jump to last post 1-7 of 7 discussions (7 posts)

Job Experience

1. Autumn Vines profile image61
    Autumn Vinesposted 5 years ago

Job Experience

I have less than 1 month of job experience. I have a high school diploma, but no college degree. I am trying very hard to find a job that will hire me.

Do employers prefer that you have job experience?
    How much job experience is too little and how much is too much?
    Do fast food restraunts require job experience or is a food handlers license enough?
    Do employers consider volunteer work as job experience? If so, is 6 months enough?

Also, any advice would be appreciated.

2. KevinTimothy profile image81
    KevinTimothyposted 5 years ago

My advice would be to (while you're still young) pinpoint what it is you're passionate about, and figure out a way to turn it into income. Employers play a dirty game when it comes to this "experience" stuff. As you may have already noticed - even inexperienced people with college degrees have to play the game, too.

I'd suggest sacrificing and taking a gig (for now) to bring in some cash flow. But ultimately, I would keep my eyes set on what my passion is and turn it into a service to the general public. Don't worry with those clowns....pave your own way and become the job creator (and not the seeker).

3. Rhonda_M profile image86
    Rhonda_Mposted 5 years ago

One way to get experience is to volunteer. Through volunteering, you can learn new things and make contacts. In fact, volunteering/unpaid/ placements/internships paid and unpaid have  become  part of the  journey of 1,000 miles to finding your path to right employment. 

As for the experience game, yes employers always say they want experience. They hold it as a selection criterion to screen you out. they have so many applicants.