Anyone completed, or done, the Writer's Bureau Diploma?

Jump to Last Post 1-6 of 6 discussions (17 posts)
  1. jlpark profile image84
    jlparkposted 5 years ago

Anyone completed, or done, the Writer's Bureau Diploma?

I'm looking at it seriously, but due to financial constraints (in particular that the UK Pound is NZD $2) it being $264 (currently) which equals about $500nz, I'd like to know if it's worth it

2. thomasczech profile image66
    thomasczechposted 5 years ago

I have not done it. To be honest, this is the first time I have heard of it. I would like to have more information on it. If you can direct me into the direction where I can find more about it, that would be great.

3. SidKemp profile image93
    SidKempposted 5 years ago

I have not taken it. I read the FAQ below. I've been writing for over 40 years. From, what I see, you can learn the same at no cost, and get your materials faster, too. I don't know what type of writing you want to learn. If it's fiction, then check out books on writing by great authors. (My favorites are Ursula K. Le Guin, John Gardner, and Stephen King.) All include exercises. If you want to learn to make money writing online, the HubPages Apprenticeship Program is a great place to start. There are also excellent courses in children's writing and becoming a freelance writer.

I think that, if you search around, you will find what you want for free or for very low cost. You could even help out all us hubbers by writing a hub about what you find on how to become a better writer.

And - if anyone has tried the Writer's Bureau program, I'd like to know how it did for them.

1. Mrs Jil Manning profile image80
      Mrs Jil Manningposted 5 years agoin reply to this

Stephen King's 'On Writing' is a fantastic book for any aspiring writer.  I love his saying that the pearl comes from grit in the oyster, not from going to pearl-making seminars with other oysters!

2. bizarrett81 profile image69