jump to last post 1-3 of 3 discussions (5 posts)

IRA what would you do?

1. 0
    DoorMattnomoreposted 5 years ago

My husband recently was laid off. The job he left had provided a simple IRA and now we have to decide what to do with it. Our choices are 1) leave it and hope it doesn't all disappear. most of the funds have been invested in real estate. 2) request a disbursement and loose 10 percent of it, plus pay income tax on the amount we do receive.

what would you do? leave it and hope for the best? Or pay the fees and invest it somewhere else? or pay the fees and open a savings account that has a nice interest rate?

2. Quilligrapher profile image89
    Quilligrapherposted 5 years ago

I am no expert on this or any other subject. But, that does not stop me from having an opinion which I offer to you free of charge. (That's probably what it's worth!) You should speak to a professional.  There is an awful lot at stake.
    It sounds like you have a traditional IRA and not a Roth. I hope you don't need the money and are not planning to retire soon because I think the funds are better off where they are. You have other options: (1) you can roll it into another IRA account with another institution or employer without paying penalties and taxes.  If, for example, you choose to roll it into an IRA brokerage account, you can diversify and still have complete control over the management of your investments.  (2)If you still have a good number of years before you plan to retire, then be sure to explore the option of rolling your traditional IRA into a Roth IRA. If you do, you will have to pay income tax on the rollover BUT the amount rolled over and ALL future growth will compound tax-free even when you eventually withdraw it.
    I wish you both much luck. Q.

1. 0
      DoorMattnomoreposted 5 years ago in reply to this