ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Morganville Vampires Book Review

Updated on February 23, 2016

Morganville

The Morganville Vampires is a series of novels written by Rachel Caine. Now we all know there are hundreds of different Vampire books out there on the market at this time, so what is so special about this one? Well, the characters. They are so real, they nearly jump off the page and sit in your lap! And each and every character is so different from the usual vampire style. Don't be under any illusion. These are not just a set of books.

 The Morganville Vampires are going to set the TV or Film World alight. In fact they are so popular there are a host of Video's on YouTube where the general public fans have already decided who they want for the characters, so each Video has a different actor for each character already! I will give you some of the names that have been suggested later. but first an explanation of the story.

Claire Danvers is a student at Texas Prairie University, and she shares a house with three other teens. And a town full of Vampires. Which is strange in itself. And it gets much more bizarre.

Being the newbie, Claire is an outsider, which is not a good thing in this town as you might imagine. But the problem is not just bullying. Claire finds herself arch enemies with Monica Morell who’s fan club friends are violent thugs. They beat Claire up so badly she ends up running away and straight to the door of the Glass House, aptly named after the family who have lived there for generations.

Feeling sorry for Claire, the three teens who reside there, take her under their wing and she becomes inseparable from them. Especially Shane Collins who very quickly becomes her boyfriend. Shane has a tragic past. He lost his family in a house fire. The only survivor apart from himself, was his father, who is a violent drunk. Shane has grown up knowing about the Vampires, but that doesn't mean he trusts them, in fact he would rather stake them than pass the time of day with them. But he falls for Claire in a big way, and begins to show a calmer, softer side, unless of course he thinks Claire is in danger, then the anger comes out, and he loses control. Not only fighting the Vampires but also causing mayhem amongst the humans.

The other friends are far from normal too. Michael Glass the owner of the house is a ghost who cannot leave the house. And as the books progress, he gets brought back to life and becomes a Vampire. Michael's girlfriend and fellow housemate is Eve Rosser who is a Gothic with an attitude. She works at the coffee shop with the second in command Vampire, Oliver.

Shane Morganville Vampires
Shane Morganville Vampires

Myrnin The Mad, Bad And Very Hot Vamp!

The one big difference about this town, is the fact that Vampires and Humans live together in peace. As long as you give blood once a month to the vamp blood bank, no refusals, and wear a protection bracelet to make sure that other Vampires realise that you belong to a specific vamp. Everyone gets protected, on the condition that they co-operate with the Vampires and never question their motives.

Oh and don’t forget to wear the bracelet otherwise you may well end up as lunch. Not too bad eh? Well, maybe, but then you have to add the fact that there is always loads of violence, people going missing and nasty horrible other vamp like creatures appearing in the town.

The town is under the leadership of the head Vampire Amelie who is the founder of Morganville. What she says goes, and believe me she is one you don’t want to mess with. Oliver is her side kick. He owns the local cafe where he can keep an eye on the locals and generally cause as much trouble as possible.

But my favorite character has to be Myrnin. He is an ancient Vampire who is an alchemist trying desperately to find a cure for a vampire disease. He is also Claire's teacher. The reason for this is because Claire has proved to be one clever cookie, and after a series of incidents where she keeps sticking her nose into things she shouldn't, and getting them nearly all killed in the bargain, Amelie decided that she needed her brains to help with the job of saving the Vampires.

Myrnin lives in the lab and is a fantastic character. He is mad as a hatter, wears bunny slippers with fangs on the toes and keeps a spider called Bob. He loves Claire in his own mad way, and spends most of his time either trying to eat her, literally, or save her life. The banter between him and Claire is very funny, and Rachel Caine the Author somehow manages to make the characters so real, you find yourself laughing along with them. The two of them together have some of the best lines in the book. If they ever make it into a film, they are going to have to find a really hot, insane but totally cool guy to fill the character. That will take some doing I can tell you!

