What is Kosher Food?

Jump to Last Post 1-5 of 5 discussions (5 posts)
  1. jimmythejock profile image85
    jimmythejockposted 8 years ago

    What is Kosher Food?

    What makes food Kosher, compared to non Kosher food

  2. profile image0
    Gusserposted 8 years ago

    Jewish version of halal food. It is the accepted foods of that religion.

  3. relache profile image77
    relacheposted 8 years ago

    How the food is produced and prepared is what makes it kosher or not.  It is a religiously-guided process, and the term itself refers to food prepared according to rules established by Judaism.


  4. Steven Jay profile image61
    Steven Jayposted 8 years ago

    Kosher, the English pronunciation of the hebrew word 'kasher', means: fit to eat.  That said, the concept of kosher encompasses many different forms. 

    Kosher can be used as a verb - to kosher - a process where blood is drawn out of meat using salt - of course the salt used is...kosher salt.  Confused yet?

    Leviticus and Deuteronomy speak, in multiple places, as to what foods can and can't be eaten.  An animal must chew its cud and have a cloven hoof.  These animals are 'clean' - but a horse is unclean, a camel is unclean, a dog is unclean, a pig is unclean.

    But, you say, what about fish and seafood?  Well, Leviticus and Deuteronomy say - the animal must swim and have fins and scales.  If not, it's unclean.  That means all seafood and shellfish and some scaleless fish (think catfish) are unclean - sorry, but shrimp, lobster, crab, oysters, clams, squid, are not part of the diet of a Jew who keeps kosher.

    The Torah also tells of which birds may not be eaten - typically, birds of prey are forbidden.  And, the Torah mentions which insects may be eaten (locusts - yum yum) and that all creepy crawly things are not kosher - or, to use the Hebrew word - trayf.   

    Now all of this gets even more complex, as there is an additional level of 'kosher' placed on animals.  Animals must be properly slaughtered - and if they are not properly slaughtered, they are declared as unclean or trayf - even if they meet the other kosher requirements.  So, if you kill a deer (a kosher animal) with a rifle, guess what? If you keep kosher, you can't eat it.  It wasn't ritually slaughtered.  And ritual slaughter is a 'kosher' thing all to itself with lots of rules and procedures.

    But wait, there's more. 

    Somewhere in either Leviticus or Deuteronomy (I don't remember) is a line that says:  Thou shalt not boil a kid in its mother's milk.  Kid refers to a baby goat.  And over the thousands of years, this poor line has been interpreted by 'the rabbis' and now entails a total prohibition of mixing milk and meat.  So, if you keep kosher, no cheeseburgers.  No chili - cheese - dogs.  No pepperoni pizza (the pepperoni isn't kosher anyway because of pork).  This milk and meat prohibition isn't as simple as it sounds.  If a food item contains any meat - that means anything derived from an animal - it can't be mixed with a food item that contains any dairy - that means anything derived from milk.  So, if you eat a steak for supper, you can't have milk in your coffee for dessert.  That breaks the rule.  Six hours must pass after eating meat before you can eat dairy.  30 minutes must pass after eating dairy before you can eat meat.  Go figure.

    Another part of kosher is the strict biblical prohibition against eating blood - hence the koshering operation by using salt (as mentioned above).  So, no blood sausage, no blood pudding, and no rare steak. 

    And, this is just the beginning.  There are all sorts of levels of kosherness - dependent upon where you insert yourself into Judiaism.  Most secular Jews could care less about kosher rules and eat anything they want.  Ultra-orthodox and Hasidic Jews spend countless hours and dollars keeping kosher.  Most other Jews fall somewhere in between.

  5. livelonger profile image93
    livelongerposted 8 years ago

    Kosher just means that it follows the rules of kashrut, or the Jewish principles regarding the types of food that can be eaten, and how they have to be prepared. It does not involve blessing; a rabbi usually oversees the process of food preparation for food that is deemed kosher, but it's not to bless anything. It's to make sure that the food meets all the rules (i.e. grain doesn't have certain insects in it, which are forbidden in kashrut; meat doesn't have any blood in it, which is also forbidden).

    The rules of kashrut are extensive and mostly delineated in a section of Leviticus in the Torah.

    Certain food is very obviously non-kosher or treyf (e.g. pork, crustaceans, rabbit; these are never allowed) and other food is only non-kosher/treyf because it wasn't prepared properly (beef, for example, must come from a cow that was not sick, not stunned, and killed in a very specific way).

    Steven Jay's answer is actually a very good description.


This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

Show Details
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)