ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

House of Night Series: Book Review

Updated on February 24, 2016

House of Night Vampyre

House of Night is a series of books, following on in the style of the popular teenage books about Vampyres. Ever since Twilight the latest vampire movie, hit our screens, we seem to be going slightly mad over everything Vampire. Since then there have been books about Angels, as in Fallen By Lauren Kate, and of course we have the wonderful Vampire Diaries written by L.J. Smith. So when I picked up the first book in the House of Night series, I felt sure that I was going to be carried along on a smooth ride, with lots of nice teens and handsome male Vampires, falling in love, fighting Demons and generally doing what they normally do. Bite each other, make up, and bite again. I will be honest here, when I first saw the book sitting on the counter my first thought was, this won't take long to read and then I can pass it on to one of my younger female members of my family. I love these sort of books but didn't really think that this one would be any different to the rest.

Well, let me tell you, I was so wrong.

Marked

The second that I started to read the first book in the series, Marked, I realised that this was no ordinary Vampyre book. This was different. The story grabbed me from page one and since then I have read four of the books, in fact I went to the shop and picked up as many as I could straight away. This is very unusual for me as I like to read at least half of the book before I decide to buy the next in the series. The Authors, P.C. Cast and her daughter Kristin Cast, have somehow managed to write a story that is so different from the usual genre yet is recognisable enough to capture the attention of Vampyre lovers. The story starts with a character named Zoey Montgomery, who is a normal sixteen year old school girl, until one day she starts to feel ill and to her horror realises that she is being targeted by Vampyres to become a Vampyre fledgling. The first line of the book captures you with the words:

Just when i thought my day couldn't get any worse, I saw the dead guy standing by my locker.

The Vampyres in the books are different in the fact that they are known to humans, and scientists have studied them to find out why and how they become Vampyres. Zoey knows from the second that she sees him that he is a Vampyre because of his distinct Mark on his face. He had a sapphire crescent moon on his forehead and additional tattoo patterns on his face that framed his bright blue eyes.

Zoey then hears the words that all humans fear.

Zoey Montgomery, Night has chosen thee, thy death will be thy birth, Night calls to thee, Hearken to her sweet voice. Your Destiny awaits you at the House of Night.

This is a sign that Zoey can no longer be called human, and must leave her home and her friends and take herself of to The House of Night school for Vampyres.

Characters

The characters in the books are quite unique in the fact that they include a Goddess called Nyx, who has chosen Zoey to be Marked as special, therefore giving her powers beyond her age and her abilities. She is allowed to change her name and she chooses to take her beloved grandmothers name thus calling herself Zoey Redbird, as her grandmother is named Sylvia Redbird, a native Cherokee and a wise woman. The following are her friends and allies within the House of Night.

1.Damien Maslin. An intelligent and warm gay guy, who has an affinity to Air.

2. The Twins. Shaunee Cole and Erin Bates, who are in fact not twins as one is white with blond hair and the other is Jamaican/American. They are so close they finish each others sentences and provide some of the most hilarious and brilliant one liners in any book that I have read. In fact I found myself laughing out loud to some of the remarks that they make. They also have an affinity for water and fire.

3.Erik Night. Zoey's on off boyfriend who turns into a fully fledged Vampyre.

4. Stevie Rae.This is Zoeys best friend and most trusted companion. There is a very poignant and sad part of the story when Stevie Rae succumbs to the rejection process that some of the fledglings go through. Not all of the Fledglings can become grown Vampyres, if their body doesn't take to the changes they will die a horrible death, bleeding from their eyes and ears, and holding their stomachs in agony. The story of Stevie Rae's death was handled amazingly. The pain that Zoey goes through, clutching her friend to her and not allowing anybody to get close enough to take her away, will make even the most hardhearted person feel a tear well up in their eyes. it was absolutely brilliantly done, and just goes to show how great these two authors are. I am not giving away any of the story here, as you can imagine, Stevie Raes demise is not necessarily all it seems.

Cats, Adult Vampyres and Ghostly Apparitions.

