ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

LG Cosmos Review

Updated on October 3, 2011
LG Cosmos VN250
LG Cosmos VN250

LG Cosmos VN250 Review with Tips & Tricks

After 4 years with the same phone, upgraded the other day to LG Cosmos VN250. I've had time to play with many of the features, so here's my LG Cosmos review.

First here's a list of the core features and upgrades I purchased:

Core Features:

  • 1.3M Pixel Camera
  • Sliding Motion Pulls Out to a Fully Landscaped QWERTY Keyboard
  • Mobile Email and Web Browser
  • Bing Search, Verizon Navigator Capable, Blue tooth Support

Accessories

  • Wall/USB Charger
  • User Manual & Quick Reference Guide.

Purchased Upgrades

  • Protector Case & Shield
  • 2GB micro SD Module


Setup, Initial Configuration & Basic Use

I found the phone easy to program and navigate. Coming from a flip phone I was not accustomed to pushing buttons to answer a phone so that took some getting used to. Setup was fairly intuitive and pretty quickly I had all my programmed numbers back on their accustomed speed dial spots.

Answering and making a call is easy as can be. Navigation is configurable and pretty intuitive. A couple of nits regarding how the phone locks/unlocks. For my taste the phone locks automatically way too fast. I wish there was a way to increase the time before locking. I tried doing a search online for "Cosmos phone LG how to make it not lock automatically" and all I found was others who had the same issue. There needs to be an option to extend the time. Second nit is not as big a deal but 2-3 keystrokes to unlock the phone then 1 more to answer. I wish then the phone was ringing you would not have to unlock it.

Sound Quality

I use my phone on the speaker setting a lot and I have to say the quality is much improved. I was able to hear clearly while driving without having to max out the volume. Same goes with the phone in general, I no longer need to keep my volume setting up to max. Easy to use voice dialing and speech recognition seems to work about as well as most systems, so there was no problem dialing in the car hands free. When it is on my ear, it is easy to hear as well.  Still do keep the volume down as well.

As far as the quality received on the other end, seems pretty good because I don't find myself repeating things and no complaints about background car noise on hands free setting or wind in the background when I'm walking outside.

LG Cosmos VN250 QUERTY
LG Cosmos VN250 QUERTY


Texting and Internet

I have to confess here that I'm not "textually active" so I'm going on the advice of my other family members. Keyboard and texting features work well. QUERTY keyboard size is good and the up/down arrows are quite helpful navigating. No problems with mis-typing words and a rich set of keys and functions. Easy to send and receive texts quickly. Extended features include Bing Search and a Social Network interface to some of the more popular sites, Facebook, Myspace and Twitter.


Media - Camera and Sound

Let's start with the camera. There is only so much you can do with a 1.3MP camera. Image quality is OK but there is no video. Kind of a surprise there. Camera is easy to use and there are several options like noise settings and contrast settings that help you get the most out of this camera.

Like I mentioned earlier the sound quality is terrific. I was able to configure my ring tones and with a little research I was able upload some fun sounds to add to the base package. (see links section below for details on how to do this.)  Another downer about this phone is it does not have a music player per se. You can upload music to the sounds feature and play one song at a time but there is no music player.

Battery Life

I have had excellent results so far with batter life. I can go 3-4 days with moderate use and not need a charge. On that note, I love the USB Charger and adapter. It means you can either plug into the wall or any USB port to charge your phone. I haven't needed it yet but I could see how this could come in handy.

Overall Rating

I really like this phone. It is intuitive, easy to use. Sound quality is great, Hands free operation and speaker phone work terrifically. I have a couple of issues with the locking, no audio player and maybe a couple of suggestions for configuration options but overall I'd give this an 8.5 out of 10. This phone is a winner and could easily get into the 9's with a few minor tweaks.

