They're changing my personal photos from my long-distance hike

Jump to Last Post 1-4 of 4 discussions (21 posts)
  1. Ramkitten2000 profile image91
    Ramkitten2000posted 7 years ago

I'm very disappointed in HubPages. Yes, I know ... I know ... we cannot opt out of their HubPro Basic program. And it's their site. Yadda, yadda, yadda--I get it. But that doesn't mean I'm not very upset. Make that pissed.

I received one of those heads up emails, warning me that an unnamed hub of mine was scheduled to be edited under the HubPro Basic program. I responded, asking which hub that was and stated that if it was any one of my Search & Rescue or outdoor-related hubs, I would prefer they let me know what it is they don't like or think needs fixing, and I would do the editing myself or decide to remove the content. Those are areas of expertise for me, and I have a lot of firsthand experience. So other than correcting a typo, I won't tolerate my content being changed by anyone who hasn't been there, done that.

So, then I received a reply from Robin, saying the hub (about the Appalachian Trail) was sent to "them" because of pixelated images. Well, yes, some of the images, IF viewed in the larger format, are not great quality, because those were slides that were unfortunately scanned years ago at too small of a resolution. But I no longer have a scanner and, more than that, many of my slides were later damaged by a flash flood and the originals are no longer of good quality, either.

But those are MY photos from MY 2.169-mile Appalachian Trail hike. Never in all the years that lens-turned-hub has existed have I had an issue with the photos. Google has sent plenty of traffic its way. And I've viewed those scanned images (in the hub) on multiple devices and, while not perfect, are "good enough" ... not to mention taken from and during my personal experience, which is something I'm proud of. So I asked Robin to please leave them alone.