ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Forks Over Knives Recipe Reviews

Updated on August 20, 2014

Eat Yourself Healthy

Forks Over Knives Recipes
Forks Over Knives Recipes

Forks Over Knives Recipe Reviews

My wife and I recently (2 years ago now) watched the incredible documentary Forks Over Knives and it dramatically changed our health and out lives. We are sharing our real time progress on that page so i won't get into too much detail here, instead, this page is for specific feedback on the recipes from the Forks Over Knives cookbook.

One of the pledges we made to ourselves was, that if we have to eat like rabbits, then we would rather die fat and happy than live miserable and hungry. The good news is that, thanks to these recipes we don't miss meat at all and neither will you.

The Tasty Way To Be A Vegetarian

vegetarian recipes
vegetarian recipes

Becoming Vegetarian

Our biggest hesitation about becoming vegetarian was the food we imagined we would have to eat. A lifetime of living on lettuce leaves and soup was not something that either of us was prepared to do. Fortunately the recipes in the Forks Over Knives cookbook saved us from such a horrific future. Our aim in sharing our personal experiences with these recipes is to get you to change your life too and improve your health.

Vegetarian Lasagna Recipe Review

Vegetarian Lasagna
Vegetarian Lasagna

Forks Over Knives Lasagna

Raise the roof sweet potato vegetable lasagna
When you hear lasagna, you think meat and cheese. Even though this lasagna does not have either, it does not disappoint. The tofu feels like meat and all of the other vegetables provide such a diverse texture that you won’t believe that you’re eating vegetarian lasagna.

That’s quite a title but it’s a meal that deserves it. This recipe was a HUGE hit at our house and it’s a great ‘transition’ meal, meaning, that if you are trying to transition over to a vegetarian lifestyle, this is the meal for you. The carnivore’s terror at facing a life of vegetable munching is that we will still be hungry after every meal, I know because I had the same fear. I lived in dread at the idea of living hungry. But this meal is completely satisfying and you won’t even notice that it doesn’t have meat in it.

Vegetarian Pizza

Polenta Pizza Recipe
Polenta Pizza Recipe

Polenta Pizza Review

A swing and a miss for us. We didn’t like this meal at all but maybe we are doing something wrong? Our polenta pizza crust came out like casserole instead of pizza crust but in the Forks Over Knives documentary we can clearly see that theirs looks like proper crust. We found another recipe that involved baking the crust differently so standby for updates as we give that a shot. I am addicted to pizza so getting this recipe right is VERY important to me

Breakfast Recipe

forks over knives breakfast
forks over knives breakfast

Rip's Breakfast Bowl

Two thumbs way up. BIG win here, this is our standard breakfast now. I personally have never had a sweet tooth and my standard fare was usually shredded wheat with bananas so this was right up my alley. Unfortunately for my wife she was a breakfast cereal sugar junkie so I expected the transition to be tough for her. Surprisingly she converted easily and loves this stuff.

Tofu Dip Recipe

Spinach Dip Recipe
Spinach Dip Recipe

Vegetarian Appetizer.

Skip it. We didn’t enjoy this at all.
If you have tried this and liked it, please let us know. As with all the recipes in the cookbook, we always try our own variations as well as the ones in the book so maybe we’ll find a variation of this meal that we like.

Vegetarian Burrito Recipe

healthy burrito recipe
healthy burrito recipe

Mexicali Burrito

Very tasty meal, highly recommend it. Mexican food is our favorite so we were a little skeptical about this being satisfying for us but it won us over immediately.
Our Variation: We like to mix two or more kinds of beans in burritos, my personal favorite being pinto with kidney or black but you can really use any kind of beans you want.

Healthy Muffin Recipe

muffin recipe
muffin recipe

Blueberry Oat Breakfast Muffin

Split decision here

The wife likes these, I was ambivalent towards this dish. However, I have never really liked muffins, cake or just about any other dessert so take that into consideration along with my feedback. As far as desserts go, these were OK I guess and suspect that most of you will like them.

Healthy Soup Recipe

forks over knives soup
forks over knives soup

Chilled Avocado Soup

BIG Thumbs Down

I didn’t personally try this soup because I was off sailing but the wife is a HUGE fan of avocados and she thought this dish was disgusting (her words not mine). If you have tried this and liked it, let me know!