Along with Red Vampyres, Blue Vampyres, a High Priestess with the name Neferet, who is the leader and teacher of the House of Night, we also have the lovely story of the Cats. Each Vampyre Fledgling is adopted by a cat that lives in the House of Night. There are some lovely moments when Zoey's cat, Nala, appears whenever Zoey is in trouble, and gives her a wonderful meouw uf ouw! every time she needs to be comforted. There are so many other great characters within this story that I would like to add as they are just as interesting as those I have written about. Aphrodite, who is the school bitch from hell as the twins call her, also has some brilliant one liners. And of course there is Jack Twist, Damiens boyfriend, who is a technological wizard. And so many more. Along with magical powers, evil Demons, and of course a few pain in the butt ex boyfriends to contend with, Zoey certainly has her work cut out for her!

But suffice to say, I think that if I write any more, I will be giving away the whole story, and that's something that I don't want to do as I really believe that if you read these books, whether you are a young teenager who loves anything Vampyre, or older like me, who just loves a really good chilling read about Ghostly evil Apparitions and terrific characters, then these books are the ones for you, to keep you going on a cold black night. But I warn you, this isn't your average Vampyre teen horror, there are some really chilling moments in this story, in fact I even felt a chill go down my spine when I was reading about the first sighting of the Red Vampyres. But I will not give the game away, only to say, make sure that you leave a light on, and check your windows before you go to bed. You never know, you might just hear a tapping at your bedroom window!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 5 years ago from England

      Thanks Mr Love, lol! yep vamp! they are great books too! thanks for reading, cheers nell

    • Mr Love Doctor profile image

      Mr Love Doctor 5 years ago from Puerto Rico

      So is a Vampyre a vampire or something related? I may look into these books. Great, detailed review!

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 5 years ago from England

      Hi, bookofawesomeness, lol! they are good aren't they? I am glad you liked my review, can't wait for the next one in the series! nell

    • profile image

      bookofawesomeness 5 years ago

      Ok i know im a bit young to read this series but 10 isn't to bad any who i just died reading these books im done destined and im waiting for the next one and stark is awesome!;-)lol

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 5 years ago from England

      Hi, John, I don't mind the Twilight series, but the House of Night is so much better, along with the Morganville Vampires. They would both be a great film or series, I agree, in the old days vampires were slightly boring, but now they are so much more interesting, thanks again nell

    • John Sarkis profile image

      John Sarkis 5 years ago from Los Angeles, CA

      Great hub...I've seeing all the "Twilight" series, but did not see the last one that came out. There's something sensual about vampires which attracts people. Furthermore, in older folklores and such, vampires were monsters, but in current films they're usually attractive young people, so it has changed a bit from the old days...

      Voted up

      John

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 6 years ago from England

      Hi, Shweta, they are good, aren't they? thanks so much for reading my review, much appreciated! cheers nell

    • profile image

      Shweta wadekar 6 years ago

      i liked ur series of house night i'v read first three books and are quiet interesting

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 6 years ago from England

      Hi, Jlava, thanks for reading it, cheers nell

    • Jlava73 profile image

      Jennifer Vasconcelos 6 years ago from Cyberspace and My Own World

      Hi Nell,

      This review makes me wish I had more time to read. Maybe someday...

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 6 years ago from England

      Hi, BentleyMom, they are good aren't they? I also like her Goddess series too, it's nice to see an author that you can get your teeth into! lol sorry, could'nt resist! cheers nell

    • profile image

      BentleyMom 6 years ago

      When I first saw these books I was not sure I wanted to read them considering I am not a teenage, but I loved them and like you had to run out and get the ones I could find. I like that they are not your normal vamp book, so much more to them!

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 6 years ago from England

      Hi, MonkeySoup, thanks for reading it, I actually think it will be better if you read the first book in the series first, Marked. it will get you to know the characters otherwise if you read the handbook first it might be a bit confusing, good luck with it, I know you will enjoy the series, I am reading the latest one now! thanks

    • profile image

      MonkeySoup 6 years ago

      Im going to pick these up after Im through with the series Im reading now. I was wondering if you think I should read the handbook first since I havent read the other books yet.