Other Mobile Solutions

If by chance you haven't found what you are looking for here, you can check out our cell phone & accessories portal. Lots more ideas from other solutions to accessories and more.  Thanks for visiting and check back soon.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      StarGirl 5 years ago

      I have heard lots of negative and positive comments about the LG Cosmos, but I have owned it for THREE years and am here to set the record straight. The LG Cosmos is a great phone for kids. Great first phone. Also, great for adults who are nervous about their children having a phone. This one is really simple and also great for adults who do not stare at their phone all day. In conclusion I honestly like this phone. Great for kids.

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @KK sorry I don't have the LG Cosmos touch.

      @Wendy & Alison - I'm afraid that a black screen is probably a hardware issue. If the lights come on but the screen does not light, there is likely something physically wrong with the phone. If you have issues with dropping, (I agree 5 does not sound like many!) but you may want to consider a hard/soft case going forward.

    • profile image

      Alison 5 years ago

      I've had this phone for about 1 1/2 years and today for no reason the screen turned black. All of the buttons work, and I can send and receive calls and texts, I just can't see what they are. The whole time I've had this phone I've dropped it maybe 5 times (which my dad is blaming it on). When I take out the battery and put it back in it stays the same. Should I take it in to the store or is there some way to fix it myself?

    • profile image

      Wendy 5 years ago

      Something is wrong with my phone. The screen won't turn on but the buttons still light up. Do you think you can help?

    • profile image

      kk 5 years ago

      i have the cosmos touch and everytime i try to get on my camera to take a picture it says camera start error. how do i get rid of it so i can use my camera again?

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @ B - Thanks for the tip. Maybe for my next phone I'll check it out and do a writeup!.

    • profile image

      6 years ago

      @Tom-Ahh, there it is at the top, thanks!! I read through the entire thread looking for it the other day. it looks like you've been answering people's questions for a long time now. I wonder if it was your intention to help so many people when you originally wrote up the review a year and a half ago? Anyway, well done. I think you deserve an iphone for all your hard work.

      I have a gophone set up on my iphone, no contract ever. $50 a month unlimited talk & and text, data package is an extra 5 per month/10mb, but NOT necessary to activate the phone. in order to use the data package you need unlock it with an APN app, free online. mb do rollover and build up eventually. it's really so easy and cheap to have a fully functioning iphone without jailbreaking, contract, etc, it almost makes me cry (55/month).

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @B - If you go to the links above, you will see something about "Remove CityID..." Follow that procedure for whatever app is taking over your phone and it should fix your problem.

    • profile image

      6 years ago

      does anyone know how to keep the phone from posting the forecast and other pop-up ads when you wake it up from sleep mode? thanks!! it is my son's fone. I don't know how you all work with such complicated technology :)

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Kaylen - try taking it into the store and have them update the firmware. This sounds suspiciously like it may be a software issue rather than a piece of the electronics gone bad.

    • profile image

      Kaylen 6 years ago

      Ive had mine for about a year now. All of the sudden it started freezing on me. Just today acutally. I was texting and it froze. Now it shuts off every 3 mins and turns back on itself. Or you have to take the battery out to turn it back on. It shuts off during phone conversations and while texting. I did not drop it or anything. It came from nowhere so make sure you get insurance!

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Hello Hammy, not sure what to tell you. If you interrupted some kind of update, that can be problematic. I'd suggest deleting the software on your computer and reloading the driver. See if the problem might be on the computer end. Better yet try it on another computer if you have access to another one. If the problem is with the phone you may have to take it in and have them update the firmware or reset the phone. Don't do it yourself unless you have everything backed up as you never know what happened if you unplugged too early. Something may have been corrupted.

    • profile image

      Hammy 6 years ago

      i tried updating my cosmos touch and i have had no problems with it, but when i got through updating it i deleted the software on my computer to update it cause i didn't think i would need it anymore. so when i unplug it it still says its downloading. its been saying this for 2 days and ive tried pluging it back in and it gives no notification on my computer that ive done anything and i have also tried taking the battery out. PLEASE HELP.