This is what Myrnin should look like. Stuart Townsend. Photo Queen of the Damned
This is what Myrnin should look like. Stuart Townsend. Photo Queen of the Damned | Source

Quotes About and From Mad Myrnin

  1. 'Follow me,' Myrnin said. ' And do stay together. And by the way, this is the last time I go anywhere with you people, you are all insane!'
  2. On being told to swear on his life Myrnin replies. 'I Will' then proceeds with the words,'frothy fool born apple john! Cheater of vandals and defiler of dead dogs!' Then he did a twirl and a bow. Then learing at the man he said, with a red grin, 'Is that what you meant my Lord?'
  3. Myrnin popped in through the portal, wearing a big floppy black hat, a crazy stylish pimp coat and black leather goves, along with a black and silver walking stick. And on his lapel were the words, 'If you can read this, thank a teacher!
  4. Typical Myrnin, he just showed up at my door one night about a week ago, and said, 'Hi, nice to meet you. Can I borrow your Crock-Pot?'
  5. Claire to Myrnin. 'Oh shut up you medieval drama queen'
  6. Claire to Eve. I'm worried he's going to do something really crazy."
    "He lives in a hole in the ground, dresses funny, and occasionally eats his assistants," Eve said. "Define crazy.
  7. Conversation about Claire. 'Take her home. And Say nothing, yes, yes, I heard you the first seven hundred times," Myrnin said, much too sharply. "I'm ancient. I'm not deaf.”
  8. Now, could you please ask these idiots to stop pointing their bullets at me? It's terribly wasteful!
  9. Breathe," said Myrnin. "I'm not much for it myself, but I hear it's quite good for humans."
  10. And before you ask, no you're not driving, Myrnin. I remember what happened the last time."
    "That accident was not my fault."
    "You were the only one on the road, and the mailbox actually didn't leap out in front of you. No arguments. You sit in the back, too.”

All Quotes Copyright of Rachel Caine

Now I am sure you will agree, the quality of the writing is exceptional. The characters are so real, it makes you feel as though you know them. And that's not a easy feat to do. Not that I would want to meet Myrnin on a dark night, unless he was wearing his vamp bunny slippers and had eaten at least three people first!

Not an official Video for the series but really good. By MoreThanPublicity

Rachel Caine
Rachel Caine | Source

A Fang tastic Read!

Along with Frank Collins, Shane's father who is intent on killing all the Vamps, we have Sam Glass, Michael's grandfather another Vampire who is a real sweety, and Ada who was Myrnin’s girlfriend but after her death, got turned into a super computer. Myrnin uses her brain to keep the town safe, provide portals between the houses, streets and Vampire strongholds, and makes the Glass house and other houses have a more or less live consciousness to protect the people inside!

Keeping up? Good! We also have Portals that skip people across town without even leaving their house, old grandma’s with their shooters ready to take someone down if the get too close, especially if they are Vampires and last but not least each and every book has a fantastic storyline that will keep you riveted to the page.

And there are a lot of pages. I am on the eleventh book as we speak!

And I think that proves how fantastic this series is. Says it all really.

The Morganville Vampire series was supposed to stop after book 12. But there has been so much demand for the story and characters that Rachel Caine has had to bow to public demand. At the time of writing this review there has been word of at least another two books. Thank goodness for that!

The books are displayed as Young Adult books, but after looking at the fan base, the age of the reader is much higher too. And I can quite understand why. The characters in the books are a variety of ages, mostly teens, but most of the Vamps are older, such as Oliver who is probably around forty years old. So not just angry teen Vampires with a grudge. And I think that's what makes the books so special.

So if you want a good book to read, and characters you can get your teeth into, sorry about the pun, then this is the book for you. Or should I say books. And a lot of them. Thank goodness.

Morganville Vampires is currently under discussion for a TV Series.

