ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

District 9 Movie Review

Updated on November 28, 2013

District 9

District 9 a great film.    Image copyright Wingnut films. 2010.
District 9 a great film. Image copyright Wingnut films. 2010.

District 9 - Better Than I Thought!

When I saw a few trailers of District 9 a few months before it was released, I thought this films was going to be average and that for a relatively low budget film, it was going to be good, but just a cult classic film that would just fly past, well what followed recently when I actually watched the movie was a great roller coaster ride of a film and I enjoyed every part of it, as the story unfolded from the beginning, I thought god I hope they don't keep using this news format all the way through the film and thankfully they didn't, it just added to the story by delivering the main story sort of after the fact when all of the events take place in the film.

The story is about an alien spaceship that becomes stranded on earth in South Africa and a few million aliens are given a place to stay in their own part of town, sort of like alien refugees and they start to live as a separate community for the next 20 years trying to fit in with the humans, but they don't that well with local criminals controlling most of everything and the local government only interested in getting their weapons to work as only the aliens can make them work because they are biologically engineered only to work with alien DNA.

And so when our main charcter comes into contact with this black substance which turns out to be some kind of spaceship fuel so that they can get their massive mothership operational and the cylinder of black stuff sprays in his face, slowly turning him into one the aliens which are called prawns, because they look like prawns, you soon find out that the aliens just want to go home, but they are trapped because of their ship.

I liked how the film makers made you feel sorry for the aliens and then you felt like all the humans should die, because of the way they treat them and some do die in brilliantly gory fashion with exploding heads and bodies with some of the powerful alien weaponry, District 9 was one of them films that I thought I wouldn't like that much, but it jut snowballed into a really enjoyable film as there are lots of things for everybody here, there's a love story at the heart of the story, there's aliens that are neither bad nor good, just really neutral, instead of the alien invasion type scenario it's more like an intergalactic refugee camp and there's guns for the military types.

All in all I liked this film very much and you could see the main character developing through the film, as he started out as a follower, someone who just fitted in with all the other humans, but by the end of it he turned into a real hero killing all of the bad guys which are the humans.

Disrict 9 is for fans of the science fiction genre although it may not be for everyone, it's worth checking out!

Don't forget to watch the movie trailer below....

Buy District 9 From Amazon

© 2010 Wayne Tully

District 9 Movie Review

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      ruffridyer 

      7 years ago from Dayton, ohio

      I wonder, if someone spilled gasoline on the alein would he turn into an earthling? Other than that I thought the film was excellent. I am expecting a sequel in 3 yrs when the alien returns. The man turning from a silly bureucrat to a more human person while becoming an alien was real genious.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yep it was a good film for sure!

    • profile image

      Nancy's Niche 

      8 years ago

      I will be checking it out since I'm a sci-fi fan...

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yes there was exploding soldiers aplenty in this one and they exploded well I thought hahaha!

    • Sarah Horth profile image

      Sarah Horth 

      8 years ago from Seattle

      Great splatter shots too - I didn't expect to laugh so much. And it had a racism subtext - fantastic!

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers Sarah and Ethel!

      Twas a great film and with some black comedy too, I liked the bit where the main character was a bout to cut his birthday cake but because he was infected by the alien stuff, he had a slow motion voice that just said "Cut some cake! and that just had me in stitches.

    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      Good review but not for me

    • Sarah Horth profile image

      Sarah Horth 

      8 years ago from Seattle

      My fav film for 2009 :) I didn't expect it to be so amusing!

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      I liked it alot. great film!

    • robertsloan2 profile image

      robertsloan2 

      8 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      This one sounds great!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)