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @Kari - Well no, the ring tone for your alarm can be loud. I believe it lets you select tones for your alarm as well for your phone ring and text alert. The default ring tones for your text message and phone should be soft tones.

      That's all I can think of because your phones volume is being used for 2 separate functions letting you know there is someone contacting you via phone/text and alerting you that it is a specific time. In your case that time is the time to wake up. There in lies the conflict. If you don't want other things to disturb you, you need to somehow set the volume low for the other functions but not the alarm function. The phone doesn't do that. The only work around is to set the alarm sound really high compared to the rest of the rings or set the other rings really low.

    • profile image

      Kari 6 years ago

      Thanks for the response Tom. So if I use this phone as my alarm clock, I have to leave the ringer and text notification on while I'm sleeping? My best option is to get a soft ring tone to wake me up? That seems kind of crazy.

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Hi Kari,

      Interesting problem. Not sure you can. The only thing I can think of is to find a custom ring tone that is very soft (or silent) and change your default ring tone to something quiet while the alarm tone is loud.

    • profile image

      Kari 6 years ago

      How do I silence any incoming calls and texts while I'm asleep and have an alarm set? Thanks!

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @Olivia - You have 2 options. You can turn off the feature by hitting the CLR key Then Settings then select #5 to turn it off. Or you can set up keyguard which prevents keys from inadvertently being hit. You will find that under Menu Then Settings & Tools Then Keyguard Settings. From there you can select an option to use 1 key or 2 keys to unlock your keypad.

      Hope that helps and thanks for stopping by.

    • profile image

      Olivia 6 years ago

      I'm really aggravated with the "please say a command" 'button'I was in class today and I accidentally hit it and it went off like 8 times I was so embarrassed could someone please help me with this I want to get rid of this feature I never even use it.

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @George - Yes you do need an SD card. Between 1GB and 4GB should suffice for most users. I think you can also by cards up to 32GB but that's probably more than most users need. If you look above you will see some examples. Prices range from a couple dollars to something around $25 for larger sized models. Hope that helps.

    • profile image

      Brian 6 years ago

      My lg cosmos is my life! The updated one is way better

    • profile image

      George 6 years ago

      I would like to be able to download pics from my Cosmos VN251 to my PC [ XP Pro ] via USB cord. I've downloaded the software upgrade, but apparently need an SD Micro card. How many MB is needed for this application ? Thanks, George

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @Lisa - clearly this was not a good fit in terms of your use of the phone. If you look at the problems page I have here on hub pages you will see lots of problems and questions. Many are simple fixes. Many are user related issues (Fixing a phone that has dropped in the water) and some are just bad phones. Sounds like you fall into the latter. This phone suits me fine but I'm not as heavy a user as most. I just use it for phone calls, taking a few pictures, 2-3 texts per month and listening to music every once in a while. With the advances in technology, there are lots of choices out there. Good luck on your next phone and I hope it works better for you.

    • profile image

      Lisa 6 years ago

      I had this phone and it barly lasted me a year! No video, it was always slow. The vice recorder stinks. It would ALWAYS shut off randemly exspesily when I was trying to send a text! Then it would get these gliches for a while and then the scren gose black. I've had two different cosmos because my first one the day I got it the gliches were so bad I had to take it back. Then the seconed one was the one that lasted for about a year. Over all I DIDN'T like this phone at all. I wouln't ever recomened it. (Sorry about my spelling I was typing to fast)

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @amanda - Unless you changed your password it is the last 4 digits of your phone number. Failing that, all I can think of to try is to do a master reset but hopefully you've backed up your data as the phone will lose everything. Here's the link for the master reset http://support.verizonwireless.com/clc/devices/kno...

    • profile image

      Amanda 6 years ago

      i lost my phone for a while and i just found it today i have lost it for about 6 months and i forgot my password....i never saved it but i was wondering if there is any possoible way for me to reset my password without knowing it or even getting onto my phone.?

