jump to last post 1-8 of 8 discussions (8 posts)

Do you participate in local writer's groups?

1. TToombs08 profile image74
    TToombs08posted 5 years ago

Do you participate in local writer's groups?

I've been looking into local writer's groups and I haven't taken the plunge yet. Do you participate in local writer's groups? And if you do, do you find them helpful with constructive feedback and encouragement?

2. msorensson profile image72
    msorenssonposted 5 years ago

I do not..I wish I have the time to do so...

3. Ciel Clark profile image74
    Ciel Clarkposted 5 years ago

I try-- I found it easier when I was a student.  Now with work and kids, it is difficult to  organize everyone to a specific time!  Much easier to "meet" online, although face to face readings are nice.  I do find them helpful and constructive criticism (especially when given gently!) is incredibly useful.

4. Pennypines profile image60
    Pennypinesposted 5 years ago

Yes, I joined a group of freelance writers some years ago, it has been the best thing both for my writing and for my interests.  The tutor was the key personality, and my great regret is that she died rather suddenly two years ago. 
    We decided to carry on, and have been successfully continuing the group.  I have published two books, written for several magazines, and even had one of my stories accepted for broadcast over the local NPR station. 
    It has done a great deal for my self-esteem.

5. TToombs08 profile image74
    TToombs08posted 5 years ago

Thank you all for your helpful answers!

@msorensson: I hear ya. Hubby said if I decide to join, he'd help me find the time to go, he thinks it's that important. smile