jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (7 posts)

Is it worth going through years of studies and debts to get jobs that pay just a

1. lucas84 profile image75
    lucas84posted 4 years ago

Is it worth going through years of studies and debts to get jobs that pay just above average?

2. suzettenaples profile image91
    suzettenaplesposted 4 years ago

I can see how you would feel this way.  I paid my way through college with a part time job thirty years ago, but I know it is not possible to do that today.  I am stunned at how the price of higher education has sky-rocketed.

I am a retired teacher and I can still see the worth of an education.  Pricey as it is, no one can take it away from you.  Will you be able to use it to its full extent and worth in this crazy economy?  I don't know.  Perhaps the economy will improve in the coming years and maybe it won't.  I would still choose today to get an education even if I had to start out life with a huge debt.  The degree is one piece of paper I think is important and says something in this world.  You are more than just a typical unskilled laborer or blue collar laborer.   You have knowledge and intelligence, not that the other's don't, but you have put yourself into a different category.  Is it worth it?  Only you can determine that through your life and how you choose to live it.

3. CraftytotheCore profile image84
    CraftytotheCoreposted 4 years ago

I have a friend who went to college and majored in biology.  She worked for a company that seeded oyster beds.  She decided to go on for more college to become a pharmacist.  What a shock she got.  The price to go on was far more than the pay she would have received (according to her).  So, I guess it all depends.  Around here a lot of pharmaceutical companies have closed up....all those scientists with education are out of work.  There's only so much to go around.  I think the major is an important factor.  Like right now, medical careers seem to be booming.