jump to last post 1-2 of 2 discussions (8 posts)

Peculiar "News of the world" website

  1. TheShadowSpecter profile image93
    TheShadowSpecterposted 14 months ago

    This situation really has me disturbed.  I am a new Hubber, and I have come across a website that appears to have my Hubpage article published on it under a different name.  That name is "mira mc" , who is not me.  This is the link to that website>>>http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:GG0qFhDS6IUJ:bladi-toure.com/vb/forumdisplay.php/showthread.php%3Fgoto%3Dnewpost%26t%3D132174+&cd=8&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us

    There are also appears to be other Hubpage articles published on that website under this same person's name, even though this "mira mc" did not write these Hubpage articles.  You can also access this same website by clicking onto http://bladi-toure[dot]com/vb/forumdisplay.php/showthread.php?goto=newpost&t=132174

    Because that website is in Arabic, I have been unable to figure out how to contact them to ask them to remove these articles that they appear to have published in a manner that infringes upon copyright laws.  I try to click into those articles, and it takes me to another page in Arabic; but I don't know what anything on it says, and nothing on it makes sense even if I utilize my Google translate feature on my computer.

    Could somebody explain to me what this website is doing with names of Hubpage articles that belong to other people?  Is this website a portal to click directly to the Hubpage articles themselves or is someone actually committing copyright infringements?  I know that my questions may sound like stupid ones, but I've been trying to figure out what's going on with this website, because I don't want someone stealing my Hubpage articles?  I've tried to get in touch with these people, but I cannot find any contact information on this same website.

    1. Will Apse profile image92
      Will Apseposted 14 months agoin reply to this

      I couldn't see your page anywhere from those links. I have had the experience of people copying and pasting my pages whole (including pics) into forum posts around the world. Is that what happened?

      1. TheShadowSpecter profile image93
        TheShadowSpecterposted 14 months agoin reply to this

        Will Apse?  What happens is that when I go into that Arabic-language website, it has a title of one of my Hubpage articles listed in English.  Then when I hover my cursor over the title of that same article, the description appears to me momentarily and it is identical to the description that I provided in that particular Hubpage article.  However, when I click onto the title of the article itself, it only brings me to another screen that has a bunch of words on it in Arabic.  When I use the translation feature on my computer to see what the words are in English, they turn out to have nothing to do with my Hubpage article.  I'm wondering if that website might be a portal that brings people directly to my Hubpage article.  If that is the case, then I can deal with that.  However, the peculiar thing about it is that when I translate the entire webpage where the title of my Hubpage article appears, from Arabic to English on my computer screen, everything on there says "by mira mc."  That is what really baffles me.

    2. Matt Wells profile image
      Matt Wellsposted 14 months agoin reply to this

      If someone has copied your content without your permission you can file a DMCA complaint. If the website owner does not respond you can file a DMCA complaint with Google and Bing to get the copied content removed from search results. For more information please visit the FAQ.

      1. theraggededge profile image98
        theraggededgeposted 14 months agoin reply to this

        Or issue it to the website hosting company - I have found this to be most effective.

  2. Will Apse profile image92
    Will Apseposted 14 months ago

    The main issue for the health of your page is that it has not been copied and the copy is now appearing as a result in Google search.

    You can find out whether that has happened or not by copying and pasting sections into Google search. Highlight 20 or 30 words at a time from half a dozen sections throughout the page, right click the section and hit 'search Google'.

    I checked your nutrition page and saw no copies.

    If you check all your pages and find no copies, it is probaly best to just forget it. All kinds of weird stuff happens online, lol.

    1. TheShadowSpecter profile image93
      TheShadowSpecterposted 14 months agoin reply to this

      Will Apse?  It was actually my Hubpages article titled "Protect Your Children From Shady Shrinks" that appears on that Arabic-language website.  Just the title itself appears when I go to the following web address: http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/s … &gl=us

      When I click on the title therein itself, it does not take me to the article.  However, when I hover my cursor over the title, then a description of the article momentarily appears that is identical to the one I provided in my Hubpages article.  I'm thinking that perhaps whenever I click on the title itself, it won't take me to the article inasmuch as I do not have a user name or password to sign into that website.  In any event, however anyone may be accessing it, the person who published it should not have done so under his or her name without my permission.  Then again, if "mira mc" is not a person, and the website itself is just a portal, then perhaps I'm out of the woods.  I will, however, try that method you mentioned of doing a Google search with captions of text.

      1. Will Apse profile image92
        Will Apseposted 14 months agoin reply to this

        Ok, I see what you mean now.

        This site search of the forum brings up a lot hubpages stuff but none of the links leads to any copied content that I can see (though it might be password protected):

        https://www.google.co.th/webhp?sourceid … p;start=10

        You get a snippet in hover over but nothing else. Not sure what is happening but the poster seems to want some English titles for threads for whatever reason. Maybe testing the forum, maybe planning on spamming.

        If there is copied content and it stays behind a password it will never make it to the Google index.

        So the important thing is that nothing shows up as copied content in Google search for your 'shrink' page as yet. I would leave just check your pages now and again to make sure it stays OK.