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Amandamommy - Sorry but I've never done that. Is there anyone who could help out?

    • profile image

      Amandamommy 6 years ago

      trying to connnect my cosmo to facebook. i had it set but dropped my other cosmo in the tub. i forgot how to set it up to be able to post pics and status updates from wherever i am. Any ideas on how to do this. it is not the cosmo touch!

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @Tom - Unless you changed it the default is the last 4 digits of your phone number. If you changed it you may need to do a hard reset and reprogram it with your preferences. Good Luck.

    • profile image

      TOM 6 years ago

      FORGOT MY PHONE UNLOCK CODE

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      savygirl - I believe you will have to pay for a data package either on a per use basis or by purchasing gigabytes through a plan.

    • profile image

      savygirl 6 years ago

      I am looking at buying the cosmos. I need a phone for mobile internet and web use. Not a texter. A smart phone just doesn't seem sensible for my use versus data packs costs. Will using the web count against my minutes on my package? Or will I be forced into a datapackage to use these features?

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Micheleks - Sorry for not getting back to you. That is a new one. (by the way I'm assuming you mean media center) I'd suggest moving the ringtones off your SD card onto your disk drive and see if the problem goes away. If so, reload them 1 or 2 at a time to see which one is the culprit.

      Otherwise, I'd suggest reloading the software. You might have some sort of bug in there. Good luck and let us know what happens.

    • profile image

      Micheleks 6 years ago

      Something strange has popped up suddenly. When I click on Nedua Center and then go to Tunes & Tones and then go to My Ringtones (I used a micro SD card to save some new ringtones myself) it gives me this message that says "Alarm Only Mode Please adjust temporary player volume to listen. It plays the song for one second and stops and then to play it again I have to restart it. Just wondering as it did not do this till today and I was wondering if you knew what the message meant and how did it get there... oh and how do I get rid of it? I have tried googling it, playing with the settings and just am not sure how it suddenly appeared. Thanks :)

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @Rafael - yes you can play MP3 songs on this phone. See Hub link above on file transfers for more info.

    • profile image

      Rafael 6 years ago

      Is posible transfer MP3 songs to this phone?

      Greetings!!

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @Jo - you need a data package to upload photo's to Facebook or there is a charge. As far as downloading, from your phone to your computer, you do need an SD Card. If you look on the LG Cosmos file transfer page, https://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Transfer... you will see cards for between $3 and $20 depending on the size of the memory card.

    • profile image

      jo 6 years ago

      does it cost extra everytime u download a pic to facebook if u dont have a package plan?can you automatically download from your phone or do you have to have a card?

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @Jessica - sorry to hear of your problems. It sounds like you really to a lemon. I'm surprised you could not get them to replace it under warranty.

    • profile image

      Jessica 6 years ago

      UNRELIABLE!!!! after having the phone for only 6 months it have broken 5 times! it keeps on shutting off...and now the buttons wont work and it gos to take pics and takes and saves randomly! i need a RELIABLE phone because i travel to places where i need a phone! if i dont have one there will be issues. they have replaced my phone 5 times but only because i got the extra warranty. i wold not recommend this phone to anyone...it is CRAP!

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @awilson - Sure try the following; menu, Settings & Tools, Sound Settings (6), call sounds, Call Ringtone. Let me know if that works.

    • profile image

      awilson 6 years ago

      I just got the Cosmos touch, and every time I get a message it talks(says 'message from...' It didn't do that when I first got it, but somehow i managed to change it. It's highly annoying and after spending quite a high number of hours trying to turn off, I can't get it figured out. How do i turn off the talking? Could i get specific instructions just so I can definitely turn it off and then I can remember if it ever turns back on?

