ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

Layman's Review: Ludwig Van Beethoven - Symphony No.2 & No.7

Updated on November 14, 2007

Introduction

This is the latest in my Layman's Review series on Classical Music CDs. I do this because I love the music and I do this in an effort to help other people with an interest in Classical Music find what they might like. So without further delay, on with the review!

This is a review of Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 7, conducted by Leonard Bernstein and played by the New York Philharmonic orchestra.

Symphony No. 2 in D major, op.36:

Beethoven's 2nd symphony was written in 1802 at time he started noticeably deafening. This is not only remarkable because one would think that hearing was essential to a composer, but also because this symphony is so upbeat and merry.

1st Movement:

The first movement begins with an extended introduction starting with a bold entry by horns with strings underscoring the opening notes. This is echoed again about 20 seconds later and continues to "sort itself out" for first minute or so. It almost seems unsure where to go.

Bold themes begin to emerge again only to fall apart. After about 2 and a half minutes a very boisterous theme emerges softly in the string section and builds to a triumphant exclamation as the entire orchestra joins in. Themes then progress more or less as one would expect for a classic era symphony's first movement.

Once the orchestra is fully engaged, this is a wild and heart-pounding ride!

2nd Movement:

The second movement is slow, as is typical of most second movements of a classical symphony. It has a down tempo and regal introduction. This movement offers a soulful serenity that is a welcome break from the sometime breakneck pace of the other movements.

3rd Movement:

Beethoven starts out with a light and frolicking dance-like theme. He spends much of this movement exploring various rhythmic variations on the main theme. Again, musical passages seem to wander down one path, only to be abruptly pulled back to the main idea. This movement is a Scherzo, which is Italian for "joke", so it's not surprising that it conjures up images of court jesters dueling for the attention of the king.

4th movement:

This is the joyous finale and it is the perfect finish for such a joyful and ebullient symphony. This movement begins with a sprint and continues the pace throughout with soaring melodies and strings like birdsong.

Symphony No. 7 in A major op. 92:

Richard Wagner dubbed Beethoven's 7th Symphony "The Apotheosis of Dance" and it is indeed full of wonderful dance-like themes. This was written in 1812 and Beethoven is at a point in his composition where he is starting to use more expressive techniques that would later become associated with the Romantic period.

1st Movement.

Again, like the 2nd symphony, the first movement of the 7th begins with a long introduction. Beethoven liked to make bold statements, but he also followed them up with such exploration of musically ideas that those bold statements seem matter of fact and pre-ordained after the fact. He does this quite nicely here.

2nd Movement.

This is unlike the slow 2nd movement of many symphonies. Its theme is quickly established and has a hauntingly beautiful melody. Beethoven explores the melody fully building it up to majestic and Olympic proportions, only to tear it down and evolve into some yet grander incarnation.

In fact this movement was encored when it premiered which is quite rare for slow movements. I have read that this movement is sometimes played too slowly and sounds like a funeral march. I can imagine how it would, and I am grateful that Bernstein has avoided such temptation. This is still a playful and majestic movement, while at times somber. A very nice balance.

3rd Movement.

This is another Scherzo, and a romping one at that! Once again, it is very dance like and has elements of folk music of the time. One can easily picture people frolicking in dance at the neighborhood party.

4th Movement.

This is the culmination of the previous 3 movements. The Dance themes really take center stage in this movement. There are strong elements of Hungarian Folk dance themes, and a very boisterous and grand galloping theme. This is Beethoven at his best -big and bold.

Conclusion.

I would recommend this CD for anyone looking to add something from Beethoven to there collection. The music is upbeat and pleasant; where some of Beethoven's other music can be dissonant or melancholy. These symphonies are not quiet and meditative. They are loud and boisterous. They are a celebration and get the blood pumping. This would be good background music for a loud dinner party.

The production quality is superb and, as I mentioned previously, Leonard Bernstein does an excellent job conducting.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • John Sarkis profile image

      John Sarkis 7 years ago from Los Angeles, CA

      The slow movement of the 7th is really awesome. I love the way it was used in the movie: "The King's Speech"

    • Nickny79 profile image

      Nickny79 9 years ago from New York, New York

      You should put a few youtube clips of these pieces in your hub. Nice work.

    • rchj98 profile image

      rchj98 10 years ago from Longmeadow, MA

      Nice review! Short and not too technical for the average person. Thanks!

    • M. Beck profile image
      Author

      M. Beck 10 years ago from Parts Unknown

      My work here is done ;-)

    • profile image

      ink 10 years ago

      I am a musician, albeit not a classical one. But this kind of review is far more helpful than a load of technical stuff, thanks to your descriptions like, "There are strong elements of Hungarian Folk dance themes, and a very boisterous and grand galloping theme. This is Beethoven at his best -big and bold."

    • M. Beck profile image
      Author

      M. Beck 10 years ago from Parts Unknown

      Thanks for the comment, ink!

      You're exactly the kind of person I wrote this hub for. So many classical music reviews discuss specifics about tonality and notes used and the like, but that sort of analysis doesn't usually appeal to non-musicians. I've also had a difficult time deciding what to buy in the past, so my hubs like this one are my attempt to help others in that situation.

      -M.

    • profile image

      ink 10 years ago

      Thanks! Very informative. I've never seen music dissected and reviewed like this before. From the perspective of someone who likes a fair bit of classical music, but doesn't know what it is he likes, I found it really interesting.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)