jump to last post 1-11 of 11 discussions (17 posts)

Which is most dangerous, night driving or drink-driving?

1. Phemephe profile image76
    Phemepheposted 5 years ago

Research lately is claiming that night driving might be as worst as drunk driving. Do you believe this? what are your opinions?

1. IzzyM profile image86
      IzzyMposted 5 years ago in reply to this

What kind of research did that come from? the pro-drink driving brigade?
      I was a night-shift taxi driver for many years, and there is no comparison. Night shift workers need to have perfect vision and are used to working in low or artificial light conditions.
      Drunk-drivers, on the other, may be able to see perfectly well but have slowed reactions thanks to the alcohol.
      It has been proved time and time again, that drink-drivers (as opposed to drunk drivers) are dangerous on the roads because of just this delayed reaction time.
      Part of the test that you have to sit to obtain a driving licence involves the emergency stop.
      You must have quick enough reactions (is 'reaction' the word I am looking for?) to hit the brakes to avoid collision/accident/whatever. Someone who has been drinking has slowed reactions - that is what makes him dangerous. Not his ability to drive within a white line or whatever.

2. 6 String Veteran profile image87
      6 String Veteranposted 5 years ago in reply to this

"pro-drink driving brigade...LOL

Night driving is not for everyone. But drunk driving is for NO ONE. What research are you referring to btw?

Plus, some folks have to drive at night depending on their responsibilities (PM work or kid's sports, etc.) so there is no way to curtail that without radically altering society.

But, do folks have to drink and drive? So one is partially mandatory while the other is a non-requisite and just plain stupid.

3. Lady Luv profile image88
      Lady Luvposted 5 years ago in reply to this