are there benefits to having a dog for autistic children

1. carmel teresa profile image50
    carmel teresaposted 7 years ago

are there benefits to having a dog for autistic children

2. Merlin Fraser profile image79
    Merlin Fraserposted 7 years ago

I'm no expert in the area autism but I do know the effect a dog can have on the sick and infirm.  Dogs seem to sense the vulnerability of those around them and do not appear to exploit the situation almost the opposite is apparent.
    The right type of dog is also important, nothing too big or boisterous, possibly one that has undergone some sort of training to help with either the blind or deaf.  These dogs are already sensitive to the needs of their human companions and are patient with them.
    In most situations the association between dogs and sick people is a happy and relaxing one and appears to be extremely therapeutic.
    From my own personal experience whenever I have had a troublesome or stressful day when I return home the welcome I get followed by a walk in their company is all the therapy I need.

3. solomanswriting profile image56
    solomanswritingposted 7 years ago

Depends on the Dog and the child.. If you have an "assistance" dog, that is trained to notify if child is in danger, that may be of LARGE assistance. However if you mean as companion for child, then do you have a dog that is of a friendly, loving breed, it would need to be a tolerant dog, for sometimes autistic children make inappropriate gestures and touches that would irritate say a poodle or a "pretty" dog like a shitzu.