jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (4 posts)

Is the food you eat when traveling more or less healthy than you typically eat a

1. Written Up profile image74
    Written Upposted 5 years ago

Is the food you eat when traveling more or less healthy than you typically eat at home?

2. Li Galo profile image76
    Li Galoposted 5 years ago

I'm a travel writer and my three kids travel with me all over the world.  I have eaten well in the middle of the desert, the middle of Wyoming (an isolated land mass), in Mexico, in Canada, overseas, in the Middle East, in the Far East, etc.  When you're on the road for 4-6 months at a stretch, like I am, it's crucial to feed your children well because (a) you DON'T want to be sick far from home and (b) it's an injustice to cheat your child of a healthy diet for their growing bodies. 

To maintain balance, have proteins, vegetables, and grains, in the same proportions you normally eat them at home.  This assumes, of course, that you normally eat them in healthy proportions. It's true that in some places, I won't find organic foods, as I prefer to eat.  However, that doesn't mean I won't find farmer's stands on the side of the road with fresh fruits and vegetables, that I can't visit a meat market for fish caught a few hours prior, or to choose modest priced restaurants (over fast food) that serve healthy choices, like grilled meats with vegetables or salads.  In some areas, my kids have learned to eat foods that are very different from what we serve in America, such as in places with spicy foods or where people eat foods less common in the states, like octopus.  Because of these food experiences, my kids associate travel with new food adventures and look forward to it.  So, yes, it's always possible to eat well on the road.  Like at home, it's merely a choice.

3. Chef Damien profile image60
    Chef Damienposted 5 years ago