jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (6 posts)

Can dogs suffer from high cholesteroll?

1. billd01603 profile image87
    billd01603posted 5 years ago

Can dogs suffer from high cholesteroll?

We have a 4 year old Lab. My wife is always feeding him table scraps, chicken and beef fat and the like. On his birthday and the anniversary of his adoption, she buys chicken and beef liver for him. She says dogs in the wild prize organ meet. Can anybody help me with this

2. profile image0
    JThomp42posted 5 years ago

Yes. And also cancer, heart disease, and so many other ailments that effect human beings. I have learned my lesson about this. My little dachshund died of a liver tumor when she was 15 because I'm sure it was because of her diet.

3. DrMark1961 profile image100
    DrMark1961posted 5 years ago

I am no expert on this so I have to qoute EttingerĀ“s Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine (2nd edition). According to them, "unlike in humans, hypercholesterolemia rarely poses a health risk in dogs and cats. Specific therapy is indicated only if a high level is documented..." There is an idiopathic condition of Miniature Schnauzers that makes them more sensitive to fats, but if you are talking about the Lab in the photo there should be no problem. 
    But, to avoid a bout of pancreatitis, you should give a treat in moderation. I give my dog fat trimmings a few times a week, as a special treat, but only a small amount at feeding. Never too much at once. She doesnt care much about her birthday anyway!

4. JayeWisdom profile image92
    JayeWisdomposted 5 years ago