ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

G.I. Joe : The movie

Updated on July 18, 2013
G.I. Joe movie poster
G.I. Joe movie poster
G.I. Joe member Snake Eyes
G.I. Joe member Snake Eyes
Sienna Miller portrays Baroness
Sienna Miller portrays Baroness
Rachel Nichols portrays G.I. Joe's member Scarlett
Rachel Nichols portrays G.I. Joe's member Scarlett
Cobra member Baroness portrayed by Sienna Miller
Cobra member Baroness portrayed by Sienna Miller

I was a bit sceptical about doing this review because there are so many bad reviews about GI Joe that I thought it was useless. But I wanted to have my own opinion about this movie so when I saw it was available on Netflix I jumped on the occasion. Besides, it might not be the best thing to rely on reviews of some other people to have an opinion on a movie. So I put this in my movies to watch list, took two hours from my tuesday night and managed to watch it. Did I end up regretting it and lose precious time in my life? You will soon find out.

The director of the movie is Stephen Sommers. For those who are not familiar with him, he brought us some good action flicks such as The Mummy movies. Having that in mind, my expectations were higher because I liked the Mummy movies, well maybe except for that Jet Li thing and The Scorpion King. Nevertheless, I was confident I was gonna like the movie thanks to the good cast of actors. Channing Tatum and Marlon Wayans as soldiers? What else can one ask for? No but seriously the actors were not as bad as everybody states. Channing Tatum is averagely good in the movie and Marlon Wayans tries to bring some humor in the movie but fails miserably. Some other noticeable actors are Sienna Miller, Arnold Vosloo and the really attractive Rachel Nichols. I never thought someone could light the screen as much as she did. No wonder Marlon Wayans was hitting on her the whole movie. Sienna Miller is also handsome in the movie but hey, we are here, in this hub, to discuss about the movie and not how hot the girls are...unfortunately. The background story and flashbacks of Snake Eyes take too much space in the movie and they didn't add any depth to the character.

Unfortunately because it didn't take me too much of my time to understand why this movie was being pummeled to the ground by so many reviews through forums. A couple of minutes into the movie and the special effects come in. Most of the time, I don't really bother with the special effects in movies. Of course, sweet special effects can add something to a movie. But in the case of G.I. Joe it doesn't help the movie not even for a bit. There are several futuristic jets in the movie and they are just badly done. I mentioned earlier that I don't mind the special effects except when you are so captivated about how bad they look that you actually miss some parts of the movie. Add the fact that I was talking to my friend of how lame it was.

The story is alright. You have the typical group of terrorists who want a special weapon in order to terrorize the world and a counter offensive special unit that we never heard about who has the mission to recover the weapon. There are some high points in the movie though. Some action scenes are nice to watch, especially when they put on their accelerator suits. Another particular scene, which you can see in the trailer, is when they attack the Eiffel tower.

Finally, I enjoyed this movie more than I expected. The reviews were so bad that it lowered my expectations for the movie. Usually, I try not to listen to other reviews when I want to watch a movie. Later on, I went to check on internet if there was a sequel for the movie and to my surprise, there is!! It's expected to come out in 2012 and Dwayne ''The Rock'' Johnson will start in it. It will be difficult to make a movie as bad as this one so hopefully the second movie will be better.

My final rating is 2,5 / 5 stars!!

2.5 stars
2.5 stars

Some of my other reviews

Take a second to take a look at my other movie reviews!

Sunshine (2007)

Due Date (2010)

Grand Illusion (1937)


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • The Reminder profile imageAUTHOR

      The Reminder 

      6 years ago from Canada

      Tyler Bracken:

      I love those. My favorite is with the black who raps at the window. lol

    • Tyler Bracken profile image

      Tyler Bracken 

      6 years ago from Berlin, Germany

      The redubbed GI Joe cartoons on YouTube are a lot better than the film.. They are pretty funny too!!!

    • The Reminder profile imageAUTHOR

      The Reminder 

      6 years ago from Canada

      Stevennix2001:

      Indeed, the second they show Marlon Wayans I wondered what kind of movie this was...perhaps a comedy? What about the 3 minute appearance by Brendan Fraser? What was that all about? The director called him to thank him for The Mummy movies? lol...Anyways I am still wondering if I will have the courage to watch the second movie...with The Rock.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      I think the main problem with this film was it's obvious lack of direction. Say what you want about how bad the live action Transformers movies were, but I will give Bay credit that he at least knew how to keep the series focused on a singular goal. Meaning, he didn't try to implement too many unnecessary subplots into one movie.

      "GI Joe: Rise of Cobra" felt like they were trying to cram too many unnecessary story arc's that didn't need to be in the movie like Snake Eyes' origin for instance. Granted, I love Snake Eyes, as he's arguably the coolest character in the GI Joe cartoon series, but his origin didn't really add anything to the overall story other than it helped set up the elaborate fight scenes between him and storm shadow.

      Not only that, but the whole movie came off way too cartoonish for a live action film. Granted, the original show, and animated film, had it's campy cartoonish moments, but they were no near the slap stick level that this movie portrays it out to be. Plus, I still can't get over on how allegedly they're supposed to be the "best of the best" soldiers in the world, but they recruit an idiot like Marlon Wayans. Give me a break. lol.

      Overall though, i think if they had kept the plot more simplified and focused on one cohesive story like the "Transformers" movies were, then it would've been more well received. Of course, that's just me. Anyway, I like your thoughts on this movie, as I think you wrote a better review on this movie than I did to be honest. It'll be interesting to see how the sequel turns out, as i heard that Dwayne Johnson and Bruce Willis are supposedly in it. Anyway, keep up the good work. :)

    • The Reminder profile imageAUTHOR

      The Reminder 

      6 years ago from Canada

      By the way they are called accelerator suits...hehe. No but seriously some stuff in the movie is just pathetic. I gave it a 2.5 stars and I was generous

    • mortimerjackson profile image

      mortimerjackson 

      6 years ago from California

      Yeah, well once they started pulling out those robot suits, I was done with the movie.

    • The Reminder profile imageAUTHOR

      The Reminder 

      6 years ago from Canada

      Mortimerjackson:

      One can see it like that. I find it sad because I used to love the cartoons of G.I. Joe as a kid.

    • mortimerjackson profile image

      mortimerjackson 

      6 years ago from California

      My favorite part of this movie was when it was over.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)