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Marisa - There are a couple of things. First make sure when you are charging your battery that the charging symbol comes on solidly. The connector sometimes does not make a good connection and it will intermittently turn on then off. Next I've read somewhere the V04 of the software has improved battery life in some cases. Finally you may have to bring it in to the shop and have them do a diagnostic. It could very well be that you need a new battery. Good Luck and hope that helps.

    • profile image

      marisa 6 years ago

      hey i have this phone and the battery dies in 2 hours or less. i chrage my phone all night 2...........what do i do

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      2manyProbs - My suggestion is to take it to a company store and have them flash the firmware either back to V02 or up to V04. This is not a patch put over the current software but a whole new firmware version. Should take care of the issue. Good Luck.

    • profile image

      2manyProbs 6 years ago

      I have tried that, it even came with V4. Ive talked to Customer Service, they were supposed to call me back going on 3 weeks ago... still waiting on the call!

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @Ellen T - I don't use the internet feature as I don't have a data package. Anybody got some input here?

      @jaydub - check and see which version of software you are running. If you are running v3 update to v4.

      @a.falyfel - yes the screen is not that hard. Need to go out and get some protectors. They are pretty cheap.

      @louise - try rerunning the setup wizard. Should give you access to all your choices so you can fix your problems.

      @2ManyProbs - I'd look and see if you may need a software update. Might be a bug with V3.

      @julie - you can set ringtones from 2 places, your SD Card folder or from the default list. If you are using ones you uploaded to your SD Card, make sure they play sounds other than the beep you describe. If not, remove the SD card and see if the default ring tones work.

      @Bruzer_59 - Glad to hear your good news but keep an eye out for strange behavior. Even a little bit of residual moisture can manifest problems over time. Hope for the best but keep an eye out.

    • profile image

      BRUZER_59 7 years ago

      I have had the same cell phone for over 5 years` when my wife told me it was time to upgrade... we got this lg cosmos.. i thought very little of this phone when i got it home, but i used it daily for months with no problems

      Until my lg cosmos was left in my work pants and did a tour of duity in the washing machine.the wife said open it up & pull the battery and sd card & hope for the best..well two days went buy with no phone we put the phone back together and it WORKS ..!!! OMG this is a GOOD piece of equipment ....THANK YOU LG

    • profile image

      Julie 7 years ago

      I am having difficulties. When I set the ringtone it just beeps. instead of my ringtone.

    • profile image

      2manyProbs 7 years ago

      UGH! I am on my second Cosmos and I love it except for one minor issue... Occasionally while texting, it will restart and put the last message in my inbox back in there. This is sooooooo annoying! It makes it impossible to do squat. Does anybody have a solution?

    • profile image

      Louise 7 years ago

      Help! I'm trying to remove a few shortcuts from my screen that I put there but decided against them later, but haven't figure out how.Thx,Louise.

    • profile image

      unknown 7 years ago

      i have this phone and i love it!!!

    • profile image

      a.falyfel@yahoo.com 7 years ago

      I bought 2 cosmos for my kids ,next day I noticed that the screen got scratch for both of them ,is that abuse or they have problem with the screen,thx,Adnan .

    • profile image

      jaydub 7 years ago

      you say that you use the voice command feature, and I'm having trouble with mine. I can get it all the way to the number it's supposed to dial, but then nothing happens - it doesn't connect the call (even if I press send or ok), instead, I get the black verizon "turning on" screen, although without the turning on noise. my previous phone would actually dial the number and connect the call - is this phone supposed to do that too, do I have some setting not set correctly?

    • profile image

      Ellen Thompson 7 years ago

      Hi, I found this review very helpful,Does this phone have good internet access? I do alot of web browsing and e-mailing.

      Also, I'm trying to decide on the LG Cosmos or the LG Rumor 2. Which one is best?

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      RunnerGurl - No it does not have a SIM card, it has a place for an SD card. (Actually it is a MicroSD Card.) It is on the side of the unit by the CLR/End keys.