Possible Casting for Morganville include, Chase Crawford as Shane, and in my opinion he is perfect, exactly as I imagined he would look like. Myrnin - David Tennant! Never! Not hot enough! Claire is a bit of a cunundrum, nobody seems to have got a real idea about who will play her yet. And of course the very hot, very blond michael. We shall have to see. Along with Oliver and of course the Founder Amelie. It will be interesting to see who they choose. But whoever is playing the main characters, I am looking forward to watching a fantastic series of books transferred to the screen.

Copyright Nell Rose

Rachel Caine Author

Rachel Caine is the internationally bestselling author of more than 30 novels, The Weather Warden Series, The Outcast Season series and of course the immensely popular Morganville Vampires. She lives in Fort Worth Texas.

Chase Crawford is a perfect Shane Collins Morganville Vampires
Chase Crawford is a perfect Shane Collins Morganville Vampires | Source

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, kitty, these books are the best, they are so different, the characters range from teens to old and there is so much humour in them, you have got to read it! lol! you will be hooked! thanks for reading cheers nell

    • kittythedreamer profile image

      Nicole Canfield 

      6 years ago from Summerland

      Ohhh, I'm very picky about vampire novels that I read as many tend to be a "bite" off of other famous vampire novels. But this serious sounds delightfully delicious! :) Thanks for sharing. Voted up and awesome.

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, pmccray, I do agree with you, I am not a fan of Twilight, but Morganville would make a great TV program as the characters are so much better and more mysterious, thanks again, nell

    • pmccray profile image

      pmccray 

      6 years ago from Utah

      I'm old school vampire fan, the modern day vampires and werewolves have too much gore not enough mystery as the characters of old. Excellent hub, interesting subject matter. Beautifully written as usual.

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, Dabble, some of them are great others not so great! loads of books, but only some terrific ones like this, thanks again nell

      Hi, Freya, nice to see you! I am still witchy nell! ha ha thanks for reading, I will be over shortly, cheers nell

    • Freya Cesare profile image

      Freya Cesare 

      6 years ago from Borneo Island, Indonesia

      Hey! Why I don't know about this one before? Thank you, Nell! Love you! Ah, so you are one of us: the mythical fantasy books lover? Hmmm... no wonder I thought you are fit for the beautiful witch character. hehehe

    • DabbleYou profile image

      DabbleYou 

      6 years ago

      Weird story. But I guess it's what people want to read and watch these days. They now have vampire romance. harhar!!

      Great hub, by the way. :)

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, Millionaire, I never thought I would end up reading a young adult vamp book! lol! but this set of books are the best, they really do aim at adults too, thanks again nell

    • Millionaire Tips profile image

      Shasta Matova 

      6 years ago from USA

      I don't read vampire books much, but my daughter loved them. This set does sound interesting.

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, Hello hello, thanks for reading, cheers nell

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 

      6 years ago from London, UK

      Great review, Nell. I don't like reading about the competition. As long they don't move into my area and cut me don't on the bloodsupply that is alright then lol

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, kath he is cute isn't he? lol! he really is perfect for the part of shane, which probably means they will give it to someone who looks totally different! hum!! thanks for reading, cheers nell

      Hi, christopher, thanks for reading, you are gonna love it! lol

      Hi, chablis, its well worth the read, I am on book eleven so it just goes to show how good they are! lol thanks for reading, cheers nell

      Hi, tebo, I think the trouble is people presume that Vampire books are always boring, like the original bram stoker, but these days they incorporate so much more they are fantastic, I think you will love them, thanks for reading cheers nell

      Hi, carrie, I think these are so much better than twilight, read them and you'll never go back! ha ha! thanks nell

    • carriethomson profile image

      carriethomson 

      6 years ago from United Kingdom

      hey nell i loved the twilight series i finished reading it and was missing the cullens and the blacks. This is something I am looking forward to start reading:)) nice review

      carrie

    • tebo profile image

      tebo 

      6 years ago from New Zealand

      Hi Nell. A very good review. Although I haven't watched any vampire movies or read any of the books I know people who swear by them. Maybe I shall have to venture out of my comfort zone.

