jump to last post 1-7 of 7 discussions (11 posts)

Is a soap making business worthwhile?

1. american13 profile image76
    american13posted 5 years ago

Is a soap making business worthwhile?

Im thinking about starting one along with other ways of making income

2. SidKemp profile image95
    SidKempposted 5 years ago

It's a challenging one. I'm a business consultant, and one of my clients was a soap manufacturer with a boutique store. They went out of business.

Go to a Whole Foods and count the number of boutique soap brands you will be competing with. Those are all established businesses with reasonably high volume. How will you complete on price and quality. What is your unique selling proposition?

If you really love the idea and have something unique to offer, please read my hubs on starting your own business and marketing your own business. If you're still up for it, give me a holler, and I'll try to help.

1. american13 profile image76
      american13posted 5 years agoin reply to this

Thanks for your timely response and good advice, SidKemp! Ill be sure to do what you recommended. At this point, it's more of an idea. It's one of the ideas I have as far as owning a small business whether it's home based or not.

2. SidKemp profile image95
      SidKempposted 5 years agoin reply to this

If you have a passion, go for it. If you don't, go for the one that is most likely to succeed. I'm sure my hubs and books will help.

3. viveresperando profile image74
      viveresperandoposted 5 years agoin reply to this

Going to have to check out your business hubs.

4. SidKemp profile image95
      SidKempposted 5 years agoin reply to this

Enjoy, Viveresperando - I love to see people learning!

3. ThompsonPen profile image79
    ThompsonPenposted 5 years ago