I don't understand why I'm not earning ad revenue when I've had hundreds of peop

Jump to Last Post 1-11 of 11 discussions (11 posts)
  1. naysanorth profile image60
    naysanorthposted 14 years ago

I don't understand why I'm not earning ad revenue when I've had hundreds of people view my blogs

Can someone please help me?  I'm a new author as I signed up one week ago.  My author score is 85 and I've had hundreds of people view my stories.  My affiliate codes are set/active.  All except for ebay which won't let you earn ad revenue unless you can prove that you are personally hosting your own site, which I'm not, as HubPages is. It doesn't make sense why I'm not earning revenue and I've read multiple pages in search of answers, as well as emailed HubPages (no response from them) to no avail.  Thanks for your help!

2. alexd181 profile image60
    alexd181posted 14 years ago

You only have 5 hubs so far, which is generally not enough to earn hardly anything at all. Keep going, after 20 or so hubs you'll begin to see ad revenue.

3. Kananesgi profile image63
    Kananesgiposted 14 years ago

I'll chime in here as a fellow newbie.  Alexd181's answer seems to be the norm.  I, too, am not generating any revenue even though I've had nearly 65 hits on my one and only hub so far (I;ve got 2 more inproduction and a few ideas for yet more).  I honestly did not expect to start making money at this point, and that's not the main reason I'm here, either.

However, that being said, can anyone say why we need so many hubs with so many hits before we start seeing income?  The help pages say that HubPages takes 4 of every 10 impressions, leaving the author with the other 6.  By that count, out of the 65 hit's my hub has gotten, around 40 of them should be contributing to my adsense account.  Is it just that each impression is only worth .01 cents or something, or is it that visitors have to do something more than just visit the page to generate a payable impression?