jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (9 posts)

How would you improve American education at the classroom level?

1. suzettenaples profile image90
    suzettenaplesposted 5 years ago

How would you improve American education at the classroom level?

What specifically would you do to improve the education for the twenty-five students in your fictional classroom?  Your answers can run from the philosophical to the pedagogical to the real.

2. profile image0
    Sunnie Dayposted 5 years ago

As a retired school nurse I watched teachers struggling with 25 students, having to follow all these mandates placed on them, taking away much from any imaginative things they may like to do with their students. I would combine some of the subjects such as writing a paper, using the spelling words for the week, and penmanship, a topic on history, all in one paper. Leaving more time for exsperiments, hands on learning, utilising some of the more mature students to help the others struggling...Time constraints is such a biggy...I respect teachers so much as much of what they would like to do is out of their hands..Thanks.

suzettenaplesposted 5 years agoin reply to this

Excellent idea - I have taught writing this way and it does work!  I am also retired from teaching.  It was a great run, but I'm glad to be retired!

3. Rosana Modugno profile image85
    Rosana Modugnoposted 5 years ago

Give more homework, more reading and writing, daily journal writing (I was given this in NY public school system and if it wasn't for that, I wouldn't have learned English), and higher pay for the teacher.  smile

Very interesting answer - I can agree with this!

4. LupitaRonquillo profile image81
    LupitaRonquilloposted 5 years ago

To improve the real life education of people I would implement a mandatory Financial Awareness class so people would truly learn how to prevent getting into high debt with credit cards, invest, plan for retirement and save money.