jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (4 posts)

how to handle a 1 yr. old dog that just bit me when trying to take a kitchen spa

1. profile image47
    Milt Rogersposted 7 years ago

how to handle a 1 yr. old dog that just bit me when trying to take a kitchen spatula away from him?

2. iskra1916 profile image59
    iskra1916posted 7 years ago

I am no dog expert nor do I know the full details re, your dog & the exact history/circumstances, but if it was a 'deliberate' bite ie not during horseplay etc then I would have serious reservations about keeping the dog.

When you say it happened in the kitchen, was it anywhere near it's food or dog bowl? I ask this because dogs get very defensive over their food, as they go into 'survival mode' over eating and their food.

Like I say, I am no expert and I am not au fait with the full circumstances etc but I would be very worried about keeping a biting dog, especially one who bit his master..

3. Yoovle profile image62
    Yoovleposted 7 years ago

If it's a smaller dog, and the bit wasn't any serious, I would just advise to let him know who's the master here next time he shows any signs of a similar negative attitude to you. A little squeeze on the neck towards the ground or something like that should be enough. I do that with my girlfriends dog and it works. But as I said it really depends on what kind of dog you have.

4. Genlilylim profile image59
    Genlilylimposted 7 years ago

Agree with iskra1916 that we do not know the full details regarding your dog or the circumstances. So while here's an advice, please do use your own judgment to see if it is applicable to your situation and more importantly, if it is safe for you to follow these instructions.