Watch The Documentary

Forks Over Knives [Blu-ray]
Forks Over Knives [Blu-ray]

This documentary will change your life, your health and the way you think about food. Eat Better, Feel Better will become your daily mantra and you will be thankful for it.

 

Kale & Potatoes

mushrooms and kale
mushrooms and kale

Mushrooms, Kale and Potatoes

Tasty AND Healthy

The directions for the recipe were fairly easy to follow, but the one thing that seems to be consistent with all of the Forks Over Knives recipes is the lack of seasoning, so I seasoned the potatoes while they were boiling instead of waiting until everything got mixed in one pan. It was really difficult to stir everything in the saucepan, and if I would have known that there was going to be so much food, I would have cooked the mushrooms, kale and onions in a pot instead so I would have plenty of room to add the potatoes. I may have lost fewer vegetables over the edge of the pan and I would have been able to mix it better. When all was said and done it looked really bland and gray. I do think that it could have used some red peppers or tomatoes to give it some color, but it tasted much better than it looked. It would be best in a tortilla or pita wrap with tahini or some other sauce, but it was okay on its own.

Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead

Learn how this Australian man, who's health was EXTREMELY bad, learned how to heal himself through the power of juicing. I'll be the first to admit that I have always thought that juicing was some kind of weird cult activity that I never understood. Well I was 100% right because I didn't understand it at all until I watched this documentary.

Everyone that is serious about better their health or improve their diet needs to watch this movie. It follows several people with various degrees of health issues, ranging from minor to extremely serious, and documents their staggering transformation back to health.

Although I'm still not a big juicer (I don't have one on my boat where I live) even after watching this powerful film, it did completely change my opinion about including juices as an important part of a healthy diet.

Watch The Documentary, Read The Book

Have you watched (or read) Forks Over Knives?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • GetitScene profile imageAUTHOR

      Dale Anderson 

      4 months ago from The High Seas

      I have been meaning to hunt that book down so thanks for the reminder. What is your favorite vegan meal?

    • GetitScene profile imageAUTHOR

      Dale Anderson 

      4 months ago from The High Seas

      The dietary guidelines they talk about in the movie and the recipe book are quite interesting and worth looking at. My wife and I have made such significant changes to our eating habits for years now that we often forget to even buy meat. We are still addicted to cheese though.

    • Kenna McHugh profile image

      Kenna McHugh 

      4 months ago from Northern California

      My daughter is vegan and we have a great time finding new recipes. Another cool book is The China Study, which shares Forks Over Knives philosophy.

    • RTalloni profile image

      RTalloni 

      4 months ago from the short journey

      Thanks for sharing the info and some of your experience with the recipes. When we really grasp the fact that good food is good medicine we take a giant step forward in taking care of these bodies we have been given for the season of their life. It's quite a study to look back at what the so-called experts have said about food in the past and see how far we've come in true understanding of what the food industry has done to our health.

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 

      3 years ago from Peru, South America

      Yes, p,ease let me know about the cauliflower crust!

    • GetitScene profile imageAUTHOR

      Dale Anderson 

      3 years ago from The High Seas

      Gross lol. Still haven't gotten it right but there are different types (or preparations) of polenta and we just haven't found the right one yet. Been distracted by making cauliflower pizza crust. I'll let you know how that turns out.

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 

      3 years ago from Peru, South America

      We loved the "Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead" documentary and do more juicing since then. I´ve never read or seen "Forks Over Knives" And now you have piqued my curiosity. How did the polenta pizza turn out?

    • GetitScene profile imageAUTHOR

      Dale Anderson 

      4 years ago from The High Seas

      I liked it because I read it when I was starting out as a vegetarian and it had more than just soups and salads. I have been lax in updating it because, for some bizarre reason, Forks Over Knives doesn't ever want to seem to season any meal ever for any reason. But it was a GREAT starting point for understanding non-meaty meals and many of them are genuinely delicious. I think I'll add alternative recipes along the side or something maybe? Not sure yet.

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      4 years ago from Houston, Texas

      It would seem that you gave a thumbs down on more recipes than a thumbs up and yet overall you liked this book. Perhaps you should write another hub with several of your really great recipe ideas that you have learned. That vegetarian lasagna looks and sounds delicious!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)