ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: World War Z: An Oral History Of The Zombie War

Updated on May 20, 2010

World War Z

World War Z An Account of first hand encounters with the undead in a zombie apocalypse of the world.
World War Z An Account of first hand encounters with the undead in a zombie apocalypse of the world.

World War Z Book Review

Without a doubt one of the best books I read last year was World War Z, which is a fictional account of a zombie apocalypse and worldwide war of the zombies, the book was so riveting I think about it even now, bits and pieces of the book must have been thought out by someone with common sense and actual realism, I often have this image in my mind of zombies walking on the ocean bed killing whales and other little fishes like in the book.

The books story is so written in a style that you'd think the accounts of eye witnesses and other reports were actually real and with an outbreak that is first heard of in China which some dismiss as other things entirely, there are some interviews from survivors of the zombie war which seems to have happened over a ten year period.

The best bits of the book is the reaction to the first outbreak, which in typical film style is covered up and the governments try to forget about it or don't treat it seriously and this sounds totally like today's society when we worry about swine flu, but then when something bigger comes along like a zombie virus we'll just shrug it off as just even swinier flu, as some of the best zombie films that spring to mind, the way us humans react in different ways is what is explored through the zombie hordes arriving on the west of Europe and mainland America and because the Chinese authorities covered it up, no one knows about it, so it caught everyone off guard.

The story is about piecing together all the survivor accounts which are like little stories that make up the whole of the zombie wars history and this way of telling the story was something that really engaged me to read every word as you wanted to read what happened to individuals who got caught up in the beginnings of the zombie outbreak and even in the middle of the undead armies of zombies.

The author Max Brooks examines the key players quite well I thought and their struggles with doing the right thing and the governments failings which echo what could actually happen if this was real, and all the research adds to the story of military safeguards and other stuff you would either have to have worked there or done alot of homework which the author has obviously done in depth.

The book is a really good read and one that I may read again at some point just to see if I missed anything, overall the story was the most fascinating story and it was like a real life account that occurred a couple of years ago, I know there is an audio book too which I ordered for Christmas, so if you are into zombies and want to read something that isn't your standard story with lead characters and want to look into a potential alternate universe where the zombies engulfed the planet the check this book out!

World War Z Book - Buy It On Amazon - It's A Brilliant Read!!

Or Buy The Audio Book Of World War Z

World War Z Review Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • EJ Lambert profile image

      EJ Lambert 

      5 years ago from Chicago, IL

      I know I'm late to the party. With the movie approaching I just started reading this book. I have to say it is a remarkable piece of work. How the author is able to get so many different perspectives from different angles and yet never lose the linear timeline of the story is impressive. The stories are deep and engaging and the voices of the characters easy to identify with.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      It's a corker that's been made into a movie now too! cheers now!

    • Charlie Koch profile image

      Charlie Koch 

      6 years ago from Portland, Oregon

      Thanks for the review! I'll be reading this one soon

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yes I believe the author Max Brooks wrote another zombie book the zombie survival guide as it is referenced in this book too, so it look as if he has done his research into zombie history and made it blend with reality fairly well I thought.

      Cheers M T Dremer!

    • M. T. Dremer profile image

      M. T. Dremer 

      8 years ago from United States

      I've been interested in this book for a while now, but I wasn't sure how the author handled it. I like the concept of conveying the war through first hand accounts. By the sound of it, he is taking elements from several different versions of the zombie lore to create a kind of source book for all things zombie. I look forward to reading it!

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yes this book was a great read and the way you read the story is unlike anything I've read before and you can piece everything together with all of the witness and survivor accounts and it all makes sense, a very well thought out piece of fiction which could have been real...I was nearly going to buy a shotgun on ebay ready for the zombie apocalypse!!(even though you can't buy fire arms on ebay...lol!)

    • robertsloan2 profile image

      robertsloan2 

      8 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      Oh that sounds fun! Nice change from all the zombie movies. I like them, but the idea of doing them in a novel is going to be a kick and a half.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)