Do I need to attribute public domain photos?

Jump to Last Post 1-4 of 4 discussions (5 posts)
  1. Sam Montana profile image62
    Sam Montanaposted 4 years ago

Do I need to attribute public domain photos?

Hi, I am new to Hub Pages from Squidoo and I have a question. I was reading about the proper way to attribute photos here and I read that if you are an apprentice, you still have to attribute photos that are public domain, so they can be verified. How do I find out if I am an apprentice or not and do I have to attribute public domain photos such as from Pixabay?

2. profile image0
    sheilamyersposted 4 years ago

Hi Sam. I've never heard the term "apprentice" used here, but I think you're referring to what used to be called "boot camp". Until you publish five featured hubs, HP looks a little closer at your hubs. I think they do that hoping people get in the habit of developing better hubs. If you have five featured hubs, you're out of "boot camp".

There are three ways to attribute public domain graphics. 1) Simply write "public domain". 2) Type in the name of the website from which you got the picture. Ex: I use some clip art from Clker.com so I type Clker.com in the source box. 3) If the site mentions who originally took the picture or the artist of a painting, type that name in the box.

I prefer to add the name of the photographer or artist if I can locate that information. Also, read through the TOS of the site you get the graphic from because some do request that you link back to their site.

1. Sam Montana profile image62
      Sam Montanaposted 4 years agoin reply to this

Thank you for the answers. I read about this in the Learning Center "A Guide to Proper Image Use on HubPages." I know that when it comes to proper attribution, it is better to be safe than sorry.

3. Tolovaj profile image87
    Tolovajposted 4 years ago