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 6 years ago from England

      Hi, jenesmith, I loved these books, I am just waiting for the next installment! and have you taken a look at their website? it is great! thanks nell

    • jenesmith01 profile image

      jenesmith01 6 years ago from North Texas

      i love this series. i am currently on Tempted i can't wait to finish them..If u haven't read it yet they now came out with The Fledgling Handbook

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 6 years ago from England

      Hi, O.O.T.W. great to see you, I love them too! I am reading the ninth book in the morganville series at the moment and I will get withdrawal syndromes when it finishes! lol I can't wait for the next House of Night, and I love all the characters, thanks so much nell

    • Out.Of.This.World profile image

      Out.Of.This.World 6 years ago from England, Suffolk

      Hi,

      I have read all of the house of night series (excpet form awakened of course seeing as its not out yet) and they are honestly some of the best books i have ever read!! I am thirteen so i have read a ton of the vampire related books and i reccomend hush hush -- awesome! and the mortal instruments series as they are brilliant!! I love the morganville vampires series as well!! from the house of night, dont you just love Stark (have you discovere dhim yet?) i am sure i have a book-sized crush on him,, he's soo lovely!!!

      --Out.Of.This.World--

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 6 years ago from England

      Hi, warmpumpkin, they are great aren't they? I can't wait for the next one in the series, I have just discovered another set of vampire books call the morganville vampires! after all the other rubbishy copies, this series is nearly as good as House of Night! so if you are getting withdrawl symtoms you should check these out! thanks nell

    • warmpumpkin profile image

      warmpumpkin 6 years ago from Auburndale Florida

      I've read Marked, Betrayed, Chosen, & Untamed and loved them I am dying to read the other books in the series!!

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 6 years ago from England

      Hi, Marie-Renee, thanks for stopping by, I have read most of the new vampire type books these days, and I can honestly say that the House of Night is very much the best of a not very good bunch! lol in fact it is way above all of them and much more! I hate the Twilight films, that drive me mad! they are so boring, and the acting is appalling! even the vampire diaries books are not very good, but I must admit to loving the series! it definitely transfers to TV much better, thanks so much nell

    • Marie-Renee profile image

      Renee 6 years ago

      Hi Nell,

      Just read this hub...haven't had the time to read the hubs I follow as I have been very busy, obviously as I only have 1 hub per week I think. Anyway, you got me interested with this book, looks like I need to look for it though. I love reading too and I like vampire stories long before Twilight, True Blood and Vampire Diaries became popular...So I will look for your suggested Vampyre book and will let you know once I have started reading it. Nice hub again, as always.

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 6 years ago from England

      Hi, sammy, Yeah I have read the Divine series, well two of them! and they are great! Now I want to read another one! ha ha cheers nell

    • sammyfiction profile image

      Sammy 6 years ago from Australia

      No probs, and I am glad you have had the chance to read more :) I have a few other of P.C.'s books and she really knows how to paint the scene and a character :)

      And I agree with you - Vampire Diaries is a slight let down vs the show!

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 6 years ago from England

      Hi, sammy, yep I caught up! ha ha I love them! there are so many books out there that are of the same genre, but most of them are really bad. I think the Vampire Diaries, are really boring in the books, but I love the series, but most of the others are very much the same thing, I am reading one now, and it is very childish, there was one called Fallen, can't remember the author and that one was good, but P.C. Cast is terrific. She makes her characters so real, and more importantly grown up. They are not silly kids with a boyfriend problem, they are young adults trying to get on in the world. And for vampires that is quite hard! lol thanks so much for reading it, cheers nell

    • sammyfiction profile image

      Sammy 6 years ago from Australia

      Hi Nell, Great review!

      I had the same reaction when I first saw it in the book shelf, but can I tell you, that I can not WAIT for Awakened to come out. I loved Burned the best so far. The story is so complicated and intwined I don't know how the Cast's will finish it all up!

      I encourage you to read more of them! (If you haven't already - I am afterall a bit late to this hub!)

      Haha, thanks for your post!

      :) SF

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 7 years ago from England

      Hi, Janny, sorry it took so long to get back to you I was out all weekend, I will wait to hear from you about your book as it sounds an interesting offer, cheers nell

    • JannyC profile image

      JannyC 7 years ago

      Book sounds interesting. I do have a gulity pleasure for those types of books.Your review makes it sound worthwhile. If you need of new read should check out my book Angelic Confession its getting trial run on textnovel.com Oh that was so shameless plugging wasn't it? >_< so sorry

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 7 years ago from England

      Hi, SilverGenes, I am sure you will love these, they are addictive! the other vamypire books are quite good, but seem to be missing something, these books have what is missing! lol don't ask me what but I am stuck with them! I can't bear the idea that I only have three left to read! until they write the next one, thanks again nell

    • profile image

      SilverGenes 7 years ago

      This was great! There are so many out there that it's hard to know what's good and what isn't. I love a good one and it sounds like Marked may be it :) Thanks!

