Do any other teachers out there see overparenting as a problem?

Jump to Last Post 1-8 of 8 discussions (8 posts)
  1. JerryTillotson profile image60
    JerryTillotsonposted 8 years ago

Do any other teachers out there see overparenting as a problem?

I'm a high school teacher in the capital city of Vermont.  I believe that one of the biggest challenges facing our teenagers today is the effect that overparenting is having on them.  I have students who can't problem solve and have expectations that don't correspond to reality because their parents work overtime to not let anything bad happen to them.

Do any other teachers identify with this perception?

thanks,

Jerry

2. infoebooksonline profile image59
    infoebooksonlineposted 8 years ago

I am not a teacher but totally agree with you.  Children learn by experience and if they are not allowed to experience the good and the bad how are they going to make decisions.  My daughter is a teacher and I know she shares those thoughts too.

3. pippap profile image85
    pippapposted 8 years ago

I'm not a teacher either; but, I agree with you also.  I would also like to add the small twist that I think that not only do parents try to protect their children from bad things too much; but, they also don't make them accept responsibility for their actions.

Children don't learn the lessons life is supposed to teach them if they never have to accept responsibility for their actions - good or bad.  I also feel that their conscience doesn't develop to the point that it should if they never have to face and observe the consequences of their actions.

I used to tell my daughters:  "If you are caught doing wrong and end up in jail - call me.  I don't want to worry about where you are; but, then settle in for the night because I'm not coming to get you."

4. jonihnj profile image70
    jonihnjposted 8 years ago