ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

App Product Review: The Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock.

Updated on July 25, 2014

Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock.

The App icon for the Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock. I do not own and have not personally made this image. All credit for this image should be given to JESSE FOGARTY via. http://www.jessefogarty.com/app-reviews/sleep-cycle-review/
The App icon for the Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock. I do not own and have not personally made this image. All credit for this image should be given to JESSE FOGARTY via. http://www.jessefogarty.com/app-reviews/sleep-cycle-review/ | Source

What is the Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock App?

After my curiosity regarding sleep took over me, I decided to do some in-depth research around how to sleep, as well as what are the fundamentals for a good nights rest.

Now, from what I've experienced, normal alarm clocks utilise annoying sounds or loud 'beeps' to wake a person up quickly. However, this often results in the user putting the alarm clock on snooze, or even throwing it out the window if they're in a foul mood. Therefore, it seems clear to me and the designers of the Sleep Cycle App, that having annoying, loud sounds isn't the appropriate way to wake someone up.

Due to this knowledge, the designers of the App decided to use calm and peaceful soundtracks, which slowly raise you from your state of sleep, whilst full relaxing your mind. Not only does this ensure that you won't want to fall asleep again, but they have also used science in determining when it's actually best for you to wake up!

How Does The Sleep Cycle App Work?

The Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock sensors your movement during your sleep by using the iPod Touch/iPhone's accelerometer, which is conveniently built into the device. By using the information it records during your sleep, it can tell not only what phase of sleep you are currently in, but can then decide when it is best to wake you up from your sleep.

However obviously, if you need to get up around a certain time frame, you can set the alarm for the latest time you can possibly be awakened at, and then the Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock will choose a time within thirty minutes before your latest time. (Based on your state of sleep.)

Also with the 'Snooze' function that the Application has, if you feel like you need an extra few minutes resting time, the App will then select durations (based on your sleep state) as to when the soothing sounds will begin again. You can also choose from 9 different sound tracks, so that you have choice as to which sound you'd like to wake up to.

A picture of the wake up screen of The Sleep Cycles App. I don't own the image and had no part in it's creation. This image can be found via. http://www.iphonealley.com/news/sleep-cycle-alarm-clock
A picture of the wake up screen of The Sleep Cycles App. I don't own the image and had no part in it's creation. This image can be found via. http://www.iphonealley.com/news/sleep-cycle-alarm-clock | Source

The Advantages of Using The Sleep Cycles App.

There are many useful features and ideas implemented into the App, which overall make it Award worthy due to it's minuscule price! Here are some of the main advantages to using this App on a night-to-night basis.

  • Wake up at a time which suits your body clock.
  • Wake up refreshed and ready to start a new day.
  • Wake up to peaceful, calming soundtracks which come free with the App.
  • Find out how your body works overnight, using the graph that the App records your sleeping data on.
  • Never worry again about having to press snooze or reaching around to find the off button.
  • Choose your own tunes to use to wake you up in the morning.
  • Perform better during the day.

The Dis-Advantages of Using The Sleep Cycles App.

Despite the many great aspects of this App, there are one or two downsides which I had experienced...

  • You have to have your iPod Touch/iPhone right next to your head when sleeping. (However, if you turn off Wifi or put the iPhone into 'Aeroplane mode' you should be okay to put it near our head.)
  • Once or twice you may not even notice that the alarm has gone off, due to the sounds being too quiet or peaceful. (If that's the case you can use the standard alarm clock noises, which are a lot louder, but for the best effect use your own tunes.)
  • If you sleep with your husband/wife, the alarm might disturb their sleeping, because it's not the correct time for them to wake up...

Is the Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock App Worth Buying?

Absolutely! At the price of $0.99 or £0.65 if you use pounds sterling, you should definitely buy this App for your iDevices. It's a very small amount to pay for hours of great sleep, as well as being able to finally wake up on time and refreshed. Also with the data it stores on the graph, which is accessible from the 'Statistics' menu, you can see what your body was doing during your sleep.

The only downsides to this App are that you have to have the device near to your head, and underneath a light sheet otherwise it may over-heat. Plus if you forget to turn off WiFi or turn it on to Aeroplane mode, there isn't full scientific knowledge on the full effects that can have on you over a period of time.

Although, apart from that small issue, this is a great App to have when you want to reap the full benefits of sleeping, and be able to wake up with a smile on your face... Ready to tackle a new day.

My Rating of The Sleep Cycle App!

5 stars for Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock App

Great Video of a Demo of The Sleep Cycles App.

Copyright © 2012 Drspaniel/hubpages.com

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • drspaniel profile imageAUTHOR

      drspaniel 

      22 months ago from Somewhere, where the sun shines once a year...

      No, it only monitors your movements and noise whilst you sleep.

    • profile image

      Jack W. 

      2 years ago

      Does it use Internet/data if it's on all night?

