Did you stop spending?

Jump to Last Post 1-29 of 29 discussions (74 posts)
  1. aka-dj profile image65
    aka-djposted 15 years ago

Due to the economic woes we are in, many people seem to have stopped (or at least cut back) spending. Are you one of them?
    The worst thing about all this is that it becomes a self fulfilling prohecy. We are told that we are in a financial crisis - people stop spending - affecting cashflow within the economy - businesses suffer - cutbacks follow - jobs are lost - people have no money to spend (escept just on the essentials) - the economy suffers. Back to first base. sad

1. indy cindy profile image65
      indy cindyposted 15 years agoin reply to this

I haven't stopped spending ... nor even cut back really. For me, life is an endless search for whatever pleasures I can find ... and shopping is a pleasure. Fortunately, as a healthcare professional, my income is fairly secure. Prices go up ... and sometimes they go down. Tis a fact of life. I watch for bargains ... but pretty much spend what I want, when I want.

2. Mark Knowles profile image58
    Mark Knowlesposted 15 years ago

I was never a big spender in the first place. Not a good citizen I'm afraid.

Maybe, just maybe, this one will be big enough that we rethink our economic models?

My government is trying awfully hard to make sure I spend any money I have though. They want to fix the financial crisis by using the hair of the dog that bit us. 0% interest rates, talk of a tax on savings. Borrow borrow borrow. Lend lend lend.

As though it will never have to be paid back. big_smile Typical short-sightedness. We got in this mess by over-borrowing money that did not actually exist. How they think they are going to fix the problem by doing more of the same is beyond me. 

People will still spend, but possibly they will start spending on things they actually need instead of garbage that gets destroyed within a short space of time.

aka-djposted 15 years agoin reply to this