ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Museum of Extraordinary Things: Review

Updated on June 17, 2015
The Museum of Extraordinary Things
The Museum of Extraordinary Things | Source

The Museum of Extraordinary Things - an extraordinary book

I imagine that many people, when reviewing a book, employ the "I couldn't-put-it-down" phrase. I doubt they always mean it. But in this case ...

Based on real (and horrific) events, this novel, which is set in New York in 1911, starts with a tragic fire and ends with another, both of which really happened within a couple of months of each other in the growing city.

Fire, freak shows and foul play

As we begin our journey through New York in the early twentieth century, we first meet Coralie. Eighteen years old in 1911, she lives with her strict and rather mysterious father who is the owner of The Museum of Extraordinary Things.

She grew up with bearded ladies, human skeletons, butterfly girls, fire-eaters and other 'freaks' who were exhibited by her father. Motherless, she was cared for by a formerly beautiful woman whose face had been destroyed by an acid attack.

And Coralie considers herself to be a freak. Born with webbed fingers, she has been trained by her father to be an almost supernaturally good swimmer who can remain underwater for hours and takes her place in the museum as the living mermaid.

The Triangle Fire

Eddie, known as Ezekiel when he was growing up in poverty with his widowed Russian-Jewish father, is a young photographer who we meet early in the book as he photographs the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire. We live his horror as he watches trapped immigrant garment workers, mostly young girls, leap to their deaths onto the Manhattan streets. (A real event in history).

Mysteries

Eddie is in the woods one night when Coralie first sees him. She has, under her father's instructions and surveillance, been taking moonlight marathon swimming sessions in the river. Her father is developing the legend of the Hudson River Mystery with Coralie at its centre.

Her life and that of Eddie's begin to come together when he is approached by a man whose daughter disappeared in the Triangle fire. Reluctantly, Eddie agrees to search for the girl. One night, when swimming to enhance the legend of the monster that lurks in the Hudson River, Coralie discovers the body of a young woman.

No-one else except Coralie, her father and his carriage driver know about the beautiful corpse (or do they?)

Dreamland

The museum is failing due to the proximity of Dreamland, the huge Coney Island attraction that draws the crowds who ignore the fading museum full of freaks and manufactured curiosities.


Coralie's father sees the corpse as a way to revive his failing fortunes.

As he loads the corpse into the carriage, he tells Coralie that she has discovered the Hudson Monster. Coralie says 'but she's just woman'.

Her father replies 'when I've finished with her, she'll be far more.'

The novel culminates during another true-life event; the horrific destruction by fire of the Dreamland attraction.

I recommend this book to you very highly.

Also recommended

This book about the Triangle Fire is fascinating

Triangle: The Fire That Changed America
Triangle: The Fire That Changed America

Reading about it in The Museum of Extraordinary Things was my first introduction to the true story of the Triangle Fire.

It's described so vividly that I needed to know more. Young immigrant girls working in the clothing industry were treated incredibly badly.

The fire, and the deaths, were largely caused by lack of facilities and safety standards in the ten-story building.

 
Dreamland
Dreamland

I have this on my wishlist and will be reviewing it soon.

This too is a novel set in the same time period. I have always found places of pleasure to have a decidedly spooky edge. That's because nothing is quite as it seems.

In fact, this is part of the reason for Dreamland being completely destroyed by fire - the structures we made of cheap but gaudy - and very flammable materials.

 
Source

More about the Triangle fire

This event was a truly horrific one and was mentioned in the book above.

It deserved its own article which you can read using the link below.

Learn about the Triangle fire

In the image on the right you see officers standing by helplessly as female factory workers - some as young as fourteen - jump to their deaths from the burning building.

See images of Dreamland and the Triangle fire

Click thumbnail to view full-size

© 2014 Jackie Jackson

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • norma-holt profile image

      norma-holt 

      4 years ago

      I thought it was a real museum LOL. Must be a great book

    • Seasons Greetings profile image

      Laura Brown 

      4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      I was interested in the book before. I've read Alice Hoffman and liked her work. But, now I think it may be too creepy for me. Restructuring a dead woman for an exhibit is really gruesome just to think about.

    • Jo-Jackson profile image

      Jo-Jackson 

      4 years ago

      Your review definitely got me interested in readng this book.

    • topclimb lm profile image

      topclimb lm 

      4 years ago

      Great lens. Really like the old black and white historical pics. Another book on my list... :-)

    • LauraHofman profile image

      Laura Hofman 

      4 years ago from Naperville, IL

      This book sounds intriguing! I will check it out soon. Thanks for the review!

    • aka-rms profile image

      Robin S 

      4 years ago from USA

      Sounds like something I'd love!

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      Ok, it's going on my list. This sounds very interesting if a bit spooky/odd! Well done review!Glad you shared it.

    • profile image

      Ibidii 

      4 years ago

      I have this book on hold from the Library on CD. I listened to her other book the Dovekeepers and it was awesome! I can't wait to read this book. I love history! Awesome review!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)