    • profile image

      chablis345 

      6 years ago

      I never thought I would get into the Twighlight series but I did, so am definitely going to look up the Morganville Vampires. Thanks for the review.

    • christopheranton profile image

      Christopher Antony Meade 

      6 years ago from Gillingham Kent. United Kingdom

      When they make a television series from the books, I will be the first to watch it.

    • Chatkath profile image

      Kathy 

      6 years ago from California

      Chase Crawford makes it even more interesting - Can I click it again? I'll try....

    • Chatkath profile image

      Kathy 

      6 years ago from California

      Fang tastic Nell ;-) What a great job you did on this without giving up too much - just enough to spark an interest! Up and interesting!

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, susan, thanks so much, I will be over in just a minute! lol

    • susan54 profile image

      susan54 

      6 years ago

      Nell Rose, Great job VOTE UP! You are so talented.

      I just posted my first hub come see, thanks.

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, Green Lotus, amazing that Bela Lugosi had so many fans! I suppose it was because it was a new genre and a scary one too, seems we like our Vampires! lol I love some of the vampire books, but this series really is the best, thanks nell

      Hi, CMHypno, I must admit that I don't watch that one! I know, I must be missing a really good series, but I love the Vampire Diaries the best! lol especially Damon! thanks again, nell

    • CMHypno profile image

      CMHypno 

      6 years ago from Other Side of the Sun

      Never heard of these books before, so I will look out for them Nell. But it will take a lot to drag me away from my allegiance to Eric in Trueblood!

    • Green Lotus profile image

      Hillary 

      6 years ago from Atlanta, GA

      Vampires seem to be the new sexy superheroes, but like some of us old gals, I have a hard time getting into the whole genre; nevertheless, you give us a compelling review.

      It's funny that way back when Bela Lugosi played the vampire, he was supposed to be irresistible to the ladies. Tastes in ghouls sure have changed. Cheers

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, Jeannie, its one of the best I have ever read, well worth it! and thanks for reading, cheers nell

    • Jeannieinabottle profile image

      Jeannie InABottle 

      6 years ago from Baltimore, MD

      How have I not heard of this series before? I am going to investigate this one right away. Thanks for sharing!

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, hrbunt, thanks for reading, I do love these books and can't wait for the next one! cheers nell

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, Quill, I have read loads of books in this genre, but this one definitely stands out amongst the rest, thanks as always, and nice to see you, cheers nell

    • hrbunt profile image

      hrbunt 

      6 years ago from Benson North Carolina

      Hi Nell

      I really loved Reading this post and the review is awesome.

      Your post held my interest and the music video toped it off

      Well happy bloging

      Your reader

      Roy

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, suzette, I think sometimes the authors get it right, and in this case she is brilliant, I have no idea why on earth anyone would make 'Twilight' the Movie, compared to this it is very mediocre, lol this would make a great film, all round action and I think that is the point of a good novel, thanks again nell

    • Nell Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, Cardisa, lol I know exactly what you mean! mind you if we met them in real life it may well be different! I love the Myrnin character he is so different from any other books, and I think that's what makes the Morganville Vampires so special, it is a great story, that just happens to have Vampires! thanks again nell

    • profile image

      "Quill Again" 

      6 years ago

      Hi Nell Hugs from Canada... thanks for the review I will be looking into her writing further. I ave read a few other reviews of her work.

      Blessing

    • suzettenaples profile image

      Suzette Walker 

      6 years ago from Taos, NM

      This was really interesting, Nell. I'm not into vampires, but this series sounds interesting and funny. I can't imagine falling in love with a vampire, but okay, this might be fun. When I think of vampires, I always think of Dracula, so when these handsome hunks play vampires, it does pique my interest. Thanks for another amazing book(s) review.

    • Cardisa profile image

      Carolee Samuda 

      6 years ago from Jamaica

      Nell, why are vampires always so sexy? I found the hub kind of funny especially Marnin...lol

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)