  2. prettydarkhorse profile image63
    prettydarkhorseposted 7 years ago

    Hi Susan, Kumusta, Did you file DMCA already?

  3. Susan Ng profile image91
    Susan Ngposted 7 years ago

    Hi, prettydarkhorse. Yes, I have. Sent it to GoDaddy and Google Adsense. GoDaddy tells me that although the site is registered through GoDaddy, they are not its web hosting provider so they have no control over the site's content. sad

    1. prettydarkhorse profile image63
      prettydarkhorseposted 7 years agoin reply to this

      If you sent DMCA already, then wait for two to three weeks, it will be fine.

    2. Marisa Wright profile image98
      Marisa Wrightposted 7 years agoin reply to this

      If you've already sent it to Adsense, be patient.  They're usually pretty good, but the result isn't instant!  It can take a week or two.

  4. ilmdamaily profile image60
    ilmdamailyposted 7 years ago

    OK, time to don the black hat...

    He's probably trying to sell, follow it to the logical conclusion. He's probably got a paypal account somewhere in the equation.

    Make a (ahem "fraudulent") fraud report against his account. Paypal go f*cking nuts about this all the time. Having a paypal account locked is way too easy...

    Probably doesn't fix the problem, but at least you get some revenge?

    Black hat off now. Hope it helps!

    1. Susan Ng profile image91
      Susan Ngposted 7 years agoin reply to this

      Haha! That's funny. But seriously, I believe that what goes around comes around so your "suggestion" is out of the question. Hehe. tongue

  5. SiddSingh profile image60
    SiddSinghposted 7 years ago

    Susan Ng,

    Use this URL -

    According to this tool, marketingbyraj.con is hosted by, and the IP address is

    Here is a link to the result of the query -

    1. Susan Ng profile image91
      Susan Ngposted 7 years agoin reply to this

      Thanks for taking the time to help, but I think I'll just chill for now and let Adsense take care of it. smile


This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

Show Details
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)