jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (14 posts)

Poems

1. Harmel profile image79
    Harmelposted 3 years ago

I wrote a poem, but also put other things in it, such as a regular hub, video etc. I notice other poems are just wrote without the capsules. I am not sure which to do? I am still very new at this, and have a similar poem. should I put it under poems or something else if I add capsules ? All help appreciated. Thank you !!

1. EricDockett profile image93
      EricDockettposted 3 years agoin reply to this

In my opinion, if you write a poem it makes the most sense to put it under Poems and Poetry, regardless of what else you add. Whenever I see people put poems into other categories, such putting a poem about birds under Birds and Bird Watching, I find it a little confusing when I first start reading. I think visitors who follow through under the Related Hubs section would find it even more so. People are expecting informational articles in these categories.

Also remember that creative writing is evaluated differently in the quality control process, so making sure you put your writing in the correct category might help eliminate any confusion.

I glanced at your poem and I think it looks very good with the additional capsules and video. I don't generally care about poetry, but it seems to me if someone were to write a poem here they ought to make it as visually appealing as possible. Nice job!

Harmelposted 3 years agoin reply to this

Thank you so much for your input.  Do you think I should leave it in the category it is in as is? I am thankful for all advice.

I see you have it Books and Writing but personally I'd also make sure it was in Poems and Poetry. It's a subcategory of Books and Writing. It's a quick edit: Just go to the top of your Hub in edit mode and click (CLICK TO EDIT) under the topic and you'll be able to reorganize it.