    • Richard Atterton profile image

      Richard Atterton 

      3 years ago from Manchester

      This is a nice one, I am definitely trying this out.

    • drspaniel profile imageAUTHOR

      drspaniel 

      4 years ago from Somewhere, where the sun shines once a year...

      Funnily enough, it does state that it requires 5 days of usage in order to understand your typical sleeping patterns, and to adjust to other factors. Why not continue using it for a bit longer to see if anything changes?

    • profile image

      Val 

      4 years ago

      I tried this ap bec I do not sleep well and I was curious. Set it up on the corner of my bed per instructions. It was far from accurate. I woke up 5 different times, rolled over to look at the clock, rolled over again to get comfortable..... and the Ap didn't register it once. According to the Ap I had a 96% efficiency and slept through the night like a baby. What a crock.

    • profile image

      Timothy 

      5 years ago

      Does this app use data/internet the whole time during the night?

    • developformobile profile image

      developformobile 

      6 years ago

      Interesting hub, as well as the app - would certainly try it

    • drspaniel profile imageAUTHOR

      drspaniel 

      6 years ago from Somewhere, where the sun shines once a year...

      Thanks John,

      Yes this app is pretty good at monitoring your sleep patterns, even when they may not be quite as good as you'd want them to be! However, I find that when the app wakes me up, I feel refreshed and ready for the day. :)

    • John-Rose profile image

      John-Rose 

      6 years ago from USA

      Hi, I've used this app off and on for a wile. I love being able to look at my sleep patterns. On mornings when I feel bad I can go back and look at the app and sure enough it shows how bad I slept. Good hub

      John

    • drspaniel profile imageAUTHOR

      drspaniel 

      6 years ago from Somewhere, where the sun shines once a year...

      Yes, unfortunately in the event that your cat was present on the same bed as you, the app would also pick up movements made by your cat. A lot of people have concerns about their phones being so close to their heads, and to some degree I do agree that it would be better if the phone could be placed lower down on the bed and get the same results. Although, if you turn off Data, Wifi and turn aeroplane mode on you should be okay to put the phone in close proximity to your head.

    • WebsiteConfetti profile image

      Ness 

      6 years ago from Australia

      I bought this app just yesterday so have yet had a proper time to know if it works for me. I use it on my ipad but can't bring myself to put it near my head (despite it being on aeroplane mode), so I leave is lower down the bed. I figure it measures movement, so it really shouldn't matter too much where I put it. Problem is in my case many mornings I wake up to find my cat snuck up on the bed, so I bet his movement would affect the app!

    • moonlake profile image

      moonlake 

      6 years ago from America

      My dog hates alarm clock beeping. He runs to the clock and starts to whin. Interesting hub. Didn't know about this app. Voted uP!

    • drspaniel profile imageAUTHOR

      drspaniel 

      6 years ago from Somewhere, where the sun shines once a year...

      Thank you for your opinion. The only major fault (despite your evidence), is that it actually does work. Just because your company uses all of this 'SUPER AMAZING HIGH-TECH EQUIPMENT' that barely anyone else could afford, doesn't mean that is the only way to measure a person's sleep. I and many others have treid this product enough times on a nightly basis to know, that it does work and that it is certainly worth the $0.99.

      Then again, I do agree that your sleeping patterns can be monitored through these sensors, but ll know, a lot of brain activity is usually then converted into bodily movements.

    • profile image

      Slabist 

      6 years ago

      Fake. I've been a sleep technician for several years and I can tell you it is practically impossible to tell someone's level of sleep purely from movement. We use state of the art technology that uses up to 40 sensors to detect what stages of sleep people are in, movement DOES NOT play a part in this. You sleep stages are primarily determined by your brain activity, which in turn is detected with sensors on your scalp, tech you phone just doesn't have.

    • Bill Akleh profile image

      Bill Akleh 

      6 years ago from Vancouver

      Awesome. I for one hating that annoying alarm clock beeping noise. Apps like these are what make phones the great things they are these days.

    • Grace Whites profile image

      Grace Whites 

      6 years ago from Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

      Thank you for your useful information here. Through reading your hubs, I have gain useful information about sleep cycle alarm clock.

    • anivardiashvili profile image

      anivardiashvili 

      6 years ago from Georgia

      Great hub! thanks!

    • drspaniel profile imageAUTHOR

      drspaniel 

      6 years ago from Somewhere, where the sun shines once a year...

      Ahh that's good! your son will probably know when to go to sleep and when to wake up which is vital when using this app. However, of course you can use it without knowledge of time, and still wake up refreshed! Thanks for the comment!

    • VirginiaLynne profile image

      Virginia Kearney 

      6 years ago from United States

      That is interesting. I think that it would be useful for people to make sure they did get the best sleep. My son might want to use this because he is very much into sleep cycles.

    • rahul0324 profile image

      Jessee R 

      6 years ago from Gurgaon, India

      amazing app! I think it is worth buying!! nice share!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)