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 7 years ago from England

      Hi, I have got as far as Hunted! I started off by buying Marked thinking that it would not be as good as other vampyre books and I got hooked! I love it because it is more adult, therefore making it more real, that's the trouble with Vampyre Diaries and Twilight they always skim around the real life things, so these are much more real! the great thing about it is the fact that, because I am so behind with them I can just go and buy the next one without having to wait for them to write it! I am hooked! addicted! and my house looks a mess because I can't put them down! hee hee thanks again nell

    • rgarnett profile image

      Rachael Fields 7 years ago from KC, MO

      I got Burned when it came out, because the series is so awesome. I am assuming since you have only reviewed the one that you haven't gotten that far yet? Its definitely a quick and exciting read. Its not like most 'young adult' books, its kinda naughty in places ;P

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 7 years ago from England

      Hi, rgarnett, yeah! somebody who has read them! lol they are great aren't they? thanks for stopping by, cheers nell

    • rgarnett profile image

      Rachael Fields 7 years ago from KC, MO

      I love these books!

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 7 years ago from England

      Hi, Audrey, it definitely is more adult, loads of romance but in a threesome sort of way! lol and yes there is the s- word! so go get it, you love Diana Gabaldon like I do, so we obviously have the same taste in books, so I am sure you will like this one as I love it, you never know! thanks again nell

    • akirchner profile image

      Audrey Kirchner 7 years ago from Central Oregon

      I shall have to check that series out - I've read a bit of vamp lit and I thought I wouldn't like it. But if you add in enough romance and the s-- word, it's great! Great hub!!

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 7 years ago from England

      Hi, Ingenira, thanks for reading it, I am sure you would like the books they are certainly different, cheers nell

      Hi, Polly, I forgot you wrote a similar hub, must be the craze these days! lol I will go give Micky a quick dig for ya! thanks again nell

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 7 years ago from England

      Hi, Merlin, I am ashamed to say that I haven't got round to reading it yet, but I will and then i will be pushing for the cheque! lol seriously though, I am on the case! ha ha cheers nell

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 7 years ago from England

      Hi, carolina muscle, thanks for reading it, I don't usually do book reviews but this is fantastic, I can't stop reading them! lol thanks again nell

    • Pollyannalana profile image

      Pollyannalana 7 years ago from US

      I'm not really into Vampires either though I have a hub somewhat on this new craze of kids really bringing blood with a sucker bite, but Enrique's song made it worth it!

      I have Mickey in my newest hub but I think he missed it.lol

    • Ingenira profile image

      Ingenira 7 years ago

      Interesting review. Tempting to get some of the books... :)

    • Merlin Fraser profile image

      Merlin Fraser 7 years ago from Cotswold Hills

      Wow great reviews....!

      Can't wait until you get stuck into mine. (cheque's in the post).

    • carolina muscle profile image

      carolina muscle 7 years ago from Charlotte, North Carolina

      While I'm not really into vampires, it sounds like you enjoyed it, and its a good review!!

    • Nell Rose profile image
      Author

      Nell Rose 7 years ago from England

      Hi, Hello Hello, thanks for reading it, nice to see you, cheers nell

      Hi, Micky, you should have written a book about it! lol thanks again nell

      Hi, Valerie, these books are so much more adult than the normal ones, I was quite surprised! lol they will make a great film compared to the boring Twilight series, thanks again nell

    • valeriebelew profile image

      valeriebelew 7 years ago from Metro Atlanta, GA, USA

      Interesting. Vampires are interesting and somewhat sexy. It is the fatalness of the vampire thing, and the seduction that does it. (:v

    • Micky Dee profile image

      Micky Dee 7 years ago

      I don't read these really. I was married to a vampire once and it just brings back bad memories.

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 7 years ago from London, UK

      Thank you for these great book reviews.