jump to last post 1-9 of 9 discussions (9 posts)

Is online schooling as good as traditional schooling?

1. JenJen0703 profile image82
    JenJen0703posted 6 years ago

Is online schooling as good as traditional schooling?

2. Jonesy0311 profile image60
    Jonesy0311posted 6 years ago

I have nothing but good things to say about online schooling. I have been an online student for about three years and hope to have my BA degree completed in a little more than a year. My wife is a traditional student who pays higher tuition and fees while battling traffic every day to get to school. Online schooling is great for working adults. But please, make sure the university is both nationally and regionally accredited. There are a lot of diploma mills out there. If you want a licensure program (law, nursing, psychology) be sure the program is accredited by the appropriate state or national agency. I have known several people who have completed nursing programs only to discover that the state board of nursing would not grant them a license. If you are getting a law degree (JD) online, you are wrong. There are no accredited law programs available through distance learning. Psychology is also a touchy subject and many schools (Argosy, Walden, etc.) offer non-accredited Ph.D. programs which are not approved by the American Psychological Association (APA).

3. StephanieBCrosby profile image85
    StephanieBCrosbyposted 6 years ago

Of course. Like any form of education, it comes down to what the student/learner puts into it.