jump to last post 1-13 of 13 discussions (15 posts)

Do you like your birth-given name, or are you embarrassed by it?

1. ComfortB profile image87
    ComfortBposted 5 years ago

Do you like your birth-given name, or are you embarrassed by it?

As they say. What's in a name? If you didn't like the name you were given at birth, What would you change it to?

https://usercontent2.hubstatic.com/6653429_f260.jpg

2. Natashalh profile image94
    Natashalhposted 5 years ago

I like my first name, but I've never been thrilled with my middle name. I graduated from high school with a girl who was named Princess Diana. That was her 'first name.' And my mom works with a Lasagna, so I don't think I have too much to complain about!

3. momaoak profile image77
    momaoakposted 5 years ago

I love being named Alanna-even if it is never pronounced correctly. My middle name sounds a bit hick with my first name-Alanna Kaye-but it is a family name and I wouldn't change it for anything. My parents worked hard to find a name for me and I am proud of it.

4. craftybird profile image89
    craftybirdposted 5 years ago

I absolutely love my first name (Afton), but my maiden name was horrible so I couldn't wait to change it! big_smile I think a person's name really reflects who they are and who they'll become.

5. teaches12345 profile image95
    teaches12345posted 5 years ago

I am comfortable with my name.  It is a typical of the time I was born, although I have seen some comeback lately.  My parents let my siblings name me.  I guess I have to thank them anyways.

6. 34th Bomb Group profile image60
    34th Bomb Groupposted 5 years ago

I'm very pleased with my given name, although this wasn't always the case. My first name, Patricia, is for my Dad's sister who died unexpectedly a few years before I was born. I'm "Patti" and that "i" still causes problems - too bad.