Obama in Las Vegas

Jump to Last Post 1-4 of 4 discussions (7 posts)
  1. haveittodayray profile image41
    haveittodayrayposted 15 years ago

Decided to attend a speech that Obama gave tonight at 5:30 at Cashman Stadium(a baseball stadium, holds about 12,000) in Las Vegas, where we live. My main reason for going was to see the type of crowds he is attracting and the diversity among the crowds. Since the days of JFK, when I was a freshman in college, I have voted democratic, went to a JFK ralley and wanted to try and contrast the two. Arrived there about 2pm and the main gates opened at 2:30, it was already a "circus atmosphere"a line almost around the corner, waiting for the gates to open. People that came later would have to park at least several blocks away because the parking lot was almost full already. Waiting in line with the crowds, there were at least 50 volunteers, selling t-shirts, decks of cards, towels, hats and pins, naturally everything with Obama on them. I must say they were selling well to that captive audience. And their were lots of voter registration volunteers, there also. ( and for all of you Obama fans, I bought you buttons!!) They had advertised the event, as not needing any tickets, just register on line (probably so they can solicit donations). While in line they had you fill out a yellow admittance ticket, again using part of stub, to collect your name and address and email, for solicitation later. Since I had been to Cashman Field, many times to see the Dodger Farm team there, I knew pretty much where I wanted to sit, provided the seats were not filled by the time I got there. Security went quickly for the crowds in line, no problems, they had about a dozen check points, with people going through them, fairly fast. When I finally got to the top and proceeded to the section I wanted to go too, a black lady volunteer, said that this was for VIP only and I needed to have a "Grey Ticket" to sit in those seats. (Mind you at this point, half