    • profile image

      RunnerGurl 7 years ago

      I was wondering, does the LG Cosmos have a SIM card in it? I can't find anything online saying that it does or does not. If so (which would be great), where is it? Help?

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Mandy,

      I don't have the tools to make a video. When you plug your phone into the computer, it should make a beep like a USB device is attached. If you are running windows, it will look for a device driver. You should have previously downloaded and installed the driver for your cosmos phone. Windows will find that driver and install it. When it has completed, you should just follow the directions at the hub above.

      Hope that helps.

    • profile image

      Mandy C 7 years ago

      umm... I am still puzzling, can u make a video to show me how?? thank you so much>

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Mandy - Sorry for your frustration. See the link above regarding transferring files. https://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Transfer...

      I don't think you have to use an SD Card but it makes things a lot easier and they cost like $5 or $6. Hope that helps.

    • profile image

      Mandy C 7 years ago

      I got LGcosmos 2 days ago and I wanted to put pictures onto my computer, but it just never worked when I ues the USB cable and that really pissed me off. Do I have to but a MircoSD card??

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      PersonwithLGcosmos - no that is a function that can be preset. Also if someone is calling, and you hit send to answer the all, you don't need to unlock the phone.

    • profile image

      PersonwithLGcosmos 7 years ago

      You don't have to unlock it to answer. Either that or my phone was hacked before it was activated.

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Ranwdiggums - I agree that is kind of a rub. Thanks for Stopping by.

    • profile image

      Ranwdiggums 7 years ago

      I can't send more than 1 pic at a time.. I hate that

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @jwoow - if you have a data plan there is not charge. If you do not, then there is a charge.

      @Jessica - you must have your phone in hands free mode.

    • profile image

      Jessica 7 years ago

      Does anyone know how to turn off the voice like how it says "message from" or "call from" before playing my ringtone? its rather annoying.

    • profile image

      jwoow 7 years ago

      Do you have to pay to use the social network?

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @Ali - yes the camera is not top of the line. No flash, no movies. Only 1Mpx. As far as ring tones, check out another of my posts, https://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Transfer... If you have a microSD card you transfer them to your phone with a PC. Thanks for stopping by.

    • profile image

      Ali 7 years ago

      I have had the Cosmo for 4 days now I upgraded from the LG Chocolate2 & I must say that the Cosmo seems to be a great little phone, I am surprised there arent more pic settings w the camera/ no flash seems I have to turn on every light in the house to snap a pic [which was the same w my previous LG so Im thinking its an LG thing I never had that problem w my previous Samsung] overall I would give the phone an 8 out of 10 & I am satisfied with my purchase.

      ??..?? anyone know how to save ringtones I haven't been able to save as ringtone only as sound

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @David - no problem. Glad to help and thanks for stopping back.

    • profile image

      David 7 years ago

      Thanks for the advice, the rice worksed great! Excellent review, by the way!

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @Apple - Try just pressing and holding the CLR command. That should give you a screen with a picture of a microphone and it is a 1 minute max per recording.

    • profile image

      APPLE 7 years ago

      I saw Kristen's comment and i was trying to get to the record now screen and i pressed clr a couple times and it just kept saying please say a command and it never came up so can u please explain it in a simpler way instead of pressing the clr button on the front. Your talking about the button with the clr then picture of a microphone button next to it right?

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @Kristen - There is no video recorder. There is however a voice/memo recorder on the phone. Just hit "CLR" button a couple times until you get a "Record Now" Screen. I think it gives you up to 1 minute per recording.

      @David - Look at the article about https://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Problems There was someone there who used rice to dry out his phone. My suggestion - take it in and have someone professionally take care of it because water drying can leave residue and eventually corrode electronics.

    • profile image

      DAvid 7 years ago

      Ok, So I got this phone about 2 weeks ago. I accedently spilled some water on it, and now it keeps turning on and off. Any suggestions?

