jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (7 posts)

Has the Medicated chid thing gone too far?

1. Penny G profile image73
    Penny Gposted 3 years ago

Has the Medicated chid thing gone too far?

Do you think that ADD, Hyperactivity disorder  in children is too often  a quick diagnosis to make the class room more manageable  and a quick fix rather than the work that must go into behavior modification. Some call it a fad disease. What are your feelings about medicating children and the long term effects . DO you think this may cause them to be dependent on medication in their adulthood, rather than dealing with life?

2. Torrs13 profile image95
    Torrs13posted 3 years ago

I have long been an advocate of not medicating children unless it is absolutely necessarily. I got my undergraduate degree in human services, I'll be done with my master's degree in psychology with a concentration in child and adolescent development in the spring, and I have worked with children in all sorts of settings, including schools and behavioral health clinics. I guess you could say that I've seen it all, especially a lot of children who have been diagnosed with ADHD.

After taking psychopharmacology trainings and courses, I can definitely say that I think children are overmedicated. I think adults are forgetting that children are children and that means they are going to have a high level of energy. A five-year-old constantly asking questions and running around the house is normal behavior.

One of the biggest issues I have with these medications is the fact that they mess with the child's brain. The younger years are so important to development and some of these medications have serious side effects. Also, I've seen parents give extra meds when they don't think one dose is doing the job, so children often aren't getting even what the doctor prescribed.