    • profile image

      Kristen 7 years ago

      I have the LG Cosmo, and I was wondering if it has a video camera or a a voice recorder, because I would LOVE to record songs and then use them as my ringtone, and if it does have a voice recorder, how do I get to it. And awesome review Tom!

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Hi Marty,

      Thanks for stopping by. Here's your answers,

      1) Yes a few.

      2) It locks the phone pad so you don't make unintentional calls when the phone is in your pocket. I don't think I would disable it but you can make it a one key touch instead of a 2 key touch. It does not engage unexpectedly and terminate a conversation so no worries there. One suggestion from above was to change the length of the back light timer to extend the time between key strokes and the phone locking.

      3)The answer here is yes, you can download ring tones but they have to come in through the microSD card. You can get a cheap microSD card for a couple bucks online at someplace like Amazon. Have a look here, https://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Transfer... for more details

      4) Yes. It comes over the cell network and it is no charge for the minutes.

    • profile image

      Marty 7 years ago

      Tom - thanks for the time you take to help everyone. I am considering an LG Cosmos and will use it mostly for voice and text. I will rarely use the camera and have no need for a data plan, music or video on my phone. I have a few questions I hope you or the other contributors can help me with. 1) If I do not purchase a micro SD card, does the phone have enough internal memory to hold a few pictures? 2) What is the lock function? Does it terminate conversations if it engages unexpectedly? I don't think my current (very old) phone has this. Can the lock function be disabled permanently if you do not want to use it? 3) Probably a dumb question, but is it possible to download additional ringtones without a data plan? If not, is there another way they can be transferred? 4) If you do not have a data plan, is it still possible to install the software update you previously mentioned? Thanks again for helping others.

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @ManderTaBomb - Sorry to hear your problems. Try reloading the software. Directions can be found here, https://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Problems

      Don't know of a hardware reset but usually disconnecting the battery does the trick there.

      Give those a shot and hopefully it will reset. In the mean time, stay away from magnets...

    • profile image

      ManderTaBOMB 7 years ago

      I have had this phone for about what 6 months now? But, I've been having a couple of problems with it :/. First, I put it in my locker one day. Later that day, my phone is upside down backwards and red and blue. I know this problem probubly relates to interacting with a magnet in my locker but the PHONE HOLDER said it fits MOST phones. It was meant to have phones on it. Im not happy with this problem but this phone has lasted me a pretty long while i'll give it a 4/5 * rating.

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      @andrea - Sorry, that's beyond my pay grade. I don't know what tell you. Hopefully someone can chime in with an idea.

      @drea - Sorry there is no music player. That's one of the downers. If you look at the media/sound section above, there is no media player. You can only play one song at at time.

    • profile image

      dea 7 years ago

      there's any music player in this cellphone? i wanna play my music doing another stuff, like txting! thnks

    • profile image

      andrea 7 years ago

      hello Tom! I bought my LG Cosmos yesterday, and I like it. But i'm trying to put games into it and I just don't know how. Do you know how to help me? thanks!

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      okiegal2413 - you are not alone, there have been some problems with charging. https://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Problems I'm not sure what you mean by heavy texter but anytime you are using bandwidth to send data, it uses up more energy. Perhaps there is an extended life battery you can upgrade to? Wish I had a better answer. Anybody got suggestions?

    • profile image

      okiegal2413 7 years ago

      I just got my cosmo but iam havin trouble with the battery life. It doesn't stay charged very long but iam also a heavy texter.I need to know if there is something wrong with my phone. I haven't had the phone long only a week.

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Gian, Sorry to hear your problem. Is it possible the battery was low. There have been some connector problems with some people. I know my wife sometimes has to wiggle her's to get a good connection to the power. If not, I'm not sure what to say. That is a new one.

      Clare - Another new one. I suspect yours may be a software glitch...at least it sounds like it to me. I know you can do an over the air software update for the LG Cosmos VN250. You may want to give that a try that. The link is http://search.vzw.com/?do=viewdoc&id=31322&...

      Hope that helps.

    • profile image

      Clare 7 years ago

      I just got my Cosmo after my Intensity stopped working about a week ago. I keep it on vibrate at all times except for at night when I need the alarm for the morning. I have used it for about 3 or 4 nights so far as an alarm. I have not dropped the phone and I have a case for it so it seems that it should be well protected. I have not had a problem with it until now. I set my alarm tonight for the morning and turned the volume on high. I received a text message a few minutes afterward, and my phone vibrated due to the settings I put it on. However, once my phone started vibrating, it would not stop. I turned it off and it continued until I took the battery out. When I put the battery back in the problem persisted. I turned it on again and reset my alarm, the vibrating stopped and hasn't started again but I turned the alarm back on and I'm hoping it won't happen again. The phone works perfectly fine while it is vibrating, it is just extremely irritating. Anyone with a similar problem or suggestions?

    • profile image

      Gian 7 years ago

      I have the same phone - I agree with your review for the most part. Have you had a problem where your phone turns off at night time? I use my phone for my alarm clocks for class, and have been unable to wake up on time because the phone turns off at night. I just got it replaced by Verizon, but it is still doing it. Is there a setting on the phone that I do not know about?

    • profile image

      allie 7 years ago

      if folks haven't found it yet, here's the actual user manual - much more useful than the little book that verizon provides with the phone.

      http://cache.vzw.com/multimedia/mim/lg_cosmos/cosm...

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Kay - I believe if you have a SIM card you can upload contacts but I'm not sure how you get them from you current phone to the SIM card without a data charge. As for your 2nd question, yes. So long as they have a text enabled phone all you need is the phone number.

      Eben - thanks for helping out. That's a great tip. Kind of a back door type of solution.

    • profile image

      Eben 7 years ago

      you said you could not get the key lock time any longer.

      try changing your backlight timer from what its set on now to something longer that will

      determine the length of your key lock time

    • profile image

      Kay 7 years ago

      Hi- I will be receiving this on Monday. I'm converting from the LG regular cell phone. 2 questions-

      The Rep said they would e-mail instructions to transfer my contacts-- my contacts are all just phone numbers.

      Also, when testing- can I use the name w/ the phone number ( no e-mail address) to text? Thank You.

    • profile image

      allie 7 years ago

      thanks roger, this is fantastic!

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Allie- Sadly you are probably right. Lefties have to adapt. I am right handed and sometimes I keep the phone in my right hand. One suggestion would be to get yourself a hard cover for the phone. There is a cutout where the camera lens is at and your finger would quickly know that it is the cutout without touching the lens. Helps for me.

      Roger - thanks of this tip...so that is how you record a message on the Cosmos VN250! Let's give props to Roger!.

    • profile image

      Roger 7 years ago

      Allie - just keep the CLR button pressed until you see the "Record New" screen. Then press OK to record.

    • profile image

      allie 7 years ago

      just a comment - attention left-handers, this is a right-handed phone - most right handers use their left hand to hold the phone, leaving their right hand free to write, etc. left handers, vice versa. when you hold this phone in your right hand, your index finger continually touches the camera. i'm left handed, and my camera lens is covered with fingerprints. aargh!

    • Tom T profile image
      Author

      Tom T 7 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Joe - No problem glad you figured it out. I also have a hub on this topic in the list above.

      Allie- I haven't used this feature. Let me do some research and look for a follow up on a couple of days.

    • profile image

      allie 7 years ago

      can you say more about the voice memo recorder - how does it work, where is it on the various menus? I looked through the manual and didn't find anything about it. I need a feature like this for making short reminder memos while driving. I previously had an LG Chocolate and used to use the video feature to do this, but the Cosmos doesn't do videos.

    • profile image

      joee 7 years ago

      i figured it out....i was trying to download straight from a cd...u have to convert it to an mp3...hence the term "mp